We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern hotel. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very modern hotel. Great location”
Reviewed 31 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at Europa Hotel while in vacation in Belfast. It's a very comfortable modern hotel that's on par with any 4 star hotel in the US and it's in an excellent location. The room was large with a king size bed and a huge bathroom. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The only drawbacks were it doesn't have high speed internet (although there's an internet cafe next door), it doesn't have a fitness center, and for some reason we could only get warm water out of the shower, not hot water. Check out the historic Crown Pub across the street.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTexasTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,399
    1,073
    406
    174
    102
See reviews for
540
1,520
240
785
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We had a two night break at the Europa, which we managed to get for a very good price on expedia. The location is great, right next door to the bus and train stations (£10 return transfer on the 300 bus every 15/30 minutes) and with the Grand Opera House on the other side. The room was absolutely fine, with a good bathroom and huge comfortable bed, plus a view over Great Victoria St to the iconic Crown Bar (well worth a visit). We didn't have breakfast included, and the usual price is a steep £16. But we found amazing deals in the area - I'd particularly recommend the Cafe Renoir on Botanic Avenue for a cracking "small" fairtrade Ulster breakfast of bacon (2 slices), 2 sausages, mushrooms, fresh tomatoes, egg, soda bread, potato cake and pot of tea for £4.50. It set us up for the day - goodness knows what you get for the "large" breakfast! Loved the Belfast people, including the hotel staff, all very friendly and helpful, and we felt really safe wandering around, day and evening. The city tours are good value, and include a ride down the Falls and Shankill Roads, with their murals and cracking photo opportunities. Likewise the full day Giant's Causeway tour, which takes you through amazing countryside before you get to this World Heritage site. Only one very minor irritation with the hotel, which doesn't just apply to this one - why provide such a great place to stay and then be so stingy with the toiletries? White Company, very nice, but only one teensy bottle each of combined shower/bath gel and combined shampoo/conditioner and a miniscule bar of soap between 2? And no extras on day 2!. But that's a very minor niggle, and we would thoroughly recommend the Europa to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisymaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I was in Belfast on business and had the pleasure of staying in the Europa Hotel for the first time. It was conveniently located next to the train station (for my early morning trip to the airport) yet just a quick walk to the downtown core. Staff were friendly and helpful, especiallyl the concierge the morning I left, who answered a few airport questions for me before catching my return flight to Canada.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My wife & I stayed here for a special occassion and we couldn't have asked for better,
The staff were very freindly and the room was big and roomy,we especially liked the 6"6 wide bed.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone..
Brilliant spot ideal location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmajjquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrolll, General Managers PA at Europa Hotel - Belfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2009
Dear Mr. Quinn,


Thank you for having chosen to stay with us at the Hastings Europa Hotel during your recent visit to the city. May I also thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent experience.

I would like to say how pleased we are to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay in the Hotel. We are delighted that you were pleased with the room. This is invaluable to us as this allows us both to continue to deliver excellent customer service but also to show appreciation and give motivation to our staff for the work that they do.

Once again Mr Quinn I thank you for your feedback and your comments will be acknowledged by all staff. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you in the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely

Lynsey Carroll
PA to General Manager
Europa Hotel
Belfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Yu will not be disappointed in this city center hotel. Located in the middle of Belfast, across the street from a few pubs and near some very good restuarants. Shopping and city hall are close walking. Make sure you take the "Black Taxi" tour of the "troubles" at 10 pounds sterling each person. You will be escorted by a taxi driver through both the nationalist (catholic) areas and through the unionist (protestant) parts and hear first hand accounts though the eyes of working class men who lived in the bad times.Belfast is safe so feel at ease.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Me and my boyfriend travelled from Liverpool to Belfast for a weekend in May to conduct some business as professional photographers. We booked a standard double room at the Europa on recommendation from a client.

We were checked in early as our flight landed at 9am and we had to start work at 11, so we didn't want to nor could we wait around untill 3 for check in.

We were originally checked into a room on the 11th floor that wasn't made up from the previous guests checking out. The concierge came to check and arranged to upgrade us to an executive suite (Room 1130) for no extra charge, as it was the hotels mistake. We were also given 2 free internet vouchers for use in the hotel.

The restaurant in the lobby of the hotel was absolutely amazing. Wide range of food at great prices and high quality products with matching service.

The staff all around the hotel were very polite, efficient and helpful. We will definitely be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We visited for a short break over the bank holiday weekend and got a very good rate through hotels.com. The Europa is very grand and steeped in history, it is very well appointed and the decor is stylish despite the building itself being quite ugly. The room was spacious and comfortable with great views out over the city. It is in a great location, right opposite the Crown Bar (the only National Trust pub and a must for any visitor) and within walking distance of all the other sites. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCoSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
2,647 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel - Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel - Belfast

Property: Europa Hotel - Belfast
Address: Great Victoria St., Belfast BT2 7AP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#6 Family Hotel in Belfast
#7 Business Hotel in Belfast
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Hotel - Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous 4 star Europa Hotel is superbly located in the heart of Belfast City Centre, and simply epitomizes indulgence. Having undergone major refurbishment the hotel now boasts 272 exquisite bedrooms, making it one of the largest and most luxurious hotels in Northern Ireland. It is also ideally positioned in the heart of the city, next door to the famous Grand Opera House and close to the Waterfront and Odyssey concert venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Hotel - Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Belfast
Belfast Europa Hotel
Europa Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing