We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food & Surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maryville House
Ranked #8 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely food & Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I have visited Maryville many times in the last two years. Today was a great experience- the staff were very attentive, the food was good and the atmosphere, buzzing. The menu is simple, yet enticing, with options such as Salade Nicoise, quiche, etc. The teas are fantastic- we tried the Spearmint and the White tea. Nice coffees also. Pretty Edwardian setting.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin L, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for such kind words!
It is amazing how much a good review will give everyone here in Maryville a spurt of happy feelings!

Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    46
    22
    12
    9
See reviews for
42
54
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Travelling with 3 young boys this is the first time that we veered off the the "family room at hotel with a swimming pool" road. And we were not disappointed. The boys loved their room (said it was 'the comfiest bed' ever) and the space. My wife was brought back to a bygone era with the china cups, the bathroom taps, the stained glass windows, and the old tiled floors. The breakfast was unique and very personal, and the afternoon tea was a revelation. Only slight criticism, is that the showers could be more powerful and some of the bathroom fittings made fit in the Darjeeling room.The service was fantastic and a special mention to Nicole who went way above and beyond the call of duty, to provide what can only be described as a fantastic customer experience. Nothing was ever too much trouble and her Maryville bambacino in particular went down well with our boys. Overall, a unique and very personable experience with great food and delightful furnishings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin L, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Brendan.

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us wonderful feedback!
We get so many customers who come to us based on other guests reviews!
It means the world to us and our business!

Thanks again and Kind regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

All the tea you can drink, FREE CAKE on the landing, and lovely décor.
Great friendly staff, very helpful and considerate. Willing to go out of their way to help if you're arriving or leaving at an odd time to make sure you don't miss out.
Very comfortable rooms and a great range of breakfast choices, even for a vegetarian like me.
A truly boutique hotel with a great menu for afternoon tea or lunches.
I need an excuse to come back now.
About 30 mins max from the International airport and a short bus ride into the city centre. Set on a street with lots of great coffee shops, delis, and a traditional barbers. And ice cream parlors - what is it with Belfast and Ice Cream?

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 different rooms as I was back and forth over 3 weeks, and both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeSTWoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin L, Owner at Maryville House, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Joe.

Thank you so much for a brilliant review!
It is so nice to read a review which is for the time when I wasn't even there!
The staff who work here truly care about everyone's experience!
Glad you enjoyed the Lisburn road shopping.
What's wrong with ice cream?
Yum!

Thanks again! Hope you find that excuse to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Boutique hotel that also has a tea room open to the public.
Rooms are very comfortable with en suites and Victorian decor. Clean with lots of fluffy towels. Apparently there is normally a full breakfast, however, as we stayed over a Bank Holiday weekend when the Hotel was technically closed, our breakfast was left for us and was basically just cereals with some nice fresh fruit and young hut. We were left some great cake to feast on too.
Very pleasant if lonely overnight stay.

Room Tip: A all rooms are named after 'teas'. Earl Gray, Lapsung, Darjeeling etc our room on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antoniamariapaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherglen, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Enjoyed a lovely lunch of chicken caesar salad, a thick vanilla milkshake, (just the way we like them...... it is unusual to find a decent milkshake in the UK), and a generous selection of gluten free cakes. It is always appreciated when it is this easy on my diet. A very pleasant lunch.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bilbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I recently visited Maryville Tea Rooms with my girl friends for a hen party and the service was excellent.
Our reserved area was beautifully arranged and the waitresses were very accommodating. We were given our drinks very promptly and though it was about a further 30 minutes before our sandwiches and tray bakes arrived we were offered top ups for our drinks and fresh teas and coffees when the food arrived. It was a very busy Saturday in the tea rooms and yet we were made to feel very important with the high level of customer service we received.

I would highly recommend Maryville for those special occasions. A beautiful environment and great customer service. The finishing touches around the house do not go unnoticed either! So many beautiful things the bride to be wanted for her wedding reception! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The whole experience of Maryville House Tea Rooms was incredibly disappointing - especially as such a bright picture had been painted to us but we found the service incredibly poor, the food was unseasoned and whilst I readily acknowledge that, after my husband complained they did not charge for the food it was still very disappointing and sad that obviously ingredients of a very high standard had been used but badly cooked and poorly prepared. The Roasted Pepper soup was like eating raw peppers with smoked paprika added. The Egg Mayonnaise sandwich was completely without seasoning and my husband, who is a Tea Connoisseur was served English Breakfast Tea instead of the Turkish Apple Tea he ordered. The waitress brought the English Breakfast tea to the table and my husband pointed out that it was the Turkish Apple tea he ordered and she went away and promptly came back with the same tea and said it was Turkish Apple Tea when it was no such thing! Very poor!

On speaking to the Owner, my husband felt that her attitude was that really, "when we are short staffed you have to take whatever you get because we cant do any better". This is appalling! It is your responsibility to make sure the customer gets what they pay for regardless of your problems with staffing.

Further, I booked a room for one night with Marywille House in their so called "Boutique Bed and Breakfast" and as I am disabled I was happy to have a room on the first floor but when I booked in the owner started to show me to a room on the second floor and for me to actually have to do 2 flights of stairs is not an option but this was not even hinted at when I booked my room.

You said you would refund the £30 already paid for the room and I will look for that in my account in the next few days.

I was in Belfast for a Civic Reception and a Service in the Cathedral last evening. Whilst I was able to attend the Civic reception I had, in fact, to take the bus back to Omagh from Belfast and this meant that I was in the embarrassing position of not being able to attend the Service in the Cathedral. I was here to promote a book that I have co-written and I really needed to be at the Cathedral for that service as our book was to be on sale there. It was just a total disaster.

Maryville House needs to take a long hard look at themselves and stop claiming to be something they are NOT!

We would not recommend either the Tea Room or the Bed and Breakfast.

One positive note - the refund for my room was processed very quickly and in my bank account within three days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weehinny051055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Queen's Quarter
Harpers Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryville House

Property: Maryville House
Address: 2 Maryville Park, Belfast BT9 6LN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maryville House is an exquisite Victorian residence, superbly renovated with a modern twist. It is situated on the cosmopolitan Lisburn Road in South Belfast, within its own private grounds together with secure car-parking and bus routes into the city centre. It is situated within close proximity to the motorway. The boutique accommodation includes the following facilities:• Individually designed rooms with antique furniture• All rooms have an en-suite• Free wireless internet access• Flat screen TV• Tea and coffee making facilities with selection of homemade scones and traybakes fresh daily from our bakery• Complimentary sparkling and still mineral water• Ipod dock/charger/alarm clock on request• Iron/ironing board• Hairdryer• Sewing kit• Golf tee off times can be arranged at N.I. top clubs• Salmon fishing trips can be arranged at the Tilenmore Fishery on the famous River Finn. Maryville’s breakfasts include a wide and varying range of the finest options from healthy fresh fruit salads and natural organic yoghurts to Eggs Benedict or the Maryville House Full Breakfast, served with free range eggs and the finest quality locally sourced sausage. The range of specialty Suki Teas is endless and an extensive range of coffees is made with the finest lusso beans. Maryville also serves all day breakfasts for its guests. In addition, Maryville’s unique in-house tearoom offers a delicious range of light lunches and home-baked fare. With their own bakery, artisan breads, tray-bakes, pastries, cakes and scones are baked daily. They are complemented by homemade jams from their family farm in County Armagh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maryville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryville House Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing