We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent meal at Benedicts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benedicts of Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Benedicts of Belfast
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Another excellent meal at Benedicts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited Benedicts on Thursday 31st July. Once again we had an excellent meal. When we went in, the restaurant was very busy. We were greeted by Alex who had lovely welcoming smile and showed us to our table. Our waiter Albert was excellent - so attentive, professional and friendly. A really enjoyable evening, with a delicious meal and friendly efficient staff. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    288
    79
    27
    20
See reviews for
143
589
54
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I was rather underwhelmed when I arrived at the front of this hotel as from reading the many gushing reviews on TA, I really was expecting so much more. The hotel entrance is not clearly signed meaning many people (myself included) end up walking through the public bar before arriving at reception. Not a big issue. Receptionist was helpful and friendly and check-in was easy enough.

The single lift has seen better days and smelt strongly of takeaway food (fish and chips). My room was slightly above average and not badly appointed though the decor was not to my taste at all. Cleanliness was hit and miss but on balance just about acceptable. The king size bed was not the most comfortable being lumpy in places. Bed linens were good quality. Grubby little window that would not close overlooked the hotel roof and kitchen extractor fans leaving a bad smell in the room at all times.

Breakfast was the saving grace of my stay. Ordered from a delightful menu, the food was well chosen, carefully prepared and absolutely delicious. Service was chirpy and efficient.

All in all, Benedicts was not at all what I was expecting. It felt a bit dingy if I'm totally frank.

I'm afraid I won't be back and I cannot recommend although if you are in that area in the morning you could do far worse than to stop by for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
899 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The prime purpose of staying at a hotel is to get a good nights sleep, the rest of the attributes, ie service, efficiency are great benefits that enhance the stay. We stayed in an executive king suite, one of the best rooms.

We had two great nights at Benedicts and one shocking night, Saturday night.

Everything (except the noise) that we experienced at the hotel was fantastic,
check in was efficient, polite, friendly and informative,
room very nice, quite hot due to the hot weather, but quite good,
excellent meal service at breakfast,
great dinner,

The issue the 'thump, thump, thump' noise (not music just shocking noise) until way past 1am on Saturday night from the night club. The noise was just on going, as we had an early 5.15am start to get the ferry, being kept awake until 2am was not what we needed.

As obviously this is a regular event at the hotel why not be upfront and advise future guests prior to booking that you have the worst possible extremely loud music running until past 1am on Saturday evenings.

When checking out, the desk clerk enquired about our stay, I advised as per above, he advised that he will advise management of the issue with the noise. No feedback from management nor the hotel.

I wrote an email to Benedicts 4 days prior to writing this, no response from the hotel, apparently quality of sleep is not a priority.

Stay there but not on a Saturday evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Even before we arrived, Anna, the receptionist had been incredibly helpful when we needed to change our room requests. She continued to be so face to face and really added to our stay. Rooms are large , clean and well appointed for £85 per night for a deluxe double, including breakfast - superb value. You also get a free drink each in the bar. The bar is full of character, service is good and the live band was great fun - we stayed up until closing time, very rare for us. Stay here rather than a chain hotel for great value and individual service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomersal-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Booked here on the strength of TA reviews. Not disappointed. Staff fantastically can-do. Rooms could do with air-con but otherwise comfy and spacious. Sunday Champagne package v good and overall price for room, food, drink competitive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just home after a brilliant weekend in Benedicts, this place is a must for anyone visiting Belfast !!! First class food, first class staff & a first class hotel, everything under 1 roof, not the first time we've stayed & certainly not the last

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank leewhite1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned after having a two night break at this hotel with my wife. Had a fantastic time! The hotel brilliant for our needs, handy location for Belfasts wonderful shopping centre (10 minute walk), wonderful bedroom, good food, the friendliest and most helpful staff I have come across anywhere!
The bar at night is very lively, the live music tremendous and of course the craich!
Breakfast was just perfect for soaking up the alchohol from the night before!
Our room was directly above the main doors, but the noise did not effect us at all!
At 95GBP / night including breakfast, for the executive double for two people, could not be better value!
The complementary drink when we arrived was very welcomed.
Was our first trip here, but will not be our last!
This is a hotel where the staff go the extra mile to make your stay perfect, the thought and effort they put in to making you happy makes you feel VIP!
Thanks to everyone at the hotel for giving us a fantastic time!

Room Tip: go for the executive double! great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benedicts of Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benedicts of Belfast

Property: Benedicts of Belfast
Address: 7 - 21 Bradbury Place | Shaftesbury Square, Belfast BT7 1RG, Northern Ireland (Formerly Benedicts Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#5 Family Hotel in Belfast
#19 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Benedicts of Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Benedicts of Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benedicts Hotel Belfast
Belfast Benedicts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing