We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B!!!!!!!”
Review of Avenue Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenue Guest House
Ranked #4 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at B&B in UK & Ireland for many years and this one just top on my list! Everything just perfect, room is clean, bed is comfy, owners are super friendly and the breakfast is just lovely! Definitely will come back next time I visit Belfast !

Cheers,
Gloria

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriaWong711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    31
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
60
154
63
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my dad and overall my experience was fantastic. Alice the owner is lovely and made the time on several occasions to chat at length with us about how our trip was going. The room we stayed in was lovely, with the beds in particular really comfortable. The room also came with lots of nice wee extras such as shower gel/ shampoo and tea making facilities which was a nice touch. The breakfast included was also brilliant with great choice. Overall for what we paid for this guest house it was hands down one of the best I have ever stayed in. Will definitely be coming here next time I am in Belfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

For the last 8 years or so, my husband, our now 13 years old grandson and myself have travelled from Dublin to Belfast at least once a year to watch a Giants game ( ice hockey team), skate in Dundonald, visit W5 etc... We always stayed in the same guest house where it felt like visiting relatives and were heartbroken when it had to close down. We had lost our home in Belfast! Fortunately we were able to book a room at The Avenue! And what a find! The whole house exudes charm and comfort with great attention to detail. Our room was very spacious, spotless and a pleasure to return to for a good sleep. Breakfast was excellent with more choices than in most B&B. Finally, last but not least, Alice's warm welcome and interesting conversation made us feel we had truly found a new home in Belfast !

Room Tip: Triple room, 1st floor at the front of the house was brilliant but I am sure they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamker046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

On a recent 2 day business visit to Belfast I decided to try Avenue Guest House in place of the usual soulless city centre chain hotel experience. Alice has a home and business to be very proud of. Genuine warmth and hospitality, excellent facilities (suitable for the business traveller as well as leisure guest), a good quality cooked breakfast - and all in an excellent location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Avenue Guest House is a lovely Bed and Breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay, Alice provides brilliant hospitality and delicious breakfasts. Cosy lounge and quaint outdoor space, it is also in an ideal location for exploring Belfast City.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidays1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was wowed by the warmth of welcome and comfort that Alice Kelly offered us at the Avenue in January 2013. On my return visit in November, I appreciated all this - and the elegance of the ambience - even more. The extras which are not available elsewhere add up to make a huge difference: many electrical sockets (for all those electronic devices) conveniently accessible throughout the room; an international adaptor, just in case you forgot your own; a DVD player (with DVDs available in the living room). In addition to the always-appreciated kettle a little fridge, so useful for a longer stay. Chocolates generously laid out on side tables in the hall; unusual breakfast requests readily supplied. The location is excellent, with cafés, banks, launderette, supermarkets at a stone's throw on the Lisburn Road; the Queen's quarter with huge range of restaurants and tourist attractions within 5 minutes' walk. The cleanliness and comfort of the rooms are of the highest standard. Alice goes out of her way to make your stay exceptional; this is the best B & B I know!

Room Tip: The street is quiet so all the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a unit in a long terrace of houses on Eglantine Avenue, looking just like any other. Inside, it’s luxurious not pretentious, quiet not dull, modern not trendy, showing a good taste in design. The exact combination I like to see in a high quality B&B.

I saw two rooms where my mom and I stayed in mid-November. Both were rather spacious, very clean, with a full range of facilities. Alice (the host) was most welcoming and offering good options for breakfast. This B&B indeed added much comfort to our three-day stop in Belfast and helped us tune to a good spirit to further explore Northern Ireland.

If you travel without a car (as we did), you may wish to study your public transport options in advance. The Eglantine Avenue is between the busy Lisburn Road and Malone Road. Buses run frequently on both, so getting to the central areas of Belfast is not an issue. However, a bus ride back to Eglantine Avenue is a bit more challenging as some bus routes deviate from Lisburn or Malone roads. Take care!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirill_Muradov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 44 in Belfast
1,500 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Guest House

Property: Avenue Guest House
Address: 23 Eglantine Avenue | Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 6DW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Lisburn and Malone roads, Avenue House is a completely refurbished Victorian Townhouse with original features retained and restored. Located in the leafy suburbs of South Belfast’s University area - 5 to 10 minutes from the city centre. 2 minutes from main bus route and within easy walking distance of The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens, Queen’s University, restaurants and bars, Avenue House is ideal for all visitors, whether it be for a short break, overnight stays or business trips. Queens university is a five minute walk from Avenue House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing