We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Called in for an early dinner.
Service was prompt and polite.
Lovely to see so much local food. The little book explaining where all the food was sourced was great.
We had different soup each . Both was lovely but my bread was beautiful and different. My guest had curry while I had stuffed chicken with champ croquettes.

Both were perfect . We'll presented and tasted great.
Only problem they were so tasty we had no room left for pudding!
Service was discreet and nothing was too much bother.
The best dining experience I have had in quite a while.
We enjoyed it so much we are considering staying for a short break.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    276
    117
    48
    32
See reviews for
151
265
57
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had our Wedding ceremony and reception in the Ballroom on 30th August 2013, everything was wonderful, the planning and precision from show-round to first dance was exactly as planned.

We were met by the General Manager, Norman and Victoria the Banqueting Manager on arrival, they put us at ease and guided us through the entire day, the hotel and the Ballroom looked stunning, lovely LED mood lights to set the tone! All our guests were very impressed!

The food was really fantastic, all our guests commented that it was the best they have had, Jay was great to work with and listened to what we wanted and delivered as promised.

A lot of guests stayed over night and Breakfast the next morning was of excellent quality and service once again!

Could not find a single fault with the hotel, we had the best day and the staff really made us fell special and welcome!

Well done to all, fantastic day had by all!

Michael & Chrsitine

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here last night Sept 24th., room nice, no wifi unless you want to pay for it, lovely smart tv but only certain channels available.
Bath & shower over complicated to use, a choice of 2 showers and a bath but impossible to get the water warm enough for a good soak after a foggy day.
Then I went to the bar for an appratif, ordered a white wine, ok but it was a little warm, when I asked the lad behind the counter for some ice he informed me that he wasn't the barman and I would have to wait till the barman returned (for some ice ????)
I went to my reserved table for dinner.
Starter was a lovely homemade veg soup with a white roll, I asked if I could have brown instead and was served brown sliced pan, disappointing !!!!
Main course was the 7oz burger which came on a huge plate with buns galore and all the trimmings along with the extra cheese, bacon & onion rings, by far the best but the burger tasted a bit of cereal like an inferior brand.
The table next to me failed to have all their maim courses served at the same time & it seemed a bit disorganised at best.
I left quietly without waiting for dessert.
Could Do Better is my final comment !!!!

Room Tip: Away from the Main Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManUhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for the review .
I have highlighted the burger comment with the head chef who will address the issue with the supplier.
The service issues have been raised with the food and beverage manager .
Feedback is very important to us to help maintain our standards.
Hopefully on your next visit you will see the improvements in the areas you have highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had our wedding in the hotel on September 14th and from start to finish everything was perfect. The staff were very friendly and professional throughout the whole planning process and on the day. We dealt with Cathy and Victoria throughout the planning process and Victoria ran our wedding on the day. She was absolutely amazing and we couldn't have asked for anyone better. We cannot thank her enough for all her hard work and patience. She made sure everything ran smoothly and kept us calm throughout the day. We had our menu tasting with the head chef Jay who was so friendly and was happy to make any changes to make the food exactly the way we wanted it. The food on the day was beautiful and many guests commented on this. He even came out to speak to is which we thought was a lovely touch. We stayed in the Titanic suite which was lovely and a very nice way to start married life. All our guests that stayed were very impressed with their rooms.
We couldn't say anything negative about the hotel or the staff. We wouldn't change anything about the day, it was absolutely perfect.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thanks for the review
Great that we met all your expectations for your big day .
I have passed your thanks onto the rest of the team.
Congratulations !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here 1 night on business. Did not experience the restaurant but everything else was pretty much faultless. Reception very helpful and welcoming. Good standard of rooms and very comfortable bed. Breakfast excellent and proud to display it was largely locally sourced. Good location for airport and city centre. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thanks for the review and the recommendation
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I am here because attending an event in hotel. Arrived and had been upgraded to a suite very nice. Reception quick and efficient and very helpful. Room was lovely enormous bathroom nice shower and bath. Bed was massive and so comfortable. Took someone into restaurant for dinner. Food was lovely and can recommend. Service was outstanding. Did a breakfast function in morning. Again. Great service. Bar area is nice. A bit out of town. On,y ten mins from city airport.
Lovely hotel would recommend

Room Tip: All seemed nice. Amenities good. Very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Great review thanks
I have passed your great comments onto the reception staff .
Happy you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here with my friends to celebrate my 27th bday. It really enjoyed staying here, as it is right in front of the Irish Parliament. Its good to take a long walk in th evening at the beautiful parliament campus. The hotel staff was very friendly and kind as they allowed me to checkin two hours early as I was not feeling well, without any extra charge. The hotel has a lovely restaurant an the only drawback is its far from the Belfast city-centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baruch_Hashem613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thanks for reviewing the hotel.
Happy you enjoyed your stay hope you will return again.
There is a great bus service into the city centre every 10 minutes from the front of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing