We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belfast City Backpacker Hostel
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Cannot recommend this place enough! It's fantastic, just a little bit out of the city centre, but there's a bus stop less than 2minutes walk from the front door or the staff are more than happy to call a cab for you.. If you are traveling with friends or have other guests to share with it works out as cheap as the bus anyways. The hostel is very modern with everything you need, its also very clean and tidy. The beds are really comfy, had a great nights sleep! They even provide free earplugs encase you end up rooming with a snorer. If your Belfast bound give this place a go! You wont regret it!!

Room Tip: choose one of the bigger dorm rooms, most people tend to choose the 6 bed dorms so they fill up quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hostelqueen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City-Backpacker, Manager at Belfast City Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thanks for your review, we are really glad you enjoyed your time in Belfast. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've stayed 10 nights and will be back/ will recommend to others coming to visit. I stayed while looking to rent somewhere permanently having never been to Belfast before. Absolutely fantastic. Clean, homely, lovely kitchen where I could cook my own food and extremely good value for money. Staff are excellent and really helpful. Also a really good mix of ages using the place.Great recliner chairs in the sitting room too and good internet downstairs.

Room Tip: I was in the ensuite at the top of the stairs rather than a dorm which may be a bit noisier particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City-Backpacker, Manager at Belfast City Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thanks so much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had a very enjoyable time at this hostel, very clean and modern. One of the best I have stayed in. Great value for money and the staff were very helpful and has a real homely atmosphere. Would recommend any one to stay here!!! I will definitely be back. :]

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire8492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City-Backpacker, Owner at Belfast City Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thanks Claire for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This place is truly great, the guys here really make you feel at home with fantastic rooms, showers that always have hot water no matter what time you decide to shower and wifi throughout the hostel, breakfast is pretty standard with a selection of cereal and toast, beds are very comfy with plenty of storage for your stuff in the room

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank actorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City-Backpacker, Owner at Belfast City Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thanks for your review. We are very glad you felt so at home and enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in 8 bed room, clean, bright, god value, nice staff. All in all a good experience, we will use it again. The reception communal area us like a hotel lounge only more like home.
Free wifi as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TirnanogonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City-Backpacker, Owner at Belfast City Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights here and it was quite nice. We were greeted warmly by Arn and had a good laugh at the "language barrier." He was very helpful and printed maps for us and was always welcoming. We stayed in a 10 bed room which was very nice we got good spot next to the window and it wasn't too loud at nice. Bathroom wasn't the nicest but was functional. Only complaints are that the kitchen/breakfast doesn't start till 8 which is a bit late for those who want to get an early start. Also as others have noted its quite a haul into the city center but its in a nice neighborhood so that almost makes up for it. Overall good stay nice solid clean hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Went for a weekend with a mate. Excellent service, clean rooms, nice showers and also includes breakfast. Located just along from Queens University with lots of pubs in the area. Thought it was great value for money.

Well definitely stay here again when back in Belfast.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 45 in Belfast
1,416 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Belfast International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen's Quarter
Paddy's Palace Belfast
Paddy's Palace Belfast
#30 of 40 in Belfast
261 reviews
Golden Mile
City Hub Apartments
City Hub Apartments
#19 of 40 in Belfast
79 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Lagan Backpackers
Lagan Backpackers
#11 of 40 in Belfast
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfast City Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfast City Backpacker Hostel

Address: 53-55 Malone Avenue, Belfast BT9 6EP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: £13 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belfast City Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Belfast City Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing