We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpark Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carpark Nightmare”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here Friday 4th July - Hotel lovely, food good, location excellent the major downfall was the carpark
The entrance to the carpark underneath the hotel was that narrow that my car would not even go in through it. The car park outside - the ramp up to it was that narrow the sensors in the car were bleeping, If I thought getting in was bad omg what a nightmare getting out. They have yellow boxes with no parking at the top of the ramp, some stupid person had parked their car there and there was no room to turn at all.
Complete nightmare getting out of the carpark

So my advice is stay if your walking or taxi but don't take your car

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belfastcity189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am happy to hear that you found our hotel was in a good location and enjoyed your food here. We do have building work going on at the moment which will extend our car park but I do understand that this limits parking at the moment. I am sorry that you experienced some difficulty when parking and I do hope you will return to try our new and improved car park!

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    517
    219
    62
    54
See reviews for
289
400
59
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

6 night stay May 2014: The hotel was situated about a 10 minute taxi ride (cost about 4 pounds) outside of the city center in the Queen's University district. Therefore, it was either short taxi ride, bus ride or long walk to most of the city center attractions. However, there was a nice street with good restaurants and shops nearby to the hotel called Botanic Avenue that was helpful for grabbing a coffee or a meal prior to or after the days sightseeing. The hotel itself was very dated with the bathrooms being in especially bad condition. Additionally, a number of the staff seemed to be local university students who did not seem to care much about customer service - for example, one night I asked the front desk person to help me with booking of tickets for a show and he told me that I needed to do it myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagobostonmunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am glad to hear that you found us in a good location and Botanic Avenue had lots to offer. I am disappointed about your comments regarding staff and the hotel itself. The hotel was recently renovated and our housekeeping team work extremely hard to ensure high levels are kept. I will pass on your comments to the appropriate staff and I do hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great staff who were really helpful. We were well looked after for our gluten and wheat free requirements. Their free kids meals offer also much appreciated. Loved the power shower when I got it working.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead Foodforl... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that our staff we able to cater to your requirements and you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here with my 17 year old son for his birthday in March, we were very pleased with the hotel. Although it's about a 20 minute walk from the city centre, as we were on a budget the walk from the town centre to the hotel was straightforward and we managed to find a fantastic Italian restaurant on the way (another good review coming up!).

The room was very clean and comfortable and also quiet, we were at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was superb with staff constantly ensuring the containers were kept topped up. Good Wi-Fi as well - kept my son happy.

Reception staff were really friendly and helpful too, thank!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsmith_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of some of the great restaurants in the area. I am also delighted to hear that you took full advantage of our free cooked breakfast, we think it's the best way to start the day. I am pleased to hear that our free WiFi kept your son happy, we know how important it is these days and I am also pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

this hotel was not what we expected the area was rundown loads of student flats surrounded the hotel so it was very noisy.The housekeeping was not to a very good standard we had to ask for toilet rolls,more coffee as it wasn't replaced and the shower gel was empty.the staff were helpful enough but it was annoying to have to keep asking for things that should have been done automaticallyWe later stayed at the express in Antrim and this was what we expected of Holiday inn

Room Tip: front rooms are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laneyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am extremely disappointed that the Housekeeping was not up to standard during your stay, we pride ourselves on maintaining an extremely high level of cleanliness and service and I will pass on your comments to the Housekeeping Manager for her to follow up with the staff. In regards to the areas, we are located in a residential area which does house some university students but we are also a short walk from the lively Botanic Area. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nothing like it seemed on the website. The area was awful and run down. It was described as being in a lively and vibrant area. This could not have been further from the truth. It is too far out of town and a taxi was required to get to the centre. The bar was tiny and just an extension of the reception. The main doors opened out practically knocking you over! The rooms were quite nice. They were spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was just adequate. This was poor value for money in general and basic facilities.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is located in a residential area that does house some university students and we are only a short walk from Botanic Avenue, Botanic Gardens and Queens University. However, I am glad that you found the bed comfortable and the rooms spacious and well decorated. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I found Holiday Inn clean comfortable and fortunately our room 101 was peaceful. This is my 2nd stay here and would recommend it. Free parking an asset.
Drawbacks- not enough wardrobe hanging space. Needs hooks for coats. Also decaffiinated tea bags.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave you review about your stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Belfast. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we do take note of all reviews left.

I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and peaceful stay. I am also delighted to hear that you would return, when you do please don't hesitate to come to the desk and the staff will be more than happy to try and accommodate any requests that you have (like extra hangars and decaffeinated teabags!). We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Grace Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,301 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,532 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter

Property: Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter
Address: 106 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Belfast
#25 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is a modern 3 star hotel nestled in the centre of the lively Queens Quarter area in Belfast. The hotel is a welcoming, contemporary and stylish hotel, with competitive rates that are the obvious choice for both the business and leisure guest. The hotel is located in the beautiful and entertaining Queens Quarter which is within 2 minutes walk of the many restaurants, bars & cafes of the popular Botanic Avenue & within walking distance of the historic Queens University. Belfast city's main shopping & business areas are all within walking distance including the fashionable Castlecourt shopping centre and Victoria Square shopping centre. Belfast has fantastic and fascinating major tourist attractions and the Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter is situated close to many of these including Ulster Museum, SSE Arena, Crumlin Road Gaol, Titanic Centre & Botanic Gardens. The Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter offers competitive rates and Complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas & a traditional cooked buffet breakfast is included and served by our friendly staff from 7am until 10am. The hotel has 114 ensuite bedrooms which are attractively designed & offer flat Screen TVs, radio, telephone, free wifi, power shower, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There are six well equipped meeting rooms all located on the ground floor, seating up to 120 people. There is a bar & restaurant serving delicious food at great prices. Holiday Inn Express Queens Quarter benefits from excellent transport links and The Great Victoria St bus & railway station is within 5 minutes, whilst the M1 & M2 motorways are also within short proximity. The hotel is a short taxi ride from the George Best City Airport & the International Airport & Ferry Terminals. Please excuse our appearance as we enhance our hotel for the future. We’re investing in our hotel and extending our bedrooms to offer our guests more comfort & choice. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, so we will aim to keep construction disruption and noise to a minimum. Our onsite car park will be unavailable during the first phase of the building works. Guests are welcome to utilise on street parking facilities nearby during this time. The hotel car park will re-open for guests in Autumn 2017. Please speak to a member of our team at any time during your stay for any queries or concerns. We thank you for your understanding and look forward to bringing you our enhanced facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Belfast City Queens Quarter Hotel Belfast
Holiday Inn Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing