We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont stay here”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

stayed in this hotel last weekend suposed to be a 4 star plus well we dont know whos giving out the stars !!!! . On arriving in to reception we were greeted with big stains on the celing they could not be missed, the reception staff were friendly enough, as we had to book our meal for thar night we did so, one of the lifts were broken so we had a bit of a wait to get to our rooms, on entering the room on the 11th floor found it to be tiny, we had to walk sideways to get around the bed to the table that had our tea and coffee facilites the table was covered in white rings and very grubby, the shower had hairs and around it was brown where it hadnt been cleaned in a while, the heat in the room was unbearable, no air conditoning, that evening we arrived at the restaurant only to be told they had no booking for us, we would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Pepperg,

Thank you for leaving a response on tripadvisor. I believe I have responded to you through our own comment cards in the hotel. I believe any issues have been resolved.
I thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,399
    1,073
    406
    174
    102
See reviews for
540
1,520
240
785
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

we stayed in the europa hotel 1st of july for two nights i have never been to northern ireladn before so chose this very well know hotel when we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and prompt with dealing with us . our rooms were quite small room 1112 is were we stayed i think it needed a full lenght mirror for the women and a smaller mirror in the bathroom for the men for shaving, bed quite small , fab tea and coffee facilities and flat screen tv was great .the heat in the hotel was unbelievable no air conditioning, and the noise kept us up the two nights we were at the side of the hotel . we had an incendent at the bar with a member of staff but the bar manager sorted it out for us our bathroom was not very clean. behind the door were tags from a previous client i asked reception to let household know but it was never done . one of the lifts were broken which ment it took forever to gte up and down to all floor it was still broken when we left. the concieirge were very helpful. i dont know if i would stay here again as the price as the room does not match up to what you get. i must say we had breakfast on both morning it was fab and a band in the bar on saturday night were excellent . they really needed to have a swimming pool for the size and price you would expect this

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Jumangie,

Thanks for the excellent comments on our friendly reception & concierge team and about the breakfast in the hotel.
Thanks also for the constructive criticism you have provided us with regarding the mirrors. The room type booked was the lowest standard room type and I would suggest booking directly with the hotel and choosing the grade above for the most preferable rate.
I apologise that you found it too hot in the room. I do apologise that in those rooms there is no air-con. Indeed we have air-con in our executive rooms. I am also sorry for the noise but due to being city centre location this is unavoidable. Our executive rooms at the back of the hotel would be a better option for you.
I also apologise for the lift not working but this had just gone down and we were awaiting a part for it to be fixed. We made available to our guests the two other working lifts plus our additional service lift for guest access on this occasion. I do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. I thank you again for bringing these shortcomings to my attention and they will be discussed.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I normally enjoy staying at this hotel in winter but last weekend was a surprise.The staff couldn't find our reservation from hotels.com,then there were no non-smoking rooms available till 4pm,then when they did find a room it was really hot and stuffy.We had to open the window which didn't open much and then had to listen to the unbelievable noise from sat revellers from the two pubs down in front.We had been really enjoying the night till we had to deal with sleeping in 40c heat.So no sleep and sore throats from dehydration.Stay in the Raddison!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear RichRyan,

I am very sorry that we could not locate your booking on the system. As this was via a third party site and not directly with the hotel, the request from the third party had not reached our system for some unknown reason. I will certainly liaise with hotels.com to ensure that this does not happen again. As we were fully booked the night prior and your booking was not on the system this was the reason for there not being a non-smoking room available. Our housekeeping team work very diigently to get the rooms back to the guests on time but unfortunately on this occasion this was not available.
As we are a city centre location there will be many bars and clubs and I apologise if you did not have a good nights sleep but again this is beyond our control.
We do have executive rooms which are fully air-conditioned and I thank you for your feedback. These issues will certainly be noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at the Europa because we were attending a wedding there.
For the price we paid, we were expecting something wonderful, we were only disappointed.
First, the room had nothing special, it was very very small, the furnishing was looking old and out of fashion, the table had dried stains and the carpet was also stained in several places.
I like the showers but for this price I was expecting something more fancy, like a bath..

But what was truly unbelievable was the noise. With the windows closed it was still just impossible to sleep. There was a noise of night club and pub in the room until later than 1 in the morning. For the price we pay they could double-glaze their windows.. I called the reception to ask if there was a room with double glazing available and all they had to suggest was to wait until the noise would be gone.

Using the wifi is charged 6 pounds for 90 minutes, how cheeky is that?
the breakfast is not included and costs 16 pounds, which is very very overpriced, it's just a buffet in a canteen-looking restaurant with a very rude staff at the entrance.

Give your money to someone else, don't stop there..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maymaymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, General Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Maymaymay

Thank you for taking the time to write your response on TripAdvisor. It appears that the room type you had booked was our lowest standard of room type and are smaller in size, although the stains on the table and carpet should not have been ther, so I have passed this on to our House Keeping Manager who will rectify this. I do apologise about the noise outside of the Hotel but this is a City Centre location hotel and we do not have control over this matter. If you contact the Hotel directly they will be able to advise you on a better standard of room with bath and shower with breakfast included.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Europa Hotel in the near future where I am confident we can improve on your last experience.

Yours sincerely

General Managers Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed here for a conference in a single room (double bed). I was initially given a room on the smoking floor as i checked in late, I had not been asked if i wanted a smoking or non smoking room. I did get moved on the second night but this really did disappoint me as there was a smell in the room and on the pillows (air freshner was offered but i find that even worse!). overall the staff were helpful and friendly and i ate in the resturant on my own one night and staff were friendly. The conference was well catered and the hotel really did a good job. comfyy bed and well stocked buffet breakfast with attentive staff.

Room Tip: book a non-smoking room early if checking in late
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Fantastic hotel with warm professional hospitality which encourages us to return twice per year. All staff from bar to restaurant to reception, everyone are extremely courteous and welcoming. The quality and standard of our room is second to none. Would not think twice about recomending this hotel to anyone.
Tricia Rhonda, Lesley. Ayrshire

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciasimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

was here for 4 days for a conference,where we were meeted and greeted by friendly attentive staff of the reception.check in was quick despite 200 of us arriving,.hotel looked busy but efficient.the lobby was impressive.Rooms were near on perfect,nice design and hugh super duper bed fit for a king,literally would loose your partner in it.very clean and nice 32 inch samsung lcd tv on the wall with half marble and wood desk and ipod docking station doubled up as a radio.bathroom was very nice with a bath and shower seperate(walk in)with 2 shower head options.water was hot all the time.
Nice to have 2 car parks outside and a proper car parkgarage with security..parking is not free though even for hotel residents..
We have only one or two issue's first the corridor was freezing dont know why..?
we wait for the lift ages even the express elevator..
ony 1 bath mat not 2 as required for both bath and shower
only 1 shampoo and shower gel etc per room
hairdryer has no on button per say you must keep your finger on it very annoyijng for my girlfriend when she washed her hair and had it in her hand for 30mins
Also bar prices at least in function were a bit pricey.
Kettle needs descaling at least in our room

Breakfast was perfect try the porridge,but in the bar its not, selection was poor and cold.this was because it acted as an overflow cause the rest was full.
All in all mighty impressed would defo go back again.it certainly has changed for the bp theetter.keep up the good work

Room Tip: go for room 837 if your a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianc_annao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
2,647 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing