We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a lovely Hotel in a great location especially if you are travelling by bus or train as it is only minutes from the main stations. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and have a really nice bathroom with a great bath.
The breakfast was good but we had to wait in line for ages as the hotel was very busy the week-end we stayed there.
The Food and Bar prices were quite expensive in the hotel but there are lots of great restaurants within easy walking distance and the Crown Bar across the road is a must for the original décor and atmosphere,the prices are much cheaper and it is full of local characters.
This is a large luxurious hotel but we found it to be impersonal and lacking in atmosphere, the staff were polite and efficient but not overly friendly.

Room Tip: The room key cards stop working at 11am so be sure to get back to you room in time! Or get it renew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,429
    1,094
    410
    177
    104
See reviews for
544
1,541
241
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We would absolutely recommend the Europa to everyone. We had a wonderful stay and were impressed with the hotel's high standards.

Room Tip: we stayed in the 'classic room' and were extemely impressed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Europa hotel, world famous for....ahem.. well lets not say that here, maybe Google will help you !!
I stayed in the Europa in December for a city break. I usually stay in the Hilton on the water front but this time I fancied a change,
One of the hotels biggests pluses is the location. This hotel is extreemly easy to find via road coming off the Dublin road and just inside the city centre. This means you dont have to navigate through the cities one way systems to get there. Important to note that you will drive by one of the city's famous Wall Murals stating "Welcome to loyalist Sandy Row", now dont panic its nothing to worry about. The hotel is also easy to access by train with a station directly behind it and how about by air ? Well if I had to hazzard a guess its no more than 15 minutes taxi drive from George Best International Airport.
When you get to the hotel you have a choice of parking. Now the hotel itself doesnt have a car park but there is a multi story directly behind it and you will pass it before you get to the hotel so its convient. I parked here and found it very reasonable. The hotel also offer valet parking if you pull up at the main door. They use another car park and charge £13 per day, again thats not too bad these days for city parking.
Directly facing the hotel you'll find the famous Crown Pub (oldest pub in Belfast) which is well worth a visit for a pint or two. The Grand Opera house is directly beside the hotel. You'll find the city hall mere minutes walk and a little further (again just a few minutes) you'll find Victoira Square where the best shopping is. Sure from there you're at the water front which again just a few more minutes walk and you're at the Odessey Arena and of course you're not far from the Titanic H&W shipyard. So on location this hotel is 5 star.
I found the checkin efficient and was in my room without delay. The room was a large double room nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom was large with a seperate bath and shower. I would consider the room a little above average.
On one of the nights we spent time in the piano bar. This is a nice airy room with window tables if you want to watch the world go by. Now here's where I had my first gripe, albiet a small one. I was in a party of 6 and the 3 ladies wanted to order a cocktail off their cocktail menue. The waiting staff told us that cocktails were "off" as they were too busy. To be honest I've never heard that one before, maybe you have. Now thats how the night went, at random times the cocktails were "off" and other times they were back "on". In a Pub in Ireland is nearly sacrilegious to refuse a customer the drink they want. A small gripe but strange how it stuck in my mind.
We stayed B&B and were due to check out on a Sunday morning. Reception staff told us breakfast was served untill 11am on Sunday. So off we went for breakfast at about 10:30 and halped ourselves to a fairly standard breakfast, no better or worse than most hotels I've stayed in. About 45 minutes later we went back to the room and our electronic keys didnt work. So back down to reception we went and here's my second gripe; the staff said the keys didnt work as checkout time was 11am and it was now 11:15. Now I suppose my problem here is a simple one, if breakfast stops at 11am why on earth would checkout be at exactly the same time? Very unusual and maybe not a big deal but it still was an inconvience.
Now with all that said I truely believe that my title to this review says it all "a few minor niggles but all in all a very good hotel". Would I recommend to a family member or friend ? Sure I would. Would I stay again ? Yes I would. Belfast is a fantastic city, do yourself a favour go and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanie_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and i stayed here for one night recently.when we were close to hotel i parked on the street and went quiclily to hotel to ask about parking arrangments.. a highly rude receptionist gave no information except that they had a valet parking facility for 16 gbp..found out later a public car park next door.. she was also quite rude. we checked in and upgraded our room. room was very good and clean and comforable. as this was a hastings hotel we decided to check a wether they could offer any advice on other hastings hotels in the north as we were in NI for five days.. again rude abd unhelpful reception offered no information. we checked out after breakfast never to return to this rude place. i think its time to decomission some of the rude elements........ wont be back..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kalysty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Kalysty,

Thank you for writing a response on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation in the Europa Hotel.
I am very disheartened to hear of your comments on rude staff. This is certainly not the normal standard here at Hastings Europa Hotel. In fact we are highly commended on the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff, including our reception staff. In order to get to the bottom of this incident, I would be very grateful if you could email me directly on marketing@eur.hastingshotels.com to give me more details on when you stayed so that I can check with the rotas and see who the receptionist was as attitude such as this will not be tolerated and will be dealt with accordingly. I am very sorry that you experienced this behaviour as this is not our normal standard and cant let this ruin the good reputation of all our staff.

Look forward to hearing from you

Lynsey Carroll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Had a wonderful 'one night' stay here over Christmas to see the Christmas Markets etc...... great hotel with traditional values, excellent staff and central to everything....looking forward to doing it again soon........Probably the best nights sleep ever...the Beds are truly brill....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TintoNorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Used on annual basis for business purposes. Service and staff are second to none. Always very helpful and happy to meet each request. Will continue to use again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMcKeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

hotel was lovely and staff were quite helpful, we originally were supposed to stay somewhere else but hated it on arrival and the europa staff were very helpful in organising a room last minute. parking was a bit of a menace, but its very expensive all over the city, we didnt opt for the hotel valet which was £16 a day, instead we got a deal for £14 around the corner, but considering we had to carry our luggage around the streets to get to the car it probably would have been easier just to give the £2 extra for the hotels valet, i would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing