We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the perfect one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is the perfect one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Nothing to say, everything is perfec, since the room, untill the breakfast......


If you are in doubt to stay at Malone, just go. It cant be better.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sestrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Macklin, Owner at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Sestrem,
Thank so much for your very kind words. I see that you’ve travelled from brazil to stay with us and although may be unlikely your back again next weekend, we’ll hopefully see you back in the not too distant future!!!

Kind regards
Gareth & all the team @ Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    383
    155
    75
    46
See reviews for
269
497
43
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed there for just 3 day´s but we really enjoyed these days.
The appartment was very clean and comfortable and the staff on the reception was really helpfull to find a dentist for me because of an unexpected accident.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDobberstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Macklin, Owner at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Mr Dobberstein
Thanks for your kind review of our apartments after your recent stay with us. Obviously great to see that you found these to be so good, clean and enjoyable but more so, that the team were able to help with “the little extras”! hopefully that’s why many of our guests talk about the great friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Hope the mouth all ok now and look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Gareth & all the team at Malone Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

wanting an impropmtue one night break with my husband, i set about trying to find a good hotel deal. the Malone Lodge Hotel were offering Bed, Breakfast and 4 course evening meal for £65pps. Set in a leafy suburb close to Botanic Gardens, Ulster Museum and bars and shops, the location was perfect. the hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff were so helpful. We were allocated the Executive Suite, which is situated in the building opposite the main hotel. initially i didnt like the thought of this but once i saw the suite i thought it was fab. Dinner that night was fab and again the waiting staff were excellent. There was agood buzz inthe lobby area with plenty of people having a late drink. Again the breakfast the following morning was excellent. Overall I would definetly reccommend this hotel and would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Macklin, Owner at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Hi Carrie
Thanks for your review after recent stay. I’m glad you enjoyed your room so much in our suites. Some people do say like yourself, they’re anxious about such arrangement but as you found, i think the quality of the product is worth it!

The team were delighted to hear about your thoughts on service and breakfast which is regularly commented on and great so see that you’ll be back soon!

Kind regards
Gareth & all the team at Malone Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We arrived thinking we had a hotel room. Our room was in a terraced building across the road. When I asked the girl at the front desk if I could get breakfast to our room she said certainly. If you come and collect it and cary it across the street yourself. We went for breakfast in the morning and waited half an hour to have our order taken. The people beside us had the same problem and even had to send their food back to be re cooked.
We had booked a long weekend and when we arrived on the Friday we were told breakfast was until 10.30. On monday breakfast stops at half nine. It would have been nice to have been told this on the friday, as the Chef was more interested in having a smoke than serving us breakfast, he point blank refused to cook and the poor waitress just looked very confused. This is only the start. The room was about 70 degrees and we had to get a fan sent from reception. The room wasn't cleaned properly and I expect in a 4* Hotel usually they change the cups and glasses. NOT HERE. I've stayed in better 2* Hotels. I could go on. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: If you do stay here make sure your room is in the actual hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneithmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Macklin, Owner at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
I have just read your review after staying with us and as the owner of Malone Lodge, I was very upset to read about your stay with us. However i was more shocked as there seemed to be several mentions towards the staff’s lack of customer service and friendliness as this is something that is almost always talked about when you read all previous reviews (even where we’ve made mistakes). However if you found this to be the way, I must totally apologies to you.

I have investigated the matter fully with my senior team and unfortunately am slightly confused to who you seen out in our smoking area as none of our breakfast team smoke. Either way, your expectations and stay were not as you’d hoped for and would ask only one thing that you would please contact me as you’re profile page does not show your details and as we’ve no record of any complaints over the weekend, it’s impossible for me to contact you to fix this problem.

Therefore if i could ask that you contact me directly on gmacklin@malonelodgehotel.com or 028 9038 8011 as would like to speak to you personally about your stay.

Kind Regards
Gareth Macklin
Managing Director Malone Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I have nothing negative whatsoever to say about the Malone Lodge, the room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly, efficient and more than willing to help with any queries I had. I would definitely recommend it, and will hopefully get the chance to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Macklin, Owner at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Hi Carla,
Was delighted to see the title of your review and that you were so happy after staying with us. As an independent hotel, and as a team, we all work very hard to try and look after our guests extremely well and it’s great when we get such good feedback.

As i see your from Cork on your profile, with the great roads up, I know it’ll not be too long before your back up to see us and certainly let us know your coming as we’d love to see you again soon
Kind regards
Gareth & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

we stayed here in july this year on the romantic retreat package that the hotel offered. our room was across the road from the main hotel building which i thought was a bit strange but we were more than happy with the room when we saw it it was a suite apartment with its own living room and jacuzzi bath the bed was massive and very comfortable. the only drawback was there no room service available as it wasn't in the main hotel but the champagne and jacuzzi more than made up for that. we had dinner in the restaurant which included in the package the food was great and the service excellent all the staff were friendly and very helpful and always smiling nothing seemed like too much trouble for them. breakfast the next morning was a little hectic but as all the food is freshly cooked unlike other hotels we have stayed in where its served in a buffet but again it was worth it knowing that it was all freshly cooked.
overall we had very good experience and would definetly recommend this hotel anyone one tip though is make sure you take the upgrade to the executive rooms its well worth it despite the restrictions of not being in the main hotel. I'd like to thank the management and staff for making our stay so enjoyable and would also compliment the management of the hotel on how friendly and efficient the staff were during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalot36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Macklin, Owner at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Travelsalot,
Thanks very much for the time you took with your review. I see that your profile name is very appropriate considering you’ve visited 71 cities! However it’s great to see that you found your time with us, to be of such a high standard.

As you can see, our hotel is very unique in that we’ve several blocks of accommodation all beside each other. Great to see you chose our executive suites block and found it to be so good. This is regularly commented on by guests and gives just that extra feeling of luxury and comfort.

Next time your back, we can arrange for you to be in there again or maybe you can sample of our other 110 bedrooms!
Thanks once again and see you soon
Gareth & all the team at Malone Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Only issue with this hotel is no pool (due to its location in a brownstone neighbourhood) and hot rooms at night. Service a little slow in the restaurant and bar compared to North American standaards but food well worth the wait time.

Great clean room and close walking district to some good pubs or just a safe walk around the neighbourhood at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrlanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth_Macklin, Owner at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thanks for your recent response and delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and service so much. unfortunately our facilities do not extend to a pool but i hope you did manage to take advantage of our leisure centre and sauna.

i see that you've travelled from a long way off to stay with us and maybe by the next time your back, we may have rectified the pool situation.!

either way, thanks very much and hope to see you back some time soon
Gareth & all the team at Malone Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Property: Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#13 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotel. Our newly refurbished Knife & Fork Grill restaurant can accommodate up to 80 guests and was ranked in the top 5 steak houses in Belfast recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Expedia so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing