We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, okay room, nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pearl Court Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, okay room, nice service”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I wasn't sure how many stars to give to this guest house. It is in a nice location two minutes walk from the Queens University, so if you have business to do in the university, it's a very good location. The house itself is massive, and I believe there are about 12 rooms here. The dining room looks nice and modern, and the lounge is not big and is connected to the dining area but comfortable enough.

There is no reception, and I had to call the number on the door to figure out how to get my key, but it was easy enough. The staff came to see me later to see everything was alright. The twin room is in the third (top) floor, and the bathroom and toilet are in the first floor, so that was inconvenient, so bear this in mind when you book. In fact, we asked whether we could pay extra to move to an ensuite room, but the management kindly upgraded us to an ensuite room, since it wasn't a busy time. We very much appreciated that. The water pressure was good, despite being in the top floor.

The rooms are a bit tired, and on the small side, but for a short stay for a couple of nights, it was adequate enough.

The breakfast is good, with cold ham, bread, pancakes, toast, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea.

You can borrow adapter, hair dryer, iron, alarm clock etc etc from the small office next to the lounge.

I think despite tiredness of the rooms, given the price, location, and service, it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: When booking twin rooms with shared facilities, be prepared to walk down two stairs because you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ephemere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    67
    34
    16
    13
See reviews for
26
45
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The owner(?) phoned me before we arrived at the guesthouse. She gave me instructions on how to get my room key, the access code ; then after that texted me with the clear instructions. Good service.

Although never met any staff throughout my stay but I did not mind. In fact it gave me a sense of freedom of movement!

The reception area was well-lit and nicely decorated. Loved the first impression of the hallway. Dining room looked good. Got a room at the top floor due to last minute booking. The view from the windows was just roofs of other buildings! Room was a bit old and tired-looking. Relatively clean. Curtains are not functioning well as the room was too bright at 7am! Floor is slightly creaky in the morning too.

Did not try breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Breakfast was excellent bacon , eggs , ham , , but we have some problem with accommodation , they don't have people in reception i ll make telephone call and they explain how we proceed ( we find rooms key and house key in some fiset After some door ( they give to us code to fiset ) .
It is near to Victoria Train station 4 stops with Metro bus 8 a, 8B , 8C .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBineata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Seasoned travellers, and always looking for good value for money, we booked for 4 nights in an en-suite twin bedded room. We weren't disappointed. Clean, comfortable and VERY friendly. Good access to restaurants, cafes, bars, museum etc etc. Okay, we may have had a few stairs to climb to our room, but after the wide choice for breakfast (the wheaten bread is fantastic!!) we needed to do something to get rid of the calories!! We intend to come back here in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank 114AnneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We travel with our daughter and were delighted to have a large room, well lit with three comfortable beds. Breakfast was perfect and served to order. Owner was extremely helpful in helping us plan our limited stay. She even drove us to a local stone circle.Right across from a fabulous art museum. nearby restaurants more than met our desires.

Room Tip: We had a bay window, which added lots of lovely light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I've stayed here quite a few times and each time it's been clean, comfortable and the service is good too.
It's close to the Ulster Museum, Botanic gardens, Queens University and there are lots of good restaurants and bars in the area
Breakfast is lovely and worth it just for that :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelleMB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Needs better housekeeping,spent other nights in Holiday Inn was cheaper and far superior....no hot water at Pearl. Thank goodness it was only one night. I'm a seasoned traveller ,this is my first negative review.
Overpriced and shabby.No outside lighting.unmanned accomodation just doesn't work.won't book this type again.I' m sticking to hotels only!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruitloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,331 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen's Quarter
Botanic Rest
Botanic Rest
#28 of 50 in Belfast
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Court Guesthouse

Property: Pearl Court Guesthouse
Address: 11 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RT, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Court Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl court Guesthouse is a delightful Victorian townhouse located on the Malone road in the heart of Belfast's Queens quater and a short walk from the city centre. We are ideally situated for exploring Belfast and particularly nearby attractions including the Ulster museum, Queens university and the Botanic Gardens. We have 10 comfortably furnished bedrooms with complimentary cooked and continental breakfast as well as 2 self catering apartments with free WIFI throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Pearl Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing