We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff! Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed two nights in Belfast. The location was great in walking distance to the ulster museum on the one side and the centre on the other side (10 to 15 min by feet). I have read that the area is not the best of Belfast but we did not experience this at all (maybe it was because we were there in weekdays). Moreover, parking your car is included in the price. Be aware that the entrance to the parking lot is narrow.
The staff was extremely helpful, they gave us a map, told us about the city sites and could have arranged a black taxi tour if we wanted to.
The room was not the best but you should not expect that for a price like this. Breakfast was decent with even croissants and chocolate rolls. They are very quick in taking your plates/cups. I wanted to take another tea and use the same cup. But when i came back with some fruit to the table, the cup was already gone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0bert1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I only could make 2 slightly negative comments about this hotel. Firstly, the in-room TV did not have RTE available on it. Maybe I am being parochial, but as Belfast would draw a lot of guests from the Republic of Ireland, surely it would be catering for guests to offer one or both RTE channels? Lots of other hotels in continental Europe usually would offer TV channels from neighbouring countries. Secondly, the tables at breakfast were a bit grubby with crumbs and other detritus. It would be useful if there were miniature bins on the tables for wrappers of cereals.
Otherwise, I was extremely happy - the bed was comfortable, the room spotlessly clean and the hotel in a good location close to pleasant bars and restaurants. The city centre was also close. I would certainly go back if in Belfast again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As the title says, the staff was great. They were responsive and always willing to help with anything. The bed was not that comfortable, it was like there was a sink hole in the middle of it. I felt like I was sinking the whole night. The doors slam shut when you close them so you will here doors slamming throughout the night. The breakfast was your normal continental spread, not the best but it fills you up. I would actually give it 3 1/2 starts, if they fix the bed and do something about the slamming doors then this place would be excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillsgrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear hillsgrr,

Thank you for your candid feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We regret to hear the bed was not to your liking. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortfalls.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Second visit here stayed 4 years ago, stayed 7 nights with other hockey players so took up most of the hotel rooms, along with other teams, security gate entry for car parking, always a bonus, friendly welcome from reception staff, had room at side of hotel, so no traffic noise was heard, room very warm with no a.c. but saw you could ask for a fan, very small hanging space for clothes with a shelf above and one other shelf under desk so storage space limited no drawer space. Bathroom had a great mirror above the basin so ideal for doing the make up, room cleaned to a high standard, clean towels daily or reused if preferred, you are given the option. Breakfast buffet style (you help yourself) juice, cereal, yogurt, fruit all on offer, then sausages mushrooms beans and scrambled eggs, toast tea & coffee, Enjoyed our visit, nothing to really complain about, a nice hotel very central. within walking distance of Botanic Avenue where you are spolit for choice of cafes. restaurants, shops etc, great location :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dundeetravellermrshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

for an express holiday inn, its offers everything you will need. the location is not bad either, walking distance to main attractions like the Titanic, the Odyssey, the St. Georges Market etc. the neighbourhood though is not the best aesthetically but they have the friendliest of staff ive ever come across!

Room Tip: its in a relatively quiet location!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while at a wedding in Belfast City centre. Staff were friendly and the free parking meant I felt my car was safe all weekend. Breakfast was average - sausages were nice though. The room was nice. It was clean and had a comfy sofa, and the TV was easy to work. It is within walking distance to Botanic area which is known to be rough and rowdy at weekends, however I felt quite safe. My room faced out onto the main street and it was noisy at times but once I closed the window, it was fine. I would definitely use here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silveroscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Silveroscar,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Everything is good about Holiday Inn Express. The staff is very polite and helpful.
The rooms are excellent. We certainly made a very good choice in selecting Holiday Inn Express.
just one thing, we would like to see more choice of vegetarian breakfast, e.g vegetarian sausages !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,368 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 44 in Belfast
1,585 reviews
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £66 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during the first phase of the building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking facilities nearby during this time. The hotel car park will re-open for guests in Autumn 2017. Please speak to a member of our team at any time during your stay for any queries or concerns. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to bringing you our enhanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing