We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benedicts of Belfast
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 23 November 2008

I was booked to stay at Benedicts for a week. I'd called ahead to see if I could check in early and the reception staff are extremely friendly and accommodating.

Room:
The company booked an Executive suite and was disappointed at how much the room smelt of smoke. Despite being a non smoking hotel, it once was smoking and everything had that stale pub stench. It was pretty unbearable. I checked in in the morning and left the windows open, and on returning that night the smell was still very strong. I have severe asthma so this didn't bode well with me. I'd tried to switch rooms but they said they were fully booked and didn't have any free.

The room also faced the road, and it is unbearably noisey. If you like your sleep and can't sleep through buses, trucks and honking, then this won't be for you.

Above all of that, I kept finding black flies everywhere. Flying around, and also dead flies on the floor and in the bathroom.

The bathroom sink didn't look like it had been properly cleaned it was all greasy. Also the wi-fi although free wasn't strong enough to use from the room I was in so I ended up having to buy a BTOpenzone voucher.

I had to cut my stay short after 1 night and went to another hotel as i couldn't bear staying there any longer.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    303
    83
    29
    27
See reviews for
160
623
56
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Had a wonderful stay in Benedicts ... Girl at reception Shilpa is very friendlly and helpful and is a positive asset for the company....Willing to go back to hotel again..as it is home away from home

  • Liked — Lovelly rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaClaughlin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Loved B's Hotel as it's Deaf-friendly - reception, bar and restaurant staff take time for both of us (Deaf) when we were at hotel for 2 nights, while In Belfast for promoting our book 'The Avenue' covering Ireland's 1st Deaf School (Claremont, Dublin). Food and service excellent and bedroom very clean and comfy; location v.convenient - close to city, transport, etc. Will use B's Hotel again when need to come up North. Rachel Pollard, Dublin

  • Liked — Convenient, friendly, good value
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DublinRazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.I.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2008

Stayed here with friend on 15th october for girlie night after a concert - cant fault anything - super friendly staff - Shilpa at reception is a wee doll, soo friendly and helpful, had great meal, they do a fantastic Beat the Clock deal, compliments to the chef - good stuff. Restaurant staff very polite and service was excellent. Rooms are comfortable, class beds. Amazing atmosphere in the bar, this may have been added to with Northern Ireland having just won a game!
Have already booked return trip.

  • Liked — atmosphere/centre location/staff/restaurant
  • Disliked — parking can sometimes be tricky - best to book into hotel carpark when booking if possible
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeezybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Booked an executive room for our anniversary. Room was really big and comfortable, gorgeous comfy bed.

Cooked breakfast was nice but the continental buffet was quite dissapointing.

Could hear the nightclub downstairs from out room but didn't go on too late. Partygoers in the area were slightly rough...few fights outside the hotel on saturday night.

Staff were all very friendly and accomodating.

Ate in the restaurant one night, was nice but maybe nothing special.

Did the open top bus tour which is a great way to see all the city.

Located really close to the Botanic Gardens and Queens so its handy to have a look around them.

  • Liked — Great Room, Close to City Centre
  • Disliked — Loud at night
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AwnyaBurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

The big rooms are fine with good comfortable bed. The service from the staff ruin a stay at this hotel. The hotel overcharges for the room.

  • Liked — Bed, TV, room
  • Disliked — service from staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank egc128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Spent 5 nights at Benedicts hotel and can't say a bad word about it. Service was excellent.

We booked an executive double room for our stay. Room was well decorated, spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. Jacuzzi bath and comfortable leather reclining chair all topped it off!

Restaurant in the hotel is brilliant, great value for money during the 'beat the clock' offer.

All staff throughout hotel and restaurant were friendly and helpful whenever required. Check-in and check-out was very quick and efficient.

Only problem we encountered was the lack of free parking, was a nuisance getting up early to put a ticket on the car although this is no fault of the hotels.

  • Liked — Room - Excellent
  • Disliked — Lack of hotel parking
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,480 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benedicts of Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benedicts of Belfast

Property: Benedicts of Belfast
Address: 7 - 21 Bradbury Place | Shaftesbury Square, Belfast BT7 1RG, Northern Ireland (Formerly Benedicts Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#5 Family Hotel in Belfast
#19 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benedicts of Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Benedicts of Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benedicts Hotel Belfast
Belfast Benedicts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing