We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pub with a hotel attached”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Benedicts of Belfast
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A pub with a hotel attached”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Spent two sleepless nights at this hotel due to the noise factor from the bar. A previous reviewer noted that the management of this hotel needs to make up it's mind whether it caters to the hotel patrons or the bar patrons. After staying here, it's official. The bar patrons win. Four months prior to staying here after reading the reviews, I contacted the hotel and requested a quiet room and was assured that my room was as far as possible from the bar noise. At 11 pm sharp the live music starts and continues well past 1am. I made multiple calls and was told by management that they would ask the band to "turn down the music". Of course this didn't happen. I was told that the music was only two nights per week and I would be fine the next night. Later another staff member told me proudly that the hotel has daily live music. I asked to be moved and the second room was just as loud. The manager Gary was apologetic and gave me a discounted rate, but I would much rather have had a decent night's sleep instead. If there is a quiet room here, I couldn't find it. If you need your sleep for an early appointment in Belfast, you might want to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Good luck looking for a quiet room. I don't believe they have one.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseKatie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    291
    81
    27
    21
See reviews for
149
598
54
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We are repeat customers with Benedicts on each visit staff have been great! From the initial booking and during our stay we find the Staff efficient, friendly, approachable and there are always plenty of staff around which makes it a completely hassle free experience.
We are fans of the £120 deal with bed, breakfast and dinner included if you ask me this is such an affordable deal with no compromise on quality!
The rooms are clean, spacious, nicely decorated and the beds are comfortable. The restaurant and bar both serve excellent food, portions are perfect and you never feel rushed. Breakfast has a buffet for your cereals, fruit, fruit juice, yogurts, toast etc but I love that you still have a served hot food breakfast off menu.
The bar is lively and always has live music or DJ of some variety. The whole establishment caters for all! Hens, stags, couples - old and young! Less than £5 takes you to the city centre where you having shopping, shows, concerts, cinema or anything Belfast has to offer! There is no better place....We would happily recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Splurge for an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Sunday 18th aug with the "champagne Sundays" offer. Buy a bottle of champers for £70 and get a free room with full breakfast for 2. There were 3 of us incl my 12 yr old daughter so we got an executive suite with a pull-out sofa bed for her. The room was brilliant; spacious and very trendily decorated, totally spotless and complete with jacuzzi bath :-)
We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely - our starters incl chilli squid which was cooked perfectly and the pork belly, this was over seasoned a wee bit with the star anise but otherwise very nice and crispy. Mains included the salt n'chilli chicken , fillet steak, cooked perfectly, and the monkfish which was gorgeous also. Staff are all lovely and cheerful and it was a pleasure - will def be back as its a great place to stay on Sunday nites. Only 1 downside, while the room was gorgeous and totally soundproofed from the outside and the bar below, there was no air con and the fan the hotel supplied was insufficient as the room was roasting at nite. But apart from this, would totally recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights, mid week.
Excellent service from friendly, helpful staff (had an incident with a shower leaking from the room above - it was all sorted out within 1 hour). Bed was the most comfortable ever - wanted to take it home. Rooms very spacious. Location was good: approx. 5 minutes walk into the city centre & numerous restaurants within walking distance. Food was 5 star quality: best food we had in Belfast. DJ in the ground floor bar 10pm - 11pm and then live band until 1am. Even though our room was on the 2nd floor, we were not disturbed by the entertainment (could barely hear the band). Only one slight problem: there wasn't a net curtain on the window, only heavy curtain - we were overlooked by apartment block on a very hot day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FridayFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in Benedicts in July/August 2013. On the up side: the bed was deliciously comfortable, more comfortable than our bed at home, as were the pillows. Best place we slept out many hotels & b&bs. On the down side: the housekeeping was Not Good. There was a thick layer of dust on the back on the bed and in the corners of the bathoom (this in one of the so-called 'executive suites'). There was No Air in the room: the windows opened about 3 inches wide and No more. We had to ask for a fan, but even with the fan, the air was limited. The theory behind the windows appeared to be Keep Air Out of the Room. Irish hoteliers don't realize that it gets HOT in Ireland and the rooms get unbearably stuffy.

The breakfast/eating area is the ugliest I've ever seen (of about 30-40 hotels). There, too, air is lacking. At meals and at the front reception desk and generally, the staff was not unpleasant but not excessively helpful. They tended to give incomplete or inaccurate answers to questions, not out of unkindness but out of ignorance or lack of training.

Nevertheless, Benedicts was better than other hotels I've stayed at in Belfast. But I would never stay there again in the summer, because the pervasive airlessness was unpleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Excellent food, excellent service, excellent location. Food and drink orders were collected quickly and regularly and all food brought to the table in record time considering there were 16 people at our table. Good value for money and great quality!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1100CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were really warm and friendly, the food was lovely and very reasonably priced, the room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean with lovely comfortable beds. We loved the bar area which had a great atmosphere and we came back late at night for fantastic music from a band called "The Untouchables". We loved the atmosphere and everyone was so friendly - we could not believe it was so busy on a Monday night! this was our first time in Belfast and we loved it and want to come back again very soon! By the way there is a special offer on at the hotel at the moment where you buy a bottle of champagne and get one night's b & b free!!

Room Tip: We had an executive room which was light and spacious. Lovely bathroom with spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryann73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
2,401 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
2,370 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benedicts of Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benedicts of Belfast

Property: Benedicts of Belfast
Address: 7 - 21 Bradbury Place | Shaftesbury Square, Belfast BT7 1RG, Northern Ireland (Formerly Benedicts Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#5 Family Hotel in Belfast
#19 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benedicts of Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Benedicts of Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benedicts Hotel Belfast
Belfast Benedicts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing