We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windermere Guest House
Ranked #12 of 52 Belfast B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Some nice restaurants in the area. For the price it is a good deal. Conveniently close to the bus heading downtown. Excellent staff very helpful and professional -- very helpful suggestions.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank J0nathan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

A great room at a great price. Near the bus to town. Several abandoned and shut up houses and buildings on the block made it less appealing to come and go.
Lots of room inside the room; clean and well-kept (shared) bathrooms.
Nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly. It was quiet at night and in the morning you get a great english breakfast. The citycentre is not to far and easy to reach in some minutes by bus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonaMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I booked a room on Booking.com, and even though the pictures there and on the website make it look more inviting than it is, for £34 you really can't complain.
The shared bathrooms and toilets were spotlessly clean (though it wouldn't hurt for previous showerers to rinse over the floor when finished) - free wi-fi was difficult to obtain on the top floor and the walls between the rooms are exceptionally thin.....I can stay home and be kept awake by someone snoring, I am not keen on paying for the privelege! Hopefully whomever was in room 9 understands why I kept banging on the wall :)
Breakfast was nice though the kitchen missed out my beans and brought toast when I said no thanks, not a major problem but I was the only one down early for breakfast so it shouldn't really have been confusing.
The bed was comfortable in my small room, but I didn't need much more space, tea and coffee was provided as was a small flat screen TV.
Please be aware that they only take CASH! - It can be a bit embarrassing when it comes time to pay.
I would advise taking either the bus (£1.90) or a taxi (£3.80) from town as the walk with luggage is a little tedious. The area is quiet and close to some lovely shopping on the Lisburn Road. All in all, good value and I would stay again but will ask for an en-suite room next time.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms make it hard to get a wi fi signal, rooms nine and ten have a thin adjoining wall so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The owner met us at the door upon our arrival and was very helpful in pointing out local restaurants and points of interest, including the Botanical Gardens and Queen's University. The room was bright and clean, although the shower was the smallest that this reviewer has ever experienced! Having said that, there is a large bathroom down the hall for those that aren't up for the challenge! The Irish breakfast that was served was filling-just what you need for a long day of sightseeing and shopping! All in all an excellent choice for a brief stay in Belfast!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Recycle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Great location, very walkable to restaurants, pubs. Only complaint is the size of the shower.. We had a room with twin beds and the shower was small. I can't recall the room number, and it might just be our bad luck to get get the room with the small shower.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I chose to stay at the Windermere guest house because I was looking for something very cheap but comfortable for the night as I was staying over in Belfast ahead of a job interview. I booked a single room at £34 through laterooms.com. The pictures of the hotel on the website portrayed a smart looking guest hotel. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed when I arrived; the hotel is very basic, quite tiredness and in need of a real lift. That being said, I can't complain a great deal given the low price I paid. The old adage 'you get what you pay for' springs to mind. Yet in retrospect, I probably would have paid an extra £10 and stayed somewhere cleaner, more comfortable and presentable in a more convenient city centre location. The Windermere is a good 20 minute walk or so from the city centre, and feels like more with a heavy suitcase. On the positive side, the hotel manager was very helpful and friendly as were all the staff. Breakfast was very basic but did include a cooked Irish option. In summary, very cheap and not especially cheerful in a so-so convenient location close to the university, but probably fine is you on a budget and passing through.

Room Tip: I had the single room on the top floor (?). It had no ensuite but was right next to the bathroom - c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
The Crescent Townhouse
#29 of 47 in Belfast
503 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 47 in Belfast
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Gregory
#2 of 52 in Belfast
647 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Harpers Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Greenmount B&B
#15 of 52 in Belfast
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Guest House

Address: 60 Wellington Park, Belfast BT9 6DP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windermere Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windermere Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing