We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have stayed several times at the Malone Loge and never been disappointed. By U.K. standards it is excellent value for money: large rooms, clean, elegant, friendly staff and good service. I come on business, but this time my wife accompanied me, and she was very pleased too! This is a good hotel and I would not consider staying anywhere else, as you know what you get with the Malone.

Just be aware that it is a 25 minute walk to central Belfast from the hotel, not an unpleasant one, but remember this is Northern Ireland, so you could get wet! Since the hotel is near Queens university, there are plenty of eataries around if you want a change from the hotel dining room, although this one is good.

Only two provisos: the lobby and restaurant are rather hot and stuffy - better air conditioning would be a bonus. And there is serious building work going on with the hotel being extended at the back - a sign of its success. Having said that, we were not disturbed in our bedroom. But you may want to ask for a quiet room (there are several).

I would comme again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
There are newer reviews for Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

There was not free Wi-Fi ,. Breakfast was good but it was a little pricey
Managed to get a deal so good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our stay was for one night and although we had no plans for going into the city centre, we wanted a central location and Malone Lodge offered this. We had stayed before and therefore expected good service.
We had booked online for an early check in and on arrival at the hotel were automatically upgraded from a standard double to an exectutive suite. Although this suite was not in the main hotel, but across the road this was appreciated as there was some building work being carried out in the vicintiy of the hotel.
The suite was modern and tastefully decorated and was more than adequate for our needs, also boasting a fridge, with fresh milk for a cup of tea (much better than the normal pots of UHT milk)
We had food in the bar and were offered the restaurant menu. Food was excellent and the bar had a good ambience.
Breakfast was super - a good selection of cereals, breads, pastries, fresh fruit and yoghurts and the cooked breakfast was made to order.
The hotel has off street parking, however due to building works, it could not be accessed and we had to park on the street outside the hotel. Given that the hotel is in a residential area and close to the city hospital and city centre, parking on the street can be difficult and we did have to 'go around the block' before getting a space, but under normal circumstances, the car park is adequate.
Overall, our stay at Malone Lodge was excellent and we will definitely make a return stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms are across the street from the main hotel, however all boast access ramps and lifts
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Beautifully decorated throughout in modern elegant style. The executive room was spacious and very clean (even the top of the wardrobe had been dusted!). The bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel exceeded my expectations with facilities such as a jacuzzi bath in the en suite, fresh milk (i.e. not UHT cartons) in the mini fridge and also complimentary chocolate bars!
The prices at the bar were reasonable with plenty of squishy sofas to relax in. There was a good range of items on the breakfast menu, although we didn't have dinner in the hotel (there were so many other restaurants nearby). We would stay again!

Room Tip: Go for the executive room!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thunder345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed at the Malone Lodge for 3 nights and was very pleased with my choice. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The public areas are very comfortable and pleasantly decorated. The food and bar prices are reasonable. It is well placed for all the tourist trips - the tour buses will even pick up from the hotel. Taxis ordered from reception arrive almost straightaway. It is slightly out from the centre of Belfast but is well served by bus routes from the ends of the road, and taxi fares are reasonable (£4 to the centre). I have no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would definintely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank BelfastPennyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have stayed here two or three times a year for the last four years on business. Normally it is pretty standard and run of the mill and I do not feel the urge to review. However, this time was different. Two nights in June and I was upgraded to an exec room in the building on the opposite side of the road. I had been put there once before into a fairly standard room and the privacy and tranquility there appeals. This time I was allocated 605 which is a huge cavan of a room. There is a full kitchen with washing machine, a sitting room, a full bathroom with separate bath and shower and a vast bedroom. In fact, the place was so big I almost got lost! The decor is OK - wallpaper pealing here and there and the carpets to altogether scrupulosity clean, but a very pleasant stay.

Breakfast was over the road in the main building, but you need to be careful when you get there. At busy times, it can take an age for the hot food to arrive. It is nice when it comes, but it can take a while.

In all, Malone Lodge is a nice functional hotel. Staff are great. It needs some cosmetic tarting-up, but it very convenient and I, at least, know what to expect.

Room Tip: Room 605 is huge!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just spent 3 nights at The Malone Lodge Hotel Apartments. Whilst the apartments were not in the hotel, they were in a good location for visiting Belfast, not far from city centre which could be reached by bus, taxi (cheap) or walk. Also nearby plenty of restaurants and convenience stores.
The apartments were spacious (2bedroom) with 1en-suite and very comfortable beds. The kitchen facilities were good, the furniture and carpet in the sitting room could do with updating, seemed a bit shabby. In saying that, the rest of the apartment was very clean and serviced everyday that we were there. Another added benefit was the secure underground car park, it was great to park up and explore what Belfast had to offer with the assurance your car was secure. The main negative, was that it woul appear that groups had booked apartments for the weekeend for the purpose of serious partying, very noisy on the Friday and Saturday night, loud music etc and some concern with the amount of broken glass on the entrance steps on the Saturday morning. Sunday night very quite. Great facility for a break, concern regarding the parties, could over time give a very negative impression which would be a great shame.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 44 in Belfast
1,587 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,948 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#17 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £79 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotel. Our newly refurbished Knife & Fork Grill restaurant can accommodate up to 80 guests and was ranked in the top 5 steak houses in Belfast recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing