We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Second visit here stayed 4 years ago, stayed 7 nights with other hockey players so took up most of the hotel rooms, along with other teams, security gate entry for car parking, always a bonus, friendly welcome from reception staff, had room at side of hotel, so no traffic noise was heard, room very warm with no a.c. but saw you could ask for a fan, very small hanging space for clothes with a shelf above and one other shelf under desk so storage space limited no drawer space. Bathroom had a great mirror above the basin so ideal for doing the make up, room cleaned to a high standard, clean towels daily or reused if preferred, you are given the option. Breakfast buffet style (you help yourself) juice, cereal, yogurt, fruit all on offer, then sausages mushrooms beans and scrambled eggs, toast tea & coffee, Enjoyed our visit, nothing to really complain about, a nice hotel very central. within walking distance of Botanic Avenue where you are spolit for choice of cafes. restaurants, shops etc, great location :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dundeetravellermrshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

for an express holiday inn, its offers everything you will need. the location is not bad either, walking distance to main attractions like the Titanic, the Odyssey, the St. Georges Market etc. the neighbourhood though is not the best aesthetically but they have the friendliest of staff ive ever come across!

Room Tip: its in a relatively quiet location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while at a wedding in Belfast City centre. Staff were friendly and the free parking meant I felt my car was safe all weekend. Breakfast was average - sausages were nice though. The room was nice. It was clean and had a comfy sofa, and the TV was easy to work. It is within walking distance to Botanic area which is known to be rough and rowdy at weekends, however I felt quite safe. My room faced out onto the main street and it was noisy at times but once I closed the window, it was fine. I would definitely use here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silveroscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Silveroscar,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Everything is good about Holiday Inn Express. The staff is very polite and helpful.
The rooms are excellent. We certainly made a very good choice in selecting Holiday Inn Express.
just one thing, we would like to see more choice of vegetarian breakfast, e.g vegetarian sausages !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

hotel was clean and comfortable. staff friendly, breakfast buffet was nice but a bit disorganized as they did not provide trays and had to make two trips to table. had evening meal one night very poor food served and not good value did not eat there for rest of the stay apart from breakfast. bed is flimsy but dont be put off i slept well, shower is great, overall i enjoyed the stay. a clean hotel near city and from this point is was a great base for our holiday. i would use the sister hotels in other uk destinations

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear lorraine o,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed for three nights to see Belfast. The room is a good size and the bathroom is ok.
We were on the first floor. Noise from out side was not to loud and we faced the main street.
The main criticism is that the room was very stuffy and the window could only open a small bit.
The staff were friendly. Meals were ok. We ate in the resturant one night. Steak wasnt to bad.
Parking is limited and tight spots to get in and out.
There are plenty of pubs and resturants just up the road and city is about a 20 min walk.
All in all OK. we would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Tys63,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Firstly, don't let the surroundings put you off. It is in the university quarter of the town and the street and surrounding areas are a bit run down. That coupled with some youths drinking White Lightening (or similar) outside it did put us off a bit. However, the worst was yet to come....
I had booked some weeks before and when allocated room no. 315 (top floor) we were delighted as we naturally thought it would be quieter that any other of the areas of the hotel.
How wrong I was....
When we got into the room I immediately detected a rumbling sound - like hearing an underground train. I went into the bathroom and all the chrome was rattling as were anything that went on a shelf.
I soon gathered it was from a generator on the top of the building. I went down to Reception to explain but the Receptionist gave me the impression she had no idea what this could be and would send someone straight up - well, 30 mins past and as no one came up I called down. By this time it was the night staff who, when I explained my complaint he said he was aware of what it was, confirmed it was the generator and when I asked to move rooms was told the hotel was full.
I wasn't happy and could hardly sleep due to this ambient noise. In the morning I brought this up with the Duty Manageress who was apologetic and explained these had been recently upgraded generators and, as they were working better were a bit more noisy. I queried why did hey allocate these rooms knowing this issue and was greeted with a blank stare. At least I got £25 off my bill (which was decent of them).
Breakfast were fine except the coffee machine is yuck!!! Would I stay there again - no way !

Room Tip: Dont sleep on the top floor !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosko14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Rosko14,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise during your stay caused by the generator. We will look into this point. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 45 in Belfast
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,634 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park is now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing