We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Montrose, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at the Stormont twice recently for three nights each time. I found the reception and restaurant staff to be efficient and courteous. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious and clean. The buffet style breakfast was good and set me up for the day. I ate in La Scala each evening and found the service to be very efficient. I will certainly be staying at the Stormont on my next visit to Belfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    286
    119
    49
    32
See reviews for
156
271
59
288
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My Mum, daughter & I had the 6 course buffet here on Sunday. We were all impressed with the variety of starters & desserts. We did not sample the soup or pasta/omelette courses. There was a choice of 4 meats plus potatoes & vegetables as the main course. As well as the desserts table there was also an ice-cream bar & chocolate fountain. The food we had was all well prepared/cooked/presented. The staff were very helpful telling me which items were gluten & dairy free. Although £24 each is not cheap the quality & service made it somewhere we will return to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a really lovely lunch today at the Stormont Hotel. Plenty of choice for us all and the children loved the food, very friendly helpful staff. The only thing I would say is that its expensive £24 per adult £13 per child so not something we will be doing again soon. It was special today and we all really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayN_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I spent in this hotel 3 nights. Room is spacious with a very comfortable bed, flat TV, hairdryer, tea&coffee facilities. Breakfast choice is poor. In comparison with similar European hotels, breakfast options should be broaden. Generally, nothing special. Just standard English breakfast. Continental option looks poor. Generally, the whole buffet looks poor. Big minus – they charge for Wi-Fi. Nowadays when everybody has smartphones and tablets, Internet should be for FREE. It is not luxury to have access to Internet. Hotel management should understand it and change charging clients.
Hotel restaurant- a mystery for me. We ate there 3 times. Food – not bad. Definitely lovely salmon. Thai curry – no spaces, nothing special. Quite good steaks. But let me tell you about booking tables in this restaurant. First night when we arrived, we were informed that we need to book a table as restaurant was fully booked so we did. We came on the agreed hour and how surprised we were. Almost nobody in the restaurant. It was suspicious but who cared. Second night we did not book a table as we saw that there were plenty of tables. We came to the restaurant reception seeing that there were plenty of free tables.The lady asked us if we got reservation!!!She told us to sit and wait!!!Could you image, 15 free tables and we waited. We started laughing. Last night, we booked table again as we were assured that restaurant was again fully booked. And imagine: again, was empty. We think that something really is wrong with this “booking”policy. We did not figure out why they are doing it but last night we found it funny. Perhaps, it is some kind of a play: make us thinking over the dinner about how fully booked they are but in fact they aren’t?
Overall, very nice hotel however Internet should be for free, better breakfast and stop playing with customers with a play “fully booked restaurant”.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Even though this was a quick overnighter before an early flight to London it is worth writing a review; this is a beautiful hotel where one can have acomfy night's sleep with restaurants and fitness centre on site. Just a stone's throw from the airport and a short (10-15mins) bus ride from the city (a few buses such as 4a and b come this way) this is a perfect location. We didn't eat in the hotel but the facilities looked great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Here on business - I stay in many hotels with my work and this is one of the best. The staff are professional but friendly and very knowledgable. The room was superb. Mattress, pillows and bedding top rate. Bathroom first class. Only issue I had was the mixer tap wouldn't work properly in the shower so slight problem in the morning. However cant rate this place high enough.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FortyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I used to stay in this hotel regularly on business and was never disappointed. This was the first time I stayed on holiday, though just for 1 night as I was passing through. I am glad to report that the standards have not declined and that I found the staff as helpful and courteous as before. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable and very quiet so we had an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast was delicious - I had really missed the wheaten bread!

An excellent stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGuinness1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing