We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Piltown, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Belfast stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The holiday inn is a nice hotel to stay in while visiting belfast. it is close to all the sights by car, the hop on hop off tour bus picks up outside. we stayed 2 nights 2 adults 2 kids (15 and 9) family room. good price. breakfast included. I like this hotel because alot of hotels if the kids are over 12 you end up booking 2 rooms. The only let down when we stayed was a few people coming down for breakfast in their P J and then going outside smoking in them. (this is not a good image) i would give it 7/10 and would use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    515
    211
    62
    53
See reviews for
283
396
57
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a good hotel if you like to visit Belfast. There are maybe better hotels in Belfast but the price quality from this hotel is good. I was here from 14 until 16 July 2012. The things I like on this hotel are the nice and clean rooms and clean bathroom. there is also a free secure parking and the breakfast was also good. The reception and the bar are also clean and give you a welcoming feeling. The shopping streets are @ walking distance about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I'll keep this brief...
The Good Points: Price, Free overnight secure parking, Near the Uni but a bit of a walk from the centre and tourist parts, Reasonable breakfast, Nice bar, Reasonable size room, Clean
The Bad Points: The beds, The beds The beds (and some drunken woman screaming at 1.30 in the morning but I can't put that down to the hotel!)

Sadly two nights of roll together on a poor quality, springs sticking up sagging mattress let the place down and outweighed all the other good points as it was after all a place to get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Sleep on the floor and avoid roll together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pajtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear pajtk,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. It is nice to know that you found our property clean. However, please accept my sincerest apologies for unacceptable sleep quality you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. This issue will be addressed immediately. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I was very impressed with the reviews for this hotel and duly booked it for myself, husband and two children, one of whom is a huge fan of Titanic - aged 12, the other being aged 9, for four nights. However on arriving at the hotel we were extremely disappointed. There were roadworks outside and it just did not have that hotel feel! We went to our room and were so disappointed. It was extremely small for a family of four and the view out the window was appalling - fans jutting up from the roof! There was no storage space - simply an area for hanging a few clothes - no drawers or shelves. It was extremely hot at night and noisy - must be very thin walls between the rooms. The first night a couple were simply talking in the next room but we could hear practically every word they said until 12 o'clock!. Another night, we were up ourselves looking at photographs from the day and talking and laughing quietly when somebody from the next room knocked on our wall - presumably we were keeping him/her awake! Another night, an extremely noisy stag party woke us up at 3 a.m. in the morning shouting and banging doors! The breakfast was also disappointing. We had to do everything ourselves, including making our own tea and toast which was extremely slow. We asked for a fried egg the first morning as all that was available was scrambled eggs, but we were told this was not an option! The reception area, bar and dining area were all the one and one basically ate and drank in the hotel lobby and reception area. The only good point was that the hotel had a display of some titanic memorabilia which my son was interested in and they were at reasonable prices.

All in all, I feel this hotel is basically for a short stay and not meant for a family holiday. The facilities are basic and we certainly put off going back to our room each evening until as late as possible! However it was very clean and good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
460 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is a good hotel to stay in and very reasonable price wise. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stay here 3 or 4 times a year when I visit family in N.I. The hotel has a fresh, modern feel to it and the rooms are tastefully decorated. I have always found the staff to be very helpful and welcoming, and would highly recommend this hotel. Although it is 15 minutes walk from the city centre, nearby Botanic railway station has a direct link to Belfast City Airport in around 10 minutes, which is convenient when arriving in Belfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a view over the leafy street. Rooms at the back, although they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeDreadful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a great place to stay right in the heart of the university area, great bars and a stone throw from the centre. Ask the "locals" where to go for some good traditional Irish music and they will direct you to "Kelly's Cellar" bar, not for everyone but you will see some interesting memorobelia hanging in this pub ! Along with some interesting characters along the way.
The Holiday Inn Express is a great place, clean, comfortable,afordable and a brilliant breakfast thrown in. Would definately reccommend if looking for the above mentioned.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing