We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exactly what we expected”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We've been to plenty of HI express before, and had no issues here. The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and set out as we needed. Breakfast was fine, the self-service buffet includes hot food now and is all the better for it. We tried a few different brands of hotel during the trip, but should probably stick to what we know suits our family, and this brand generally delivers.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    517
    215
    62
    53
See reviews for
286
398
58
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We found this hotel excellent value for money, we needed two joining rooms and this was no problem. We found the staff efficient, friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent with a varied choice. We had a lovely dinner and the kids thought their dinner was delicious. The room was clean and suited purpose. I would have no problem staying in this hotel again. Belfast is a wonderful city with fantastic people and I will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I thought this hotel was an excellent value. Breakfast was hearty and tasted great. This was an extremely handy way to start the day since we didn't have to wander around or think much in search of food. Plus it was available until 12 which I thought to be a generous serving time, as other hotels I've stayed in in the past would stop food at 10 am or 11.

Free Wifi was available at a strong signal and it was close to the city center. Cab rides would cost me just 5 pounds or so to get me where I needed to go throughout Belfast. Free parking was available too which was very very handy since we had rented a car to travel north with.

The rooms were spacious and clean as were the bathrooms. The beds were comfy.

My only complaint was that people were quite noisy. They'd hang in the parking lot in the evening making drunken noises. Also the cleaning staff was very very noisy as they let the closet door on the floor slam shut every time they used it. This was very loud and would sometimes wake us up in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitsuneOmajinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel clean and fine to stay if heading off early and not returning till late. Breakfast very good. Unfortunately the night porter had to move linen trollies at around 3am, of which we heard every single movement for what must have been half an hour. However the area is decrepit and run down, for a capital city, the evening life or entertainment was non existent, in fact good bars and restaurants are in short supply. Things to do in Belfast...go to titanic museum then get out of there to beautiful giants causeway and stay up in that direction. Would not return to and certainly would not recommend Belfast to visit

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micassg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Totally hated staying in this place.There was nothing that I liked about this hotel.The location was bad, the decor was awful, no toiletries, breakfast was substandard.The rooms were tiny and the beds really small,.If you didn't open the windows it got really stuffy, as there was no fan or air-conditioning and if you did then it was horrendously noisy! very bad!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettydaizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear prettydaizy,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It's nice to know that you found our staff friendly. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Next time you decide to visit your friends and family in our area again, I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed here in July 2012 with my husband for a 2 day break after travelling to Ireland for a Bahá'í Summer School - last year we had flown straight back to England without seeing the City. I chose Holiday Inn Express as breakfast was included - other establishments charge the same without breakfast. This was very good value, with self-service full-English, Continental, drinks and free newspaper....
The room was clean and comfortable, with t.v. and WiFi connection, and staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is just a short stroll, past Queens University, to the Botanical Gardens and the Ulster Museum. Lots of small restaurants on Botanic Road. Check-out time is 12.00a.m., which allowed time for another museum visit in the morning...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Writing this at 3am as I lie in a rather uncomfortable bed in a hot room with half the hotel guests apparently having a drink and a smoke outside my room. And the other half seem to be in the bar downstairs which closes at 3. All quiet in the room next door but that's probably because they're in the bar too. Want a good nights sleep? Don't come here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuppateam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Cuppateam,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during the first phase of the building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking facilities nearby during this time. The hotel car park will re-open for guests in Autumn 2017. Please speak to a member of our team at any time during your stay for any queries or concerns. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to bringing you our enhanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing