We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Hotel - Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Haddington, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Well 2 night stay at The Europa is over and I cant wait to go back. The Room...Front facing was a beautifully proportioned light airy room. Warm with temp control radiators. The super king bed was very comfortable with crisp clean bed linen. The bathroom had a deep bath and a great shower with amazing pressure. Over all very clean with fantastic views over the city. waking up on Saturday morning to the most beautiful sunrise over city hall and beyond was just stunning.

The Restaurant...Although incredibly busy the staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was beautiful, presentation and portion size excellent and service was to a high standard.

Reception and Hotel Staff. The welcome was warm and friendly, All the staff went out of their way to make our stay special and the certainly succeeded. We all look forward to staying with them again. A huge thank you to them all for the professionalism charm and humour.

I have seen some reviews mentioning road noise. In the hotels defense, with the best will in the world I don't think the Europa Hotel have any control over Belfast City Council and the road works that were taking place. I think in any City center Hotel there will be a degree of city noise and should be accepted.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel as a base for your stay in Beautiful Belfast.

See you all again Soon xxx

Room Tip: Front facing bright rooms on higher floors with beautiful views of the city and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,370
    1,060
    400
    171
    102
See reviews for
529
1,508
237
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Having never stayed in the hotel I was looking forward to a night away with my friends staying overnight and having dinner in the restaurant. The bedrooms were a sufficient size but I was surprised there was no temperature controller as the room felt quite cold when we were going to bed and corridor was freezing.
The room was very noisy. I had heard reports that the rooms suffered from traffic noise etc but I didn't realise how bad it was. The best feature of the room was the shower but the bathroom got very steamy as their didn't seem to be an extractor fan in the bathroom.

We had booked dinner as it was part of our package and the service was extremely slow. It took over 30 minutes for our starters to come which was only 5 portions of breads and 1 soup and we had to ask for our starters to be taken away as no-one came near us. We then ordered jugs of water while our starters were being taken away. We waited on our main course and after over 30 minutes one of the other people in the party complained to the manager which resulted in our mains arriving only to find that one of the meals was cold and a wrong order was brought out to my friend. By the time they received their meals we were almost finished ours. We also had to remind the staff that we were still waiting on water. It was so late we didn't have time for a dessert which was included as part of our package. We did negotiate with the manager so we didn't pay the full bill but it was extremely disappointing and not what I'd expect from a 4 star hotel.
There are much nicer hotels in Belfast like Radisson Blu, Ten Square, Malmaision which I would recommend over the Europa.
A really disappointing night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ei75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear ei75,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent comments on your stay with ourselves. I am very disappointed that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would like to apologise for the level of noise your room received, this is definitely a factor I have taken into consideration for review. I am again very disappointed with the overall level of service our staff provided you when you where dinning with ourselves. I have addressed all of these issues with our Restaurant Manager and we are monitoring their service levels very closely. I hope these issues have note affected your overall opinion of the Hotel and we would love to have you stay with ourselves again where I am sure we can improve on your last visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed for one night as was attending a university formal here. The room we had was spectular, king size bed which was so comforty with really big pillows. Could watch TV in bed too which had a range of channels. Ate beside the tv as there was a dining table in the room aswell as a desk.
Bathroom has a big size bath with a rain fall shower over head aswell.
Plenty of room to get ready. Had a wardrobe aswell as an ironing board whcih we didnt need.
Staff were so helpful.

Room was of a good size. Would have stayed longer if i could. Would definitely come back to the europa for a stay again even without attending a event here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Bev D,

Thank you sharing your review on your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves. I have passed your great comments on to our staff members. We would love to have stay again ourselves at the Europa and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific City, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had a very enjoyable 1 night stay at the Europa Hotel. After a long day of traveling from the U.S., we flew into Dublin, got our rental car and drove to Belfast (spectacular drive) for our 1st night in Northern Ireland. The location was excellent and easy to get to from the highway. There is a car park for a fee directly behind the hotel. I read a lot of reviews complaining about the cost of parking, but it's an expense you have to pay in most large cities.

The staff was friendly and efficient and we were in our room in no time. The room was on the smaller size, but still plenty of room to maneuver. The bed was amazingly comfortable! I think it was the best bed we had on our whole trip. The room was very clean and it was quiet.

There are many restaurants you can walk to and we explored the area at night and felt comfortable and safe. Unfortunately, we had to leave very early in the morning and didn't get a chance to have breakfast at the hotel. Our stay at the Europa was a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Coastlvr,

Thank you for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with ourselves and received the full service the Europa has to offer. I have passed on your brilliant feedback to our staff members. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to Belfast and we would love to have you return to the Europa if you are ever back in Northern Ireland. We hope to be seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Have stayed here few times over the years, its a great spot to stay in, so accessible for shops and restaurants. The rooms are nice and breakfast is good.The downside for me has been the parking charge, which is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Sarahmay D,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so delighted you enjoyed your visit and received the full service the Europa Hotel has to offer. I passed all of your very kind comments to our staff members. We currently do not have an on-site car park facilitate with the hotel however we have competitively set our rates in line with car parking facilities within Belfast. We would love to have you return to the Europa again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Visiting Belfast for a catch up with friend and chose The Europa for the history of the hotel.

From the moment I walked in the lobby I was made welcome, all the staff walk with smiles.

The hotel’s location is great as the bus station and train is 2 mins walk and the city centre is just around the corner.

My room was really modern and the bed was super comfy.

I had breakfast which was hearty and set me up for the day.

I left the control unit of my toothbrush and when I contacted the hotel, they had it safe and posted it to me. That’s what I call service!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoomzoomboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear zoomzoomboyuk,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so delighted you enjoyed your visit and received the full service the Europa Hotel has to offer. I passed all of your very kind comments to our staff members. We would love to have you return to the Europa and Belfast again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I attended the Europa Hotel today for a tour with St.Louise's Comprehensive College and really enjoyed it. The rooms looked beautiful and the manager that was showing us around had really good customer service skills and was able to keep a group of 17 year olds interested. The finger bites we were offered were also delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Hannah152,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on your recent stay at the Europa. I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay with ourselves and received the full service the Europa has to offer. Belfast is such a fantastic City and we look forward to having you again.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Superbreak UK so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing