We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in convenient location”
Review of Avenue Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenue Guest House
Ranked #5 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

One of the best B&Bs we stayed at in all of Ireland. Room was spacious, very clean, and charming. Hosts were lovely and breakfast was delicious. Ample parking on the street available nearby. Location was quiet and within walking distance to the city centre. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Alice our host made our stay at the avenue very pleasurable. So friendly and hospitable. The avenue is about a 10-15 minute walk at a steady pace from the city, but there are local bars and restaurants too. One good thing to note is that Eglantine Avenue (where this B&B is located) is on the route of the hop on hop off tours, very convenient.

We stayed on the top floor, a bit of a trek so if you're not too good on your feet ask for a lower floor room. Our room was small but more than adequate and even had a fridge - the shower room was also small but again more than good enough! One thing I would have liked was a fan, probably not the norm in Belfast but the weather was so good it was hot up there on a night - that said the weather was unusually good!

I think one of the tell tale signs is that "The Avenue" always had a "no vacancies" sign on the door, enough said here - I know why it is so highly rated. £ for £ The Avenue was brilliant, Alice is a lovely host and the B&B has many nice touches to it...breakfast was delicious!

If you can get a reservation here, do it. Belfast is a great little city and the coastal drive is out of this world.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On our arrival we were met by Steven and shown to our room, Steven updated us on some of the local area bars and restaurants etc. Our room was spotlessly clean and lovely, we were on the front of the guest house but there was very little noise from the traffic, we didn't have a problem parking outside/close to the guest house. Breakfast was very very nice and plenty of choice, Alice was very attentive to all our needs. We had a lovely stay and felt at home and that nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be returning to stay with Steven and Alice again and will recommend the avenue guest house to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here 2 nights with friends and had two rooms. We had a lovely 'bay window' room - both rooms had ensuites. Other couple' room was smaller. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, breakfast very inviting. Location was excellent and owners very friendly and helpful. Neighbourhood, very leafy, parking tight. We walked to nearly pubs for dinner and gardens nearby. Collected the 'hop on bus' nearby. Would recommend for a stay in Belfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a "bay window" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Probably the most comfortable of the 5 B&B's in Ireland we stayed in.

I was a bit skeptical as we arrived out front of the B&B's. The neighborhood did not look the best at first glance. The street is lined with Brownstones most of which don't look the best, but upon closer review I could see the most were being renovated.

This is located very close to several colleges and more food places than I could count. We did not there, but there was one restaurant called 'Thai Tanic', My wife was craving Italian or we certainly have tried it.

Our host was very sweet and gave us great directions to an Italian restaurant that was only a 5/10 minute walk away. The area was filled with college student wrapping the school year. All that we encountered were very friendly.

My wife enjoyed the area so much we discussed staying an extra night, but could not make it fit into our schedule.

Our host was wonderful and left out the best chocolates for us to snack on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Totally amazing and friendly place to stay in the best location. The owners are polite and helpful. Very centrally located beside botanic gardens and queens university. Totally amazing room - clean bright and very spacious. Will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen Conal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I really enjoyed the Avenue B&B - the room was lovely, very comfy beds and really bright with leafy trees framing the views. The house is very handy for Queen's Uni, so I was able to stroll to the cinema easily, and the breakfast (Full Irish, obviously) was delicious!

If I'm ever back in belfast, I will stay at the Avenue

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,640 reviews
The Gregory
#2 of 51 in Belfast
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Guest House

Address: 23 Eglantine Avenue | Lisburn Road, Belfast BT9 6DW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Lisburn and Malone roads, Avenue House is a completely refurbished Victorian Townhouse with original features retained and restored. Located in the leafy suburbs of South Belfast’s University area - 5 to 10 minutes from the city centre. 2 minutes from main bus route and within easy walking distance of The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens, Queen’s University, restaurants and bars, Avenue House is ideal for all visitors, whether it be for a short break, overnight stays or business trips. Queens university is a five minute walk from Avenue House. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing