We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect base to explore Belfast and the Antrim coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I spent a weekend with my family at one of the Malone Lodge's apartments. We came to see the new Titanic exhibition (worth a trip for this alone) and to drive up the coast to see the Giant's Causeway.

The apartment was spacious, clean and recently decorated. The kitchen was outfitted with all the usual appliances (electric hob, microwave, fridge, kettle etc.). The simple groceries (bread, milk, juice) which were there when we arrived was a nice touch. There were plenty of spaces in the underground car park and on the quiet street outside.

The hotel and apartments are close to each other and are on a tree-lined avenue of redbrick houses near Queen's University's beautiful campus, the Botanic Gardens and the Ulster Museum. The city centre is an 8 min walk or 2 min bus/taxi journey.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a very good selection on the breakfast menu, the Ulster fry really sets you up for the day. We ate dinner here one night and both food and service were excellent.

We had a great time on this trip and wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin_Fin_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have just returned from a weekend spent at this hotel with a friend and the experience was disappointing - the pictures on the website are not a true reflection of reality and misleading to the customer. Our room, whilst bright and quite large, was tatty with stains on the carpet and a covering of dust on the windowsills and the table by the window. We were at the front of the hotel which was noisy with people partying and returning home in the early hours and also with traffic as Eglantine Avenue is quite a busy road. Service at breakfast again lacked detail, cutlery missing on the table, serviettes missing from the table, fizzy grapefruit and the worst omelette I have ever had. We had room service dinner - I ordered scampy and received battered shrimps!!On a positive, the staff are friendly and it is a good central location, however there is no private parking and major building works next door.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliJoLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights in May 2012 in an executive suite in main lodge. Room is very spacious and it is tastefully furnished. Carpet was a little bit tired looking and chair upholstery needs good cleaning, yet overall the room was great. Bathroom was very big - bathtub and shower stall. I wish they had more shelving for toiletries in the bathroom. We found just enough space for 2 toothbrushes and a toothpaste on a bathroom shelf. Location was good - about 15 min from downtown and near Queen's University. University Road had plenty of inexpensive restaurants. Staff was courteous and helpful. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuliya-world-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We booked this hotel because it stated it had free parking, upon arrival we were informed the parking was street parking as they were still building their parking lot. Very disappointed as we had to park several blocks away. Rooms were very large and clean. Location is within walking distance to university.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kull0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

stayed in 2 bed appartment for weekend.Arrived at 9am off flight and were kindly allowed into our appartment early by friendly Rachel.Really good to find a welcome pack of bread,milk,cereal, tea and coffee sachets and even pure orange juice.They even replenished the cereal and towels and made up the beds the next day!Couldnt ask for better service.
Only 10 mins from uni and another 15 from centre but taxis are only about 4 pounds wherever you go in centre so why bother walking!Will def be going back here to stay.Lovely comfrotable flat and well worth the money paid.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business recently and having stayed in many top hotels in Belfast at the same price I was looking forward to my stay. First impressions were good but sooned turned rather sour. Building site next door woke me at 7.30, then to my horror I had to deal with a breakfast menu rather than self service. 25 mins after ordering it arrived, nothing special. Rooms small compared to other hotels in area but evening meal was very nice in the bar. Could do with a bigger lift, 2 people and it's full. Overall it ain't bad but it ain't as good as the site suggests. Could be though.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymomdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The double room and en suite was spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV with freeview and tea and coffee facilities which are important to me. The only downside for me was that it was an interior room with one window looking onto a little corridor and there was some occasional loud noises above my room but not enough to prevent me from sleeping.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, I definitely rate their service and would stay there again.

The area is good (near the Botanic Gardens and University) and just a short bus ride/long walk into the centre of town. The Orchard Cafe, around the corner on the Malone Rd serves great food and is very cheap, so we didn't spend the £15 for breakfast at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairbair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,610 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#16 of 45 in Belfast
2,998 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £80 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotel. Our newly refurbished Knife & Fork Grill restaurant can accommodate up to 80 guests and was ranked in the top 5 steak houses in Belfast recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing