We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Short Business Trip”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Short Business Trip”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having stayed in town a number of times this hotel was chosen for me for a conference. What a joy to stay in. Despite the hotel being full of cycling teams for the Giro D'Italia I was warmly greeted at reception. Despite arriving really early the hotel did their best to give me my room early.

Ate in La Scala with a large party and again we were looked after very well and those who had steaks were given a real treat.

Room Tip: Try and get 156 or 157 they have fantastic corner windows which make the rooms feel really big. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Great review thank you
Really happy you enjoyed your stay and we met all your needs
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    290
    119
    49
    32
See reviews for
159
276
59
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Whilst I have no major complaints about this hotel. It was clean bed was comfortable etc I must admit I was disappointed with the room. We paid £128 for executive double ( an upgrade on the superior) and I have to say it was quite small and basic. The shower facilities had clearly been upgraded but there was bit enough pressure to have a really good shower again a disappointment. However in the plus side the room was clean and comfortable and as we were only there one night it was ok. I would not want to stay there for much longer though. In terms of location it was across the road from stormont parliament so good for a picture and only took 15min in taxi into town to see titanic museum. I would rate the hotel average but could be improved with better water pressure and little touches like a turn down service and room service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidsintow_placestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman M, General Manager at Stormont Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for the review
It is great that you enjoyed most of the facilities ,
Maintenance have looked at the showers for me thanks for highlighting this.
We do provide room service and also do turn down if requested .
Try it on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

A fantastic hotel. Good sized rooms with very comfortable and large bed. Free wifi, relaxing and rich atmosphere and friendly staff. Good parking and facilities for coach drivers to wash down.

Look forward to staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Staff very helpfull,but food in the La Scala restaurant was poor.Cold seafood chowder returned and was reheated,dried out pork,over cooked and over sweetend carrots,venison pie that hot hae to wait 10 mins.before it I could eat it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had booked to stay for one night in an executive room, but upon arrival we were told that the room was not ready - rather surprising given it was nearly 4 o'clock. However, we were offered complimentary tea in the lounge while we waited, and the next hour passed pleasantly enough watching the arrival of a wedding party. Eventually we approached reception again and were delighted to discover that we had been upgraded to a suite - what a shame it was only for one night!

It was a very comfortable apartment on the top floor; there was a large sitting room and dining area and a separate big bedroom with a large en-suite. The view over the car park was not the best but one cant have everything! There was plenty of storage space and the furnishings were very comfortable.

Minor quibbles were that the TV in the sitting room didn't work (not that we watched it, but I tried it anyway), the flex on the kettle was so short that we had to use it on the floor to reach a socket, and there was only one ordinary teabag on the tray. I found the duvet far to heavy and hot, so maybe a spare sheet or light cover in the wardrobe would be a good idea? We had had a window open but there was quite a bit of noise from the car park so we had to close it again.

We had an issue with the safety of the steps to the shower which we have raised separately with the hotel manager and trust that this will be addressed.

We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was excellent! It's served buffet style but there is plenty of choice and one can ask for anything extra. I really liked the little booklet on each table recounting the provenance of each food item, such a good idea.

All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly, helpful and efficient, and I would certainly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

i enjoyed coming here, northern Ireland is a beautiful area so i'd likely come here again and i'd be happy to stay here when i come back to Northern Ireland, the staff were great and the room clean and comfortable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Visited here recently for morning coffee and scones with fellow committee members( We meet here three or four times a year). The service is excellent and the staff couldn't be more welcoming.One word of warning, the scones are huge so share with someone unless you have a big appetite. We had pear and cinnamon scones on Saturday which were delicious - worth going back for that alone.
The hotel has a lovely ambiance, we always stay longer than is necessary. The location is great if you're travelling from outside town and there is a vast car park.
I haven't stayed overnight or dined in the evening but I would have no hesitation. If the evening meals are as good as morning coffee it should be excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Property: Stormont Hotel
Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing