We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Benedicts of Belfast
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Couldn't have been better!!”
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We chose Benedict's for our stay based on reviews found here. We were not disappointed. I could repeat all of the previous comments made but that would just be overkill. Let's just say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and an EXCELLENT value to boot! We are already considering our next trip to Belfast and will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bocephus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    291
    81
    27
    21
See reviews for
149
598
54
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Stayed here for one night in an executive room (well worth the extra money) with my 9 year old daughter for a girlie shopping trip just after Christmas (27/12/08). The staff were lovely and really helpful. My daughter adored the jacuzzi bath and the breakfast. Bed was super comfy. Loads of people have complained about the noise - especially in the front facing exec rooms - but we didn't find it a problem at all. The street outside was busy when we returned from the cinema at 11pm and the bar downstairs was crowded but we couldn't hear any noise from our room. Some people just love to complain I suppose! We loved Benedicts and my daughter is determined we will go back next year! Only tiny downside is the bit of a walk into town centre, especially if you're not a fan of walking - it's do-able but wear sensible shoes (not something that features strongly in my wardrobe!)

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitlinscarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake forest, il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

If you want to be walking distance to pubs, this is one of the places to be. Pub across the street is very active and so is the one in the hotel on Saturday nights. In fact, if you plan to sleep at closing hour, you better request a room on the back side of the hotel, not the street side! There is no sleeping through the hundreds that pour out of the pubs at closing. The complimentary breakfast is fabulous. Lots of choices of hot, personalized meals as well as cold selections. We put three in a room since I was traveling with my 21 and 24 year old children. It is next to impossible to put three in a room in most hotels we tried and this one accommodated us. However, we were soon to find out why they don't put three in a room. The "extra" bed was a chaise with no koosh and as a result, no room in the room to walk. We did come back one day at 5:00pm and our room had still not been made up and the door was standing wide open with no one around. We were a little nervous about the situation but since the housekeeping staff didn't speak English there was no way to explain our concern. When it came to check out after a three night stay, the elevator broke and they had no freight elevator to use. There was no offer to have someone carry our bags until we finally called a third time to find out when the elevator would be repaired and realized we would miss our bus if we waited, and they said they'd send someone up. After waiting 10mins,. we hauled them down ourselves. The hotel pub is beautiful. It is not old, but made to look that way with stained glass windows and hand-carved wood everywhere. Overall, we had a nice time but we'd spend more $ the next time to get a second room instead of putting three in the room.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pimpam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Two friends and I recently stayed at Benedict's in Belfast. We chose this hotel for our first two nights of our Ireland trip, and wanted to see Belfast before we took a driving tour through other parts of Northern Ireland and Ireland. We picked the perfect place to start our Irish adventure! The staff at the hotel was most helpful and within our first hour of arriving at the hotel, we encountered Jack, the bar manager. He invited us to the Benedict's Bar and we enjoyed delicious food at a great price, a fun atmosphere and an amazing band called Blackthorn. We had intended to spend an hour or so at Benedict's Bar and then go to other pubs in Belfast...but we were having so much fun and enjoying the lively, cheerful atmosphere that we ended up spending the entire afternoon and most of the evening drinking beer and wine and listening to Blackthorn!
The hotel is conveniently located in Belfast, and there are other great pubs nearby. The room was very comfortable, and the breakfasts included in the room charges were amazing. We would not leave the hotel until almost noon each morning because we lingered so long over such a huge amount of delicious food. The service was impeccable in the bar, in the hotel, and in the restaurant. I would definitely stay here again. My only caveat is that Sunday nights (or perhaps it was just the Sunday night that we were there) tend to be a little rowdy later in the evening when the pubs close. We heard lots of noise in the street when the pubs closed on Sunday night...On Monday night, we did not hear a thing and slept through the night. Other than that one issue, our stay was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenvillegirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I've stayed there a few times. Food, accomodation, staff, are all brilliant. I'll be staying there again this year.

Resident Car parking is 'round the corner' in secure car park, but space is limited, so if it's important. let them know ! You can get away with parking outside 'briefly', but you'll be fighting with buses and taxis.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulSurvyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed at Benedicts for 3 nights - 4 couples having a break in a city none of us had ever visited before. We had a brilliant time! The hotel is excellent! The beds are large and VERY comfortable; the rooms a good size; bathrooms light and roomy.
We ate in the restaurant a few times because the food was terrific, the service spot-on and the atmosphere buzzing. One of our group is a bit of a gannet / human dustbin who doesn't let anything go to waste, but even he had trouble finishing everything!
The city centre is only a short walk away and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants on the way. We tried the Chinese called The Red Panda and that was really good too.
The bus trip tp the Giants Causeway is well worth investing in - the countryside is very pretty (very similar to parts of Wales!) -and the causeway itself is amazing. Reactions ranged from "this isn't natural, it must be man-made" to "the aliens did it"! We also did the hop-on hop-off tour of the city; another good investment.
All in all, a great short break in a brilliant hotel. If we ever go to Belfast again, we'll definitely be staying in Benedicts!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate, SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Two friends and I had a triple room for 3 nights. The room was large and they had set out 3 of everything (glasses, coffee cups, etc.) Our room was ready though we arrived early. Beds were comfy with crisp sheets. The lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and welcoming-- We had a fabulous lunch in the hotel bar (the best seafood stew we had the whole trip!) Jack, who manages the bar, was so attentive and made sure we tried the best local food and beverages. They even let us have our lunch downstairs to we could watch the Irish band. Blackthorn, the Irish band who plays there on Sundays, was so friendly and played requests for us--- even let our friend join them on stage for a song! The hotel was convenient so we could walk to everything. The desk arranged for a black taxi tour for us too. We did hear some noise when the bars across the street closed, but turned on the sound machine we had brought and were fine (and the hotel provides earplugs.) Would definitely recommend it and stay there again on our next trip to Belfast!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upstategal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Lodge
#1 of 43 in Belfast
2,401 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
2,370 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benedicts of Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benedicts of Belfast

Property: Benedicts of Belfast
Address: 7 - 21 Bradbury Place | Shaftesbury Square, Belfast BT7 1RG, Northern Ireland (Formerly Benedicts Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#5 Family Hotel in Belfast
#19 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benedicts of Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Benedicts of Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benedicts Hotel Belfast
Belfast Benedicts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing