We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a junior suite in the Europa last Saturday. The room was fantastic as were the staff ,very welcoming and friendly.Every element of our stay was very professional and of course its central location is very handy for the many fantastic bars and restaurants in the city centre I would highly recommend a stay in this landmark hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ninomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear ninomac,

Thank you for your feedback on the Europa Hotel. I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us.

Kind regards

Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,361 - 2,367 of 4,532 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Standard room was cramped and had no toilet paper. Disappointing first impression. Paid for upgrade to executive room although more spacious bathroom was not clean. Great bed though and slept well but won't be back. Not the hotel of my memories. Check out the Hilton executive instead.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for his birthday and from the moment we walked through the door we were treated so kindly. The staff are what really make this a great hotel they are all so friendly and go out of their way to help with anything asked of them. We were upgraded to a better room free of charge which was absolutely fantastic and the meal we had was amazing. The breakfast next morning was also fabulous and a great variety to choose from. I will certainly stay again in the future!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rpeps87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear rpeps87,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Europa Hotel. I am so pleased the hotel staff looked after you so well during your time with us.

We hope you will join us again in the future.

Kind regards

Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a cold Summers Night last week.
Had a lovely Dinner in the cozy Downstairs Restaurant with my fiancée. This was excellent all round. Service was top notch and food was out of this world. I had the knife and fork ribs and Salmon main. Didn't want to share.
After enjoying dinner we went to the piano bar for a few drinks and again experienced quick and excellent service as we both enjoyed our drinks at the window looking at the winters night down below in August. :)
The next morning check out was smooth and Hugh at concierge was Customer service at it's best.
Cheers Europa ! See you again soon.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank BelfastDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear BelfastDev,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on the Europa Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your dinner and drinks during your stay. I will certainly pass on your comments to Hugh form concierge, thank you.

Kind regards

Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here with family went to the grand opera house its very handy to it!! Got upgraded to a executitive suite which was nice of them though to be honest room was a bit shabby and certainly needed a lick of paint!! Breakfast not included which was a bit stingy considerin the price plus was an extra tenner per person ... no thank u!! All in all not bad very central and would be good for tourists otherwise there are nicer more reasonable places to stay in belfast

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank MyKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear MyKingdom,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied during your stay with us.
Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to book in the Europa Hotel again on sales@eur.hastingshotels.com

Kind regards

Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Truly out this world & didn't want to get up! Had standard double which was a little small but facilities perfect. Customer service brilliant. Breakfast brilliant. I don't do lifts & we were on the 5th floor so I used the stairs which were service stairs so not pleasant.

Room Tip: Standard double small so if can afford upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Deborah H,

Thank you for your feedback on you stay. I am delighted you enjoyed our cloud beds - they truly are so comfortable.

Kind regards

Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Four adults stayed overnight to celebrate my 30th birthday; staying in two hotel- rooms. Our europa experience ruined the entire celebrations. Having enjoyed a wonderful matinee show in the Opera house, everything went down hill with regards to our planned overnight stay at the hotel. We have experienced the Europa Hotel in the past, eating in the restaurant on many occasions and also staying previously with international visitors who were visiting N.I. We were all hugely excited to experience a return visit to mark my 30th celebrations. Regrettably the experience of this hotel has been memorable and unforgettable, for all the wrong reasons. Consequently, we have been put-off returning again in the future. There are plenty of alternative options in Belfast worth consideration, which we will look at for future visits to the city. The price of this hotel, and the service received was a disgrace to say the least. We arrived prior to check-in, because we were seeing a matinee show in the theatre at 2:30pm. The hotel check-in wasn't until 3pm. One of our rooms was ready though & the duty-manager was able to check us into that room, to leave bags off before the show, so given that we were checking in an early, it was decent of the manager to accommodate us as best he could at that point, and told us to come back after the show when the second room was ready, having put a direct request into house keeping to get the second room ready for our return. The downward spiral came on our return to the hotel (after the theatre-show) a few hrs later, to check into the 2nd room. Dealing another member of staff on this occasion, who I can only detail as being hugely arrogant, and extremely rude, he proceeded to inform us (and also contradict the duty manager who we had dealt with earlier) that the initial check-in "wasn't on the system" (seriously?!) -and that the booking made (one double room, one twin room -with a request made at the time of booking, for both rooms to be adjacent to each-other, or at least in near proximity to one another, as well as needing the twin room to have a walk in shower due to accessibility needs) could not be honoured. There was absolutely no opportunity for discussion or compromise from this particular staff member to accommodate our booking requests. End of story as far as we the customer were concerned. Never mind about the accessibility needs of a walk in shower -we were put in 6th floor superior twin-room, with a shower over the bath, and were told that "all superior rooms have this style" -so bare this in mind if you have accessible needs. The second room, was a "classic" double-room on the 11th floor, with a walk in shower. This member of staff continued to tell us, that "all classic rooms" could accommodate a walk in shower request, but that double beds were the only option... so the saga continued. Checked-in to the 11th floor room and it-stank of stale-smoke, which was reported but not followed up on in any way. The 6th floor Twin superior room was front facing in the hotel, onto the main street, with no air conditioning or room ventilation, so we had to sleep with the window open all night to get air, as the rooms gets warm and stuffy at night. Because it was a saturday night, the street noise was relentless all night. Once the social/pubs emptied and dinned down... the street sweepers and lorries cleaning-up were hot on the scene. NO SLEEP AT ALL as a result. Paying for a room, to stay over night, and none of us got any sleep!! The room on the 11th floor fared no better, and they too reported no sleep from the back of the hotel as they had he joys of listening to the theatre load their stage-set through the entire night, and again, the windows had to be left open to let air into the rooms, with no air ventilation in the room. While we do not expect the Europa hotel to take responsibility of outside street noise, and fully appreciate that it is a central city-location, is it too much to expect ventilated rooms as "standard" in a so called "world-class 4-star hotel" in this day and age? Given that it isn't exactly budget-pricing for even basic accommodation this is one reason we will never return for another stay. Basic things in the superior room were also amiss. For example, toiletries that hadn't been left out, or replaced from previous guests, in addition to lack of tea/coffee facilities -one cup between two people is a careless oversight on house keeping's part. We were also awakened by a drunken-stranger at 2:15am, banging on our bedroom door repeatedly to let him in! As two young ladies on our own in the room, we were startled to say the least, immediately called front desk, and again, nothing was done, or followed up upon!!!!!! Thank goodness for the bedroom-door peep-hole to check who was there before deciding not to open the door to him. He eventually left after we ignored him long enough. Trying to telling him through a closed door, that he had the wrong room only fuelled his persistence to get into the room, so we ignored him hoping he would go-away.

We left the hotel the next day, exhausted, sleep deprived, hugely disappointed and vowing never to return; for a stay, or food, having reported all to the duty manger upon check out. He advised us to submit a letter of complaint, but in all honesty, the damage has already been done. We will book elsewhere in future, without a second thought for the Europa.

In an ironic twist-of-fate having checked out of the eurpoa hotel the next day and then met friends for a birthday lunch, I was given a birthday-gift of theatre tickets and and another overnight stay in the Europa hotel in the winter-time. I will be looking for alternative accommodation when the time comes, on the back of this experience –thankfully the Europa hotel booking can be cancelled and re-booked in another hotel.

This my second experience of a “hastings-hotel” in the space of 3-weeks, having also stayed in a sister-hotel for a different celebration. Having heard such rave reviews for hastings hotels, our most recent experiences were disappointing in both places. Will definitely be staying clear of hasting-hotels in general from now on. A chain-hotel group that are over-priced because they can get away with it in "prime" locations, but the service is woeful and badly lets the customer experience down as a result. Hugely regrettable to be submitting such a negative experience as a northern Ireland local. I would have expected more from our own tourist industry.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mtt991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear mtt991,

I am so sorry to hear of your recent experience at the Europa Hotel. I would very much like if you could contact me personally so I am able to look into this matter for you.

Please contact me on 028 9027 1066.

Kind regards

Jody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 46 in Belfast
3,098 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 46 in Belfast
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 46 in Belfast
1,642 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £105 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing