We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Central and modern”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

stayed here recently. Room was quite small and warm and surprisingly did not have air conditioning. Other than that it was modern and clean with an excellent shower! Breakfast was good, lots of choice but the cooked breakfast could do with being warmer. Best thing about this hotel is it's location. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,428
    1,091
    410
    177
    104
See reviews for
544
1,537
241
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Europa is a famous hotel - But that day has long passed. The best thing about it is the lobby and the doormen - which make it look a little prestigious.

They charge for wifi - (it's 2014 - Not acceptable)

Location - Good - but could be confusing if its your first trip to the city.

The decor is OK - nothing to write home about, although the hotel is very clean. I emailed on booking and reminded the receptionist on check in that it was a special occasion - and she assured me there would be some complimentary treats in the room. There were none. Although maybe an overwashed set of robes and two pairs of slippers was it?

The food is good, and breakfast is lovely, would recommend. We slept fairly well, the beds are comfortable but the hotel can get noisy - it seems to be popular for parties/weddings/formals.

Would probably stay here again as there was nothing wrong per sae, but its vastly over hyped and should make more of an effort to live up to its reputation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VintageRedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I start this review with the booking service for Hastings hotel group. My girlfriend wanted to take me to the Europa for my birthday and viewed an ON-LINE deal of £115 for Bed & Breakfast + 4 course evening dinner. When she tried to book on-line she could not and was forced to make a telephone booking instead. The hotel operator took her booking but charged her £150, yes a £35 extra and when she complained she was told that the prices change every day so, fellow travellers B E W A R E !!!! Hastings WILL RIP YOU OFF !! As for the dinner and breakfast I will review separately. To finish our evening off we decided to visit the piano bar on the first floor. Upon entering at 1250 am I ordered an Oakheart rum and a rose wine from a waitress. Still at the same table at 0120 we had not received our drinks. I requested to speak to the bar manager who never came to see us but sent a "supervisor" instead. She explained they had run out of Oakheart and I said there was some in the lobby bar but this was too much trouble for her. We left in total disgust at 0130 am with the thought of very bad bar management and only one bottle of Oakheart to service an entire hotel was an absolute joke

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gasman077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Would have rated this higher if they hadn't forgotten to give us a wake up call. It was a good thing that we had a back up fitbit, so we were not embarrassed about being late for our bus. It was located near City Centre, so it was easily within walking distance of the hotel. Lots of electrical outlets and fantastic free WIFI. Directly across the street is the famous Crown Saloon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night having heard about the iconic europa hotel for many years. The lobby is impressive but thats as good as it got. Bedroom on 11th floor, very warm but too noisy when window open. No air conditioning, no mini bar or bottled water in the room, no turndown service, bedroom very tired looking and very basic. Charging for wifi is wrong these days. No shaving miŕror in bathroom, coffee sachets looked out of date and tasted like it too. Bed very comfortable though. Breakfast - well, although the food itself was good, especially the eggs, we were surprised that the hot buffet was actually set up at the kitchen pass so you collect your hot items looking directly into the kitchen, having to see kitchen staff scraping off dirty plates into buckets whilst making our breakfast selection isnt something we would expect from a 2 star let alone what we thought was supposed to be an iconic 4 star. Extra attention needed to cleanliness of the kitchen particularly if you are having guests looking in! Chef didnt wear gloves when he was handling food. The dish containing the sugar sachets at breakfast was simply filthy and the sachets were stuck to the side! 20 minutes before coffee was offered. Windows filthy! Such a pity as we thought this was going to be something special but disappointed to say the least.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KillarneyCliffords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear KillarneyCliffords,

I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. I will certainly address the points you raised regarding breakfast to our Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef to look into.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your bedroom on your stay. I would ask that you contact me directly should you consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself went for afternoon tea a few weeks back on a Saturday afternoon we went to reception to enquire where it would be served. We were met by a very handsome Indian man who gave us a lovely welcome smile and he escorted us to the upstairs restaurant he was very polite and helpful.
The tea comprised of various sandwiches pastries and the most divine fresh scones with jam and fresh cream. There was more than enough for two people and it all went down a treat.
I really enjoyed it as it was the first time I had afternoon tea in such a famous hotel.
We'll done reception and restaurant staff.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank charleeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear charleeBelfast,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on afternoon tea at the Europa Hotel. I am so pleasedour reception and Piano Lounge team looked after you so well.

Kind regards

Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We decided to treat ourselves for our silver wedding anniversary and booked an over night stay. We weren't disappointed. The Europa was very welcoming from when we first arrived with staff greeting us in a friendly manner. Check in was quick and easy. The lift was super quick and our rooms where available on arrival. The rooms where excellent,clean and fresh smelling. The bed was unbelievably comfortable and shower room was very spacious and very clean also. The 'piece De resisttance' though had to be the full Irish breakfast next morning. All local produce and plenty of it. A truly excellent experience made our celebration even more memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmcconville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnjo, Manager at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear jimmcconville,

Thank you for your feedback on the Europa Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed celebrating your wedding anniversary with us. Congratulations from all of us at the hotel.

Kind regards

Jody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing