We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an American Buffet!”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very good, breakfast excellent but totally agree with other review regarding buffet. Really very poor! Hotdog or burger and nachos this was your lot! I couldnt believe the price of wine in the hotel £7.50 a glass total rip off!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ispence44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a night at the stormont hotel Elvis show with American style buffet dinner well if a burger in a box and a tiny box of nachos is an American style buffet that is show was good hotel lovely but very disappointed with the food not at all what we expected from a hotel of this caliber if we wanted a burger in a box plenty of fast food outlets to choose from!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Until recently I've never set foot in the doors of the stormont hotel. The reason for this is because I only love 5 minutes away from the hotel. I won a competition to have an over night stay with breakfast and I am so glad I did because it's an excellent hotel, rooms staff & food are all amazing I couldn't fault a thing about it & I will definitely be staying again and recommending the hotel to others.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank luluk1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here because my wife was presenting at a conference. As a business hotel it is fine but it is out of town and modern. I arrived late but there is no food in the bar and my wife had already eaten so did not want to sit in the restaurant to watch me eat.
The buffet breakfast was good. Staff are typical for Northern Ireland - friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmershamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for a night while on business, checked in fine and was sent to a room with two single beds. The beds are narrow and small, comfortable but small. Room was clean, large and warm, good dark out curtains. Nice shower but a shortage of shampoos and gels. Had a meal in the restaurant, chowder to start and scampi for main. The chowder tasted good but had too many fish bones in it, was unable to eat it, shame! The main was a small basket of hand cut chips and scampi along with a dry pasty dip. I ate it all as I was hungry, still hungry when I finished. Food could be a bit better. Staff nice though.
Emergency toothbrush kit was £1.50, should be complimentary!
Good free wifi all around the hotel. I will visit again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank kitser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and four work companions stayed here for 2 nights as we were working nearby
Hotel was beautiful, beds were amazing. Bar staff and reception went out of their way to make our stay perfect and the lovely Margaret in the breakfast room made sure we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast
We dined in the restaurant on both nights and food was amazing, however this was slightly overshadowed by one female member of the restaurant staff who's customer service left a lot to be desired. However, we all agreed that this would not deter us from returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faithle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at the Stormont after a wedding last week and we enjoyed our stay very much.
The staff were very friendly and the 'Executive Suite' was very good value for money. The room was spacious and the amenities you normally have to ask for (iron, ironing board etc) were already provided in the room.

We booked a travel cot for our 21 month-old and it was in our room as promised, assembled and ready for when we checked in (past his bedtime!)

The only suggestion I would make is to bring your own toddler/baby pillow and blanket. A very thin blanket was provided, but this was insufficient for Winter. Luckily, we had a blanket in the car which we improvised with. There was also no pillow, so he had one of mine. Not ideal as it was too big for him really. Aside from those things, he did enjoy the complimentary rubber duck!

Breakfast was amazing. A huge selection, including an impressive range of local produce, Guinness Bread and porridge with whiskey!

I would definitely recommend The Stormont Hotel for affordable luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysticegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#16 of 45 in Belfast
2,998 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £87 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing