We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Smashing Hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great Staff, Great Food, Great Place.

Luxury at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive room for the extra few quid. Well worth it. Rooms can be a bit warm so get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor_Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,429
    1,095
    410
    177
    104
See reviews for
544
1,541
241
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yeoford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights for a Conference in November. Very comfortable rooms, although the shower room was a bit small if I was being picky.

Cooked buffet breakfast was absolutely fine. Bar ok, but no real ale...which brings me on to the best bit about the location. The hotel is directly opposite the Crown Bar, a National Trust-owned pub, which is absolutely fantastic and well worth a visit, not only for the beer, but for the completely unique interior.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear TheJRR,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our prime location on Great Victoria Street with Crown Bar right on your doorstep. We also thank you for your commendation on the comfort of our rooms and the buffet breakfast. The room type that you were in was our smallest room type which only has a shower and not a bath/shower combi like our superior rooms and not like our luxury executive with separate bath and shower. Next time you come to Belfast be sure to have one of those rooms to further enhance your stay whether it be for a conference again or even on a leisure visit.

Many thanks

Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I had a one night stay here when helping out with a conference hosted at this venue. The rooms were clean and comfortable, no complaints there at all. The bar (I think it's called The Piano Room) was very nice, and in particular the bar man who was serving us at the time was fantastic and went the extra mile to chat to our group and have a laugh with us. I would thoroughly recommend it for a relaxed night with a few drinks.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear J D,

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay despite being here for work and not for pleasure. Thank you for your lovely words on the comfort & cleanliness of the rooms and relaxing atmosphere in the Piano Lounge, especially with the aid of our friendly and professional staff. Many thanks and hope to see you in the very near future.

Many thanks

Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We checked in for 1 night on 31st December, after getting a good deal for a room at the Europa. We were given room number 641, which was a very impressive, massive room, which looked newly refurbished. The room was facing the rear of the hotel, so we had wonderful views of Belfast from the 6th Floor.

The hotel is in an excellent central location and allowed us to walk to various bars in the City Centre.

Staff were excellent, we especially loved the staff at the coffee bar, very friendly and helpful.

I would definitly recommend the Hotel to anyone, we will certainly be back in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor, our room had wonderful views and was very recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunysheep69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear shaunysheep69,

Happy New Year to you again. Glad that you chose the Europa to bring in the New year. It's brilliant to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the prime location, all aspects of the bedroom from size & look to view. I am aso very happy to hear of the staff in the coffee lounge, they are truly a credit to the hotel, seeing to all the customer needs in their professional and courteous manner. Thank you again and glad to hear you will be back to see us.

Many thanks

Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Excellent service from the moment I stepped in through the doors staff couldn't be more helpful. Our room was fantastic, very clean and bed very comfortable.

The ball gala was extremely enjoyable. Firstly we were held in a beautiful holding chamber where we had canapes and champagne followed by a bell ring where we made our way up to the dining and function room. A 5 course 5 star meal was served and a band to follow which led us into 2012!! Extremely good fun and couldn't have had a better night.

Thank you

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear patsf1,

The NYE Gala Ball is truly something to behold in the Europa and I am delighted that you were able to experience it. Thank you for the commentary you have given us and the staff will be imensely happy that they were able to make your New Years Eve a truly enjoyable and memorable occasion.
Many thanks

Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Europa was a nice hotel to stay at, nothing particularly special, rooms are small and a bit 70's but clean and cosy with a comfortable bed. Unfortunately our problem started when we came back from the restaurant we were eating at for New Year's eve at around 12.15pm - we walked into the bar and were told rudely by a man in a suit (who I presume to be the bar manager) "you can't drink here, the bar is closed" he then walked off and I had to ask the bar staff what was going on - the bar man was polite and informed me I could have a drink in the piano bar. I went upstairs to the piano bar, waited ten minutes to be served, then sat down in what could only be described as a few chairs in a hallway, like something from an airport lobby and certainly with no piano playing. Hardly the kind of celebration you want from a supposed luxury hotel on New Years Eve.

I told staff when I was checking out about our problem and she was very nice and apologetic. However I don't think I will be back. There were some pros; breakfast was good however there was a big queue at the buffet. Check out seems a little early at 11am. Cost was £133 for one night, seems a bit steep considering there wasn't even a decent bar to drink in. The only real good point was the proximity to the excellent Restaurant Victoria across the road.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear pugamillion,

I want to thank you for your feedback on your experience of the hotel on New Years Eve. We take all of feedback seriously and address all issues if any. Thank for your thoughts on the room facilities of its comfort and cleanliness. I would say that if space is an issue for you, I would suggest our superior or executive rooms as they are more spacious than the classic standard that was booked by yourself. We have very reasonable deals avaialble throughout the year and due to the date you stayed on (being New Years Eve the rate was very competitive and comparable to demand).
With regards to the attitude of the Staff Member, I can assure you that this was not the Head Bar Manager. I have notified him of your experience in the Lobby Bar. He is investgating this incident and apologises on behalf of the hotel. This hsould not have happened. In the Lounge our entertainment finished prior to the time when you arrived after 12.15pm. We had indeed had our Piano Player and also a traditional piper in the lounge. I am sorry that you did not get to experience this and due to the volume of people in the lounge that you did not get the option of the better seats in the Lounge.

Thank you again for your feedback and we have taken all of your comments on board.

Many thanks

Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I visited the hotel a few days ago for afternoon tea with family.The quality of the food was terrible-it seemed the food had been left sitting out and nothing tasted fresh. It was £15 per person which was just far too much for such poor quality food.I have had afternoon tea in other hotels and this was so inferior to any other-very disapointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Chelleni,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your Afternoon Tea experience. I am very disappointed that the food quality was not what it should have been despite the excellent customer service that you received. Your whole experience was marred by the food quality on this occasion.
What is most disappointing is that our Afternoon Tea has been one of the many successes of the year having invested time on making our Afternoon Tea the best.
This is certainly an isolated incident and we have also answered fully in detail to your personal feedback presented to the hotel directly. Again my apologies and assurances that this will not reoccur. Head Chef has addressed with all of his staff.

Many thanks

Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing