We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nothing like it seemed on the website. The area was awful and run down. It was described as being in a lively and vibrant area. This could not have been further from the truth. It is too far out of town and a taxi was required to get to the centre. The bar was tiny and just an extension of the reception. The main doors opened out practically knocking you over! The rooms were quite nice. They were spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was just adequate. This was poor value for money in general and basic facilities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is located in a residential area that does house some university students and we are only a short walk from Botanic Avenue, Botanic Gardens and Queens University. However, I am glad that you found the bed comfortable and the rooms spacious and well decorated. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    509
    209
    62
    53
See reviews for
281
392
55
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I found Holiday Inn clean comfortable and fortunately our room 101 was peaceful. This is my 2nd stay here and would recommend it. Free parking an asset.
Drawbacks- not enough wardrobe hanging space. Needs hooks for coats. Also decaffiinated tea bags.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and peaceful stay. I am also delighted to hear that you would return, when you do please don't hesitate to come to the desk and the staff will be more than happy to try and accommodate any requests that you have (like extra hangars and decaffeinated teabags!). We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was clean and comfortable. The room was a good size and the bathroom again was adequate. The reception staff were helpful and breakfast plentiful. I was working at Queens University and this was a ten minute walk away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Twizwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am pleased to hear that the hotel was clean and you had a comfortable stay. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the free breakfast and the staff were helpful. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Modern branded hotel to south of city centre but within 20 mins walk of Cathedral Quarter. Clean well decorated modern comfortable rooms. A bit open plan and downstairs for eating but breakfast buffet was good. Staff very helpful in accommodating a bunch of cyclists and their bikes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigHCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate your bikes! I am also very pleased to hear that the staff were helpful and you enjoyed your free cooked breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good mini break stay, clean rooms with a good free breakfast. Clean communal areas, bar and lifts etc. Staff friendly and free wifi. Great location.
We booked two double rooms and received one double and one twin. Got an apology but no real explanation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpinningJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the hotel clean and in a good location. I am also delighted to hear that you took advantage of our free cooked breakfast and free WiFi. I am disappointed to hear that you did not get the room types your requested, if you would like an explanation please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location, has been upgraded and much better layout than before.Parking available.Good breakfast, good rooms at a good price. Wifi facilities. Poor selection of beers in bar but plenty of alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amrwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you took advantage of our free WiFi, free cooked breakfast and free parking, we love that we can provide all of these at no extra cost! We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Overall great experience, but disappointing that there is no refrigerator or microwave. The front desk staff is excellent and the service is great.

***The only thing I would say is ALWAYS keep the lock on your door! On a few occasions I had staff (not cleaning staff) knock once and open door immediately. Luckily the first time it happened I was decent and on my computer. I think it VERY rude to not wait for a reply from inside of the room before automatically opening the door!!!!! After the first time I was walked in on I ALWAYS kept the door locked and STILL I got the ONE KNOCK an DOOR OPENED! Luckily I had the door locked. As a woman alone I didn't feel safe that this was happening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivaSiva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am pleased to hear that you had a good experience overall and the staff were friendly and helpful for you, however I am concerned about the issue that you had. Could you please contact me on fom@hiexpressbelfast.com with your reservation details so I can investigate further?

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#16 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#20 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing