We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have gone elsewhere!”
Review of The Causerie

The Causerie
Ranked #289 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Should have gone elsewhere!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Went recently for a family meal, it was after Christmas so the restaurant wasn't busy at all. (Not even half full)
It took the staff ages to take our order, infact one of our party actually had to flag the waitress down and ask her to take our order.
Although it was a long wait the starters were nice and we all enjoyed it, however the mains were really salty, there was good number of us and all of us commented how salty the foods were. We all got different dishes so it wasn't just one particular dish. Overall, I would not be back there again, it was terrible service by waiting staff and food was even worse!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuShi_luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    13
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dreadful Experience”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I along with some visitors to Belfast had the misfortune to dine in this establishment last night for a pre theatre meal. What a dreadful experience it was from the uninterested and ignorant staff to the very poor quality of the food, for example when was the last time that you had half of an onion served with a fillet of Salmon with two half potatoes with the eyes still in them?. The Thai curry was very dry and had the unusual addition of celery in it, plus the risotto was congealed!.

With the choice of restaurants now in Belfast, please don't waste your hard earned money in this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedric11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Venue, Great Lunch, Great Service”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife, who is the Voluntary Regional Organiser for Northern Ireland, organised a lunch at the Causerie for 24 HOST UK volunteers.(These volunteers all accept weekend/Christmas/Easter weekend visits from International students studying throughout the UK). I am a volunteer.
Throughout the planning stage the restaurant manager,Stephen, went out of his way to be totally helpful, nothing was a problem, he even provided an alternative menu to the December Christmas lunch menu. The Causerie, which is in the Europa Hotel, is one of the most accessible in Belfast,close to the railway station and bus centre and beside secure parking. The meal was enjoyed by everyone, the service was impeccable, and very discreet. Everyone had a very enjoyable 2 hours and were very pleased with the quality of the lunch and the value for money. The manager ensured that all requests were promptly and cheerfully met. It was a most succssful lunch. The Causerie provides a great venue, great food and great service...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Really good restaurant in central Belfast”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had lunch here Friday afternoon. Charming staff. Good selection on the a la carte menu and food well presented and hot. Price of our two course lunch, with coffees came to £41.00 - not bad, and it was long and leisurely. Why I have not given it 5 is because (1) in a fairly empty restaurant the table next to us was then filled with another two people when there was lots of space elsewhere. (2) our water was never renewed - no carafe and just a single glass each (3) it would have been nice to have had a lunch menu at a fixed price and may have attracted more people in.
It is a nice restaurant and it is well worth going to - but I hope that this honest feedback may give the management "food" for thought if you'll forgive the pun

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A lucky chance”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Visited bar at The Europa for cocktails - very good. Requested a menu for the restaurant and it looked so good we asked for a table for four which being a busy Sunday night was a bit of a chance but we were seated within 15 minutes. Service was very good and food and wine were to very high standard - if a tad pricey. Would highly recommend especially for a sunday evening when a lot of eateries are closed.
Based on ur experience am surprised it isn't ranked higher.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Causerie also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Causerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing