We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff let down by a few indifferent ones!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great staff let down by a few indifferent ones!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Last time we stayed they were in the middle of a huge refurbishment so it was great to come back and see what a good job had been done. Reception, Bar and Dining areas look fantastic. Room very comfortable and complimentary water a nice touch.
Breakfast was exceptional with great choice of fruit and tasty, well presented,freshly cooked hot food served to table. Waiter was very friendly and helpful.
Only gripe we had was the manner the bar was closed up and handed over to night porter. It might have been better to have informed clients that the bar will close, offer option of a final drink and explain who will look after any further orders and where you can sit! A 'softer', more customer friendly approach maybe? Residents should not be thrown out of the bar by a grumpy, unsmiling girl in a suit who obviously wanted to get the till closed and door locked as quickly as she could! Aided and abetted by a grumpy bar man!
On the up side this is a lovely area of Belfast to stay - close to centre but nice and quiet with easy parking. It is a pity that an overall good experience can be marred by the bad attitude of a few.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi FermanaghKeys,
So glad to hear that you really had exceptional breakfast .We want to be exceptional at all things in the Hotel. I am completing training with the team and hope that the experience that you encountered does not happen again and that all residents get a final order call prior to close up and hope that this is not an issue in the future again. Hope to see you back soon at the Malone Lodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    392
    162
    79
    49
See reviews for
283
514
45
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in the Malone Lodge Hotel for two nights to attend a sporting event. The rooms are very nice and kept clean. The staff here are very helpful and even recommended nearby restaurants for us. The location is great - plenty of restaurants, bars and shops just around the corner. There are only two small faults with the hotel. The first is that the car park is not signposted (its down a very narrow 'lane' at the side of the hotel and is very small - there is an underground car park available also but no signage for it. The second is that the chefs poached eggs are very runny - even if asked for well done. Go for your eggs scrambled if you're squeamish! Otherwise the food and service are excellent. Would definitely recommend for a central place to stay in Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy_blue_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi ziggy_blue_dog,
Thanks for the really constructive feedback. I will be taking time to ensure that we do sign post our Car Park and shout about it as it is a real luxury to have one at a hotel especially in the city! I will also pass you comments on to the chef in regards the eggs so that the next time you come to stay you will be loving them! Hope to see you back again soon in the Malone Loge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say, I cannot fault this hotel, we stayed for 2 nights and the service we got from Daryl on reception was faultless, original room did not have a bath and after a very difficult day I asked if there was another room with a tub, we were upgraded to a suite with a jacuzzi. The suite was lovely and just what we needed. The staff at breakfast were great and food lovely. Reception helped print off boarding passes etc, overall above and beyond what I've had at other hotels.
Will return to the Malone on my next trip. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi CarrieRobinson
It is always a pleasure to hear such great feedback on the team and the Hotel and that you took the time to pop it on Trip Advisor is just Fab!
We cannot wait to see you back for your next stay and hopefully Daryl will be there to wow you again at check in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family stayed in an apartment earlier this month. Initial impressions at check-in are that it's a wonderful hotel. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately the experience in the apartments does not come close to matching the impression the hotel gives. The apartment building is surrounded by run down and grimy streets that are certainly not very welcoming. Once we walked into our apartment (202) we realised we had made a mistake. The carpets were not clean and badly need replacing. In fact the whole apartment needed a thorough refurbishment. The signs of wear and tear are everywhere, poorly regulated shower fittings, lamps not working. We are not clean freaks by any measure but we would not contemplate letting our children walk around barefoot.
After a broken nights sleep due to a young man buzzing the wrong door bell we were woken around 8am by the sound of the garage roller door opening and closing a few times. If you stay in 202 you are directly over the roller door and you will not sleep if residents are entering or leaving the building by car. Thankfully we were only booked in for one night, we would not have stayed for more.
On a more positive note at check out I was asked if we had a pleasant stay. When I outlined the issues we had the reception manager (Marta) dealt with me in a very polite and professional manner. I wish I had read the reviews on here before we had booked the apartment.

Room Tip: Avoid 202 as you are over the roller door into the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddysFamilyOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi PaddysFamilyonTour,
I am sorry that you did not have a wonderful experience in our apartments. We are working tiresly to ensure that we keep our standards high not only in our Hotel but also the Apartments too. We have since your stay ensured that a deep clean of the rooms you stayed in has been carried out. We have also done retraining with the Front office team on allocation of rooms. I am glad to hear that Marta was able to deal with your complaint in a professional manner and we do hope to see you back again soon to show you the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here last wkend for my b/f's birthday....Everything about the hotel is fab from check in to check out....we stayed in an apt across the road from the hotel and it was warm,clean and spacious...would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalaa438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks so much for your great feedback I will be sure to pass it on to all the team here at the Malone Lodge Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I dont know where to start to review this hotel. Prior to our arrival we were helped immensely via email. Then on our arrival we were greeted by the friendliest staff. We arrived in our room to a beautiful fruit platter because the staff were aware of the reason for our stay. It was a beautiful touch. The room was state of the art with the extra little touches I had never seen before! The bed was super comfy and it was a large sized room. The shower was so powerful and just so refreshing! We dined in the hotel restaurant and it was stunning as was the breakfast on the following three mornings. You could see the food being cooked, the staff were a wealth of knowledge about the area and always willing to guide you in the right direction.

Room Tip: We were at the front no noise, and very warm and cosy! couldnt comment on the other rooms but i gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marandpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi marandpad,

Thanks for the excellent review. We try to offer exceptional experiences to all our guest and ensure that the little touches we provide allow you to see how much we really care about you and all our guests. I am so glad that we were able to cater to all you needs and made you stay so wonderful. We hope to see you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for 4 days using it as a base for a family wedding with my wife. Having read many reviews I had an idea of what I may find but I actually found my expectations exceeded, particularly by the staff who were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble, they are attentive but not intrusive, friendly and deliver a excellent customer centric experience. I rarely highlight individual staff but feel that it is important to mention Suzy in the restaurant along with her staff , not forgetting the very friendly 'ex pat scouser' running breakfast and Vijay who ensured that I was supplied with perfectly poured pints of Guinness using telepathic powers. When we arrived at the hotel after a long drive from Liverpool via the Cairnryan ferry we were upgraded to a rather nice suite which was a very pleasant surprise and made the stay even better. Food was very good and plentiful and service was quick and efficient despite the restaurant being busy. Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone and am actually going back on Easter Monday for another wedding and will be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aweegem, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Jim F,
It is so great to hear such wonderful feedback on you stay here in the Malone Lodge Hotel and especially that the service you received from all the team was first class. We endeavour to provide all our guests with an exceptional experience and for you to mention individuals is so exciting. Thank you for the wonderful feedback again from all the team here in Malone Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Property: Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotel. Our newly refurbished Knife & Fork Grill restaurant can accommodate up to 80 guests and was ranked in the top 5 steak houses in Belfast recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing