We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbeatable!”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Fantastic small hotel. Lovely bedrooms with extremely comfy beds. Friendly helpful staff who have a real pride in the place. Excellent service. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Free car park which is a real bonus. They even have a (free) computer and printer in the lobby so you can do online check in for your flights. Fantastic value for money.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonNetherEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,069 - 2,075 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

Stayed two nights in Belfast earlier this month with one of my girlfriends and had a delightful visit. The staff was exceptional- we were dealing with missing luggage from our international flight and they were super helpful in the retrieval process. The room was very clean and comfortable. My favorite part about Tara Lodge (aside from the staff) was the delicious breakfast... entire menu looked great but I stuck with the traditional Irish breakfast and wasn't disappointed! If I find myself in Belfast in the future I will definitely be calling for a reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabbinabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Not being one to leave reviews, I feel a duty to spread the word about this little gem of a hotel. I am currently sat at the breakfast table after a most enjoyable Irish breakfast. I have to say that all the positive reviews on here are spot on. Beds are amazingly comfortable, cleanliness is superb, staff are uber friendly, and location is great with lots of nice bars and restaurants within minutes walk away. Honestly, this place is fab!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zimheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Just returned from a trip to Belfast with my boyfriend. We stayed for two nights at the Tara Lodge. It's located in a convenient area near Queens University as well as walking distance to the city center. The rooms were immaculate and nicely decorated. The staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. And the bed...so comfortable. Plush yet firm. My one and only gripe is that the pillows weren't very comfortable in comparison to the bed, but, it's not really even a gripe. I would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amielg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Just back from an overnight stay at Tara Lodge. Have to stay from start to finish everything was great. It's classed as a b&b but feels like a hotel. Guess this is because there's no bar and the only food they do is breakfast but considering that just round the corner is lots of pubs, restaurants, cafes etc that isn't a problem. I travelled to belfast for an exam in the city hospital and arrived very early (about 9am). I wasn't expecting to be able to check in at that time but just wanted to leave my bag. The receptionist was extremely helpful and said that I could get into my room straight away. The room itself was lovely. I'd booked a single room and was given a room with a double bed. Rooms were nicely decorated and very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was great. All hot food was individually cooked to order. The staff were brilliant too, all of them very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in the studenty end of belfast but it isn't far to the city centre. All in all I can't say enough nice things about Tara Lodge. Would definitely recommend it xxx

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen_78_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

A warm welcome; good clean rooms; nice bathrooms; excellent breakfast (and very nicely served). Good restaurants nearby (Benedict's; Molly's Yard). Free WIFI, and -- helpfully -- a computer and printer made available to all guests. A top spot to stay in Belfast, if you can get a room! They are popular...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuiRafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Stayed at Tara 5 nights (for St Patricks Day). We chose accessible room with walk in shower. Bathroom sparkled. Room was spacious and clean to a very high standard. Bed was not biggest but very comfortable. Reception staff welcoming and helpful. Tea tray re-filled every day and really nice biscuits. The room had good lighting (some hotels are tooooo subdued). 50yds to bus stop and just a bit further to train station. Same to numerous cafes, bars and small shops. This is university quarter so people around all the time gives the place a safe feel even for us in our 60s. Lastly BREAKFAST, served to the table, varied menu and made just for you. We will be coming back !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! p.s. Belfast a friendly place, find time to speak to folk and they love a chat. p.p.s do not miss the Titanic Walking Tour a real treat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royceyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,105 reviews
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#5 of 45 in Belfast
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#4 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £84 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing