We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stormont the Splendid”
Review of Stormont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stormont Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel where guests have every opportunity to enjoy a relaxing holiday with good food, good accommodation and friendly attentive staff on hand.

Our room had an extremely comfortable very large double bed with excellent quality linen and other available facilities which matched our requirements. The shower was simple to use (a luxury these days) and all the other usual resources (hair dryer, iron and ironing board, kettle, safe, tv, etc) were supplied.

The Bistro which seemed to be open whenever we required it provided excellent quality food in a pleasant environment and with some innovative and tasty options.

Breakfast, in the dining room, was also a pleasant experience with the usual wide range of options available. The dining room itself was bright and airy.

In the foyer and surrounds there were easy chairs and tables situated in such a way that small groups could have relaxed private conversations in relative peace and quiet over a drink, a cup of coffee or tea and with a tasty cake or biscuit. We found this area most useful.

The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly and this just added to the overall good feeling we had about the hotel and what it had to offer to visitors. Bar staff, restaurant staff and domestic staff were also, in the main, friendly, chatty and attentive.

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone. Very well done to all the staff of the Stormont Hotel. A hotel can be beautifully set out, well furnished and decorated, and clinically clean, but it is the quality of the staff which turns such a hotel into a pleasurable place to spend a few days holiday. Staff in the Stormont Hotel were excellent!

This hotel is worthy of a five star rating because it functions in such a way that guests will feel comfortable living, eating and sleeping there.

The hotel is also situated right opposite the wonderful Stormont Estate where there are wide open spaces, play parks, and also woodland walks.

It is always possible to make suggestions for improvement and the Stormont Hotel was no different in this regard. For example breakfast dining room staff might have been more attentive on occasions to removing used plates and to replenishment of food in the buffet. They may, however, have been short staffed on the days we were there. This is a suggestion for improvement not a complaint and if there was a very minor issue it did not have any effect on our enjoyment of breakfasts in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrywallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited the Hotel for dinner on a Sunday at around 1 pm. We had a room booked for 60 people for a private function. The room which was easily accessible on the first floor was beautifully laid out. The starter which was soup, tasted lovely and was very promptly served with the most delicious wheaten 'buns'........dinner was served shortly afterwards and although it was a simple chicken, vegetable and potato meal, it was absolutely delicious and was piping hot, even though there were 60 people to be served, it was done well and professionally. All in all i would definitely recommend the Hotel for friendliness, service, value and the food was excellent. Will most certainly be back:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrickfergusEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

One night business stay. Lovely hotel room with all the facilities you expect from a good quality hotel. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was spacious. Very surprised that the cost was only about £80 per night (plus £10 pre-ordered breafast or £18 on the day).

What was disappointing was the breakfast. Whilst it was reasonable quality, I thought the choice was a little limited for such a good quality hotel. However it was the service that surprised me most. Plates and bowls were not cleared as you finished eating from them, meaning you were stacking dirty crockery on you own table. Also the clearing of many empty tables was not particularly evident. This was at 8.15 - 8.45 am when the restaurant was not particularly busy. Staff were also particularly slow in offering tea/coffee and had to be approached directly. I have been told by those in the business that the speed of clearing dirty crockery is a visible measure of the quality of service.

Not the hotel's fault I know, but I also had other guests standing outside my room talking from 11.45 pm to 12.15 am until I finally got up and asked them to move. Which they did 5 minutes later!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_B-Billericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We had a warm welcome, lovely room and great food. The service was fantastic and everyone was always more than happy to help. The staff at reception were particularly friendly. The situation of the place was a little out of town, but as we had a hired car this was not a problem. We ate at the hotel restaurant and had lovely food, again with good service. I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0lid4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for business. Lobby area perfect for meeting colleagues. Rooms excellent, food good. Special mention for breakfast which is impressive - I loved the local touches such as the porridge which was excellent. Whilst I was here I attended a Charity Ball at the hotel and the organisation and food was brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanz_and_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really comfortable executive room with excellent facilities. Good supper and excellent service in bistro though the wonderful organic Glenarm salmon overwhelmed by the over cooked and soggy potato cake.

Then to breakfast served by anonymous staff. Wish I was back in Premier Inn where the buffet is explained to you rather than being left unattended at your table. Now I was looking forward to the Cornbrack Bee Pork Sausages with a hint of heather honey. Sorry over-chopped pork sausage giving a tasteless end result comparable with Crosse and Blackwell Sausages and Beans. And as for the black and white pudding...missing in action!

So a hotel that promised much and lived up to it in its comfort, but the service and breakfast and delivery of the menu promise let it down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Stormont for a long weekend for a family wedding. First impressions were great but there were a couple of small things that brought it down. We pulled up in the car and were met by a gentleman who took our bags and showed us to reception. The reception staff are amazing and couldn't be more helpful. We had several different things we'd asked for and everything was catered for with a smile. We were a little early to check in and our room wasn't ready so we went to the restaurant for lunch and all was fantastic. The room was nice but we had paid for a executive room so slightly bigger than the rest. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding amazing. On first glance the shower also looked superb but turned out it was just average and depending on the time of day not always hot! The rooms however were hot! Very! No air con and windows only opening an inch didn't let any air in. On the Friday we ate dinner in the restaurant and the service was were lacking! They didn't seem happy we hadn't booked. After ordering we were then left. No further drinks were offered or anything. We had to call someone over to get a bottle of wine and then again to get the bill. After receiving the bill we put our card on the table as normal but nothing. We waited and still nothing. My Daughter and I left as we were meeting some other people and my Husband sat and waited. We passed three waitresses all chatting and commented he was waiting to pay. One of the waitresses walked up to my Husband and told him "you know you can pay on your way out" she then carried on walking, walked past him and served him at the till. (The day before we paid at the table by card machine!). The wifi wasn't free which I find incredible in this day and age when you can get it on a bus! The wedding itself was amazing and I think the planner and staff did a fantastic job. Two downsides were the heat! The hotel is so hot the groomsmen were soaked and it was uncomfortable, and with a 2.5 hour break think teas and coffees could of been put on. We had a coffee but had to pay £4.00 per small cup of coffee! But saying that the staff were friendly and happily served us till 6am! I think it's a lovely hotel but a little over priced and disappointing. I will say though a massive thank you to the reception staff who are just brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 44 in Belfast
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#16 of 44 in Belfast
2,989 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stormont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stormont Hotel

Address: Stormont Hotel 587 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3LP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Belfast
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#15 Business Hotel in Belfast
#19 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £93 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stormont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stormont Hotel is situated in the leafy suburbs, four miles from the City Centre, overlooking Stormont Castle. Renowned for its professionalism, the Stormont hotel has 105 bedrooms and 15 conference suites. There are many attractions within close proximity to the hotel including the spectacular scenery of County Down, and over 20 golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stormont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stormont Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing