We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and stayed 1 night and it was excellent. The location was great, the staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms and hotel was lovely and clean. The breakfast was second to none. I was very pleased with my stay and I hope to return very soon. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crozierc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,460
    1,108
    415
    178
    105
See reviews for
553
1,558
242
807
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

After a 3 night stay, which turned out to be more of an endurance test, I can safely say that I have not encountered such poor manners as those displayed by the hotel's receptionists, particularly the woman on late night reception . Rude, aggressive and inflexible are words which spring to mind.
A dodgy elevator; an unexplained fire alarm that didn't seem to register with, never mind prompt any staff to react (despite hotel being bombed several times!!!!!) ; slow, grumpy waiting staff at breakfast... the list goes on.
All that and personnel aside, the hotel was clean and tidy enough. The so-called "suite" where I stayed is by far the most small and old-fashioned I have stayed in but satisfactory. The best bit was an older English man who seemed to work in the upstairs bar. His open, friendliness seemed most out of place in the Europa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Rosie1972,

Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Europa Hotel. I am very sorry to hear of the service our Reception Staff provided you upon arrival to the Hotel. This is not acceptable and I have brought these issues up with our Team and Reception Management and we will be monitoring their service levels very closely. I have also took on the other issues you have raised during your stay at the Europa. I appreciate the positive comments you provided and hope this did not affect your overall opinion of the Europa. We would love to have you return to the Europa and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I think the only reason this hotel made it into Rick Steve's book is that Clinton stayed here once. This place was expensive, and they nickle and dimed you to death. Really, who charges for wireless anymore? The overnight parking fee was outrageous. I even got bit by something in my room one night and I spent the rest of the trip worrying that I picked up bed bugs from there. Plenty of alternatives within a stone's throw.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbey012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

My wife and I recently decided to return to Belfast and the Europa Hotel for a break. From the moment we stepped into the Europa the experence began. The reception staff were so cheerful and helpful. We were upgraded to a super room. We then needed the services of the conceige, who was just a real help and with Belfast humour.... Which was a hoot.

The next day was breakfast.... Wow, everything, (I mean everything) even Bushmills on Porrage or Guinness Wheat bread, which was fantastic.

We had drinks in the Piano Bar with family where the pianist was just out of this world. Great atmosphere.

We had 4 nights of bliss. Obviously the General Manager - James McGinn runs a happy and well organised Hotel because it shows. We may infact be back with friends for the New Year, being that we raved so much about the Hotel to our friends, that they want to come to experience the Europa. I have stayed in number of hotels in Belfast, but non compares. This Hotel is centally located with lots and lots of Bars/Restaurents, and the Famous Grand Opera House is just next door..... The bus from the airport takes you right to rear of the Europa as well. So you have it all...

Special mention to Andrew McNeill front of house manager and to his reception staff and of course the conceige.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNIE-T020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Firstly, the room was small, not worth £85 a night. We couldnt sleep on the first night as the room was like a sweat box. There was no air conditioning and we only slept the second night as we were so tired. The breakfast was £16 per person. WHAT A RIP OFF. The carpark cost us £28 for two nights. WHAT ANOTHER RIP OFF. This hotel would not get three stars in the south of Ireland or any other civilised country. I would not recomment this hotel to my worse enemy

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim Hills, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

They charged 10 Euros per day for internet access...that's about $17.00 per day.
They charged 16 Euros per night for parking...that's about $27 dollars per day.
Breakfast also 16 Euros...crazy prices!
They don't have air conditioning and it was warm. We couldn't get a fan because they only had 2 fans in the whole hotel so we had to sleep with the window open, which exposed us to traffic noise and the bird chattering, which means it was not restful.
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reenieww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Europa is a great family run hotel right in the heart of Belfast City and very close to the bus station for connection to the airport and to other venues. The decor is light, airy and modern and the atmosphere combines a sense of welcome with one of luxury, warmth of welcome and attention to detail. The art works by local artists are a particularly attractive feature of the hotel.

The rooms were clean, spacious and very well appointed and comfortable and the breakfasts are to die for!

We particularly liked the pleasant buzz about the restaurant and bars with opportunities to unwind in comfort. Care and attention are professional and unobtrusive affording a relaxed but professional atmosphere.

The worst part was having to leave but we will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0rgan1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,164 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 44 in Belfast
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing