We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay at

Everything about the hotel was enjoyable..rooms were really comfortable. Staff were polite and accomodating, and the breakfast was brilliant

It was so nice to have breakfast cooked every morning...rather than having to endure a breakfast buffet...that made it even more special.

I would highly recomment this hotel for anyone

Room Tip: Any room would be superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank life01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,102 - 2,108 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

My wife and I recently visited friends in Belfast, Ireland. We stayed at the Tara Lodge near the University the last visit so decided to try to hotel again. We were not disappointed. The hotel is quiet, inviting and off the main track so noise was no problem. The rooms were outstanding with one of the most comfortable beds I have found in all of my travels.
The main reason I am writing this review is the quality of service we received during our stay. The hotel staff is warm and friendly. One of the staff stood out among them all. "Ricky" has been serving guests at the Tara Lodge for a number of years. He was our waiter for breakfast. Ricky went out of his way to make sure our day started off perfectly. He was engaging and excited to meet us and all of the other patrons in the restaurant. Many called him by name as they walked in to the room. While providing excellent service, he still found time to talk to each patron like they were part of his family. Service like that is nearly gone in the hotel industry. My thanks to the Tara Lodge for the hospitality, quality of rooms and especially their employees like Ricky. He made our trip worthwhile.
John and Sue Tudbury

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

we stayed at the tara lodge for 2 nights...it was a very nice stay...the hotel is very clean...not too fancy, but a nice place to stay...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

clean & friendly, well located, great breakfast.......If you like quiet ask for a room at the back, I mentioned pillows too hard & was told they replace on a regular basis & had already addressed this small problem! Try the Mourne restaurant for great seafood but book early to avoid disappointment, avoid Molly's Yard, many other great restaurants to choose from in Belfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgiumcatladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed in Tara Lodge with some friends this weekend, we arrived way before check-in due to arriving on an early flight and a wedding to go to. The staff were excellent, we were able to have our room very early to get ready for the wedding and have a lovely breakfast as we checked in! The room was very clean, bright , modern and comfortable. We will without a doubt stay here again if heading to Belfast

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kempo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Wonderful hotel just outside the city centre (10 min walk to City Hall) in lively area with lots of restaurants & the Empire (music venue) around the corner. I arrived really early (10 am) and I could already check in! Taxi to centre is approx 4 pounds, you can take a bus as well for less, the breakfast is nice & cooked to order, great & comfortable bed. No restaurant but you can have food delivered to the hotel if you like. Kettle in the room for coffee/tea including nice cookies!!

If I have to say one thing: remote control of TV was a bit worn out but I only watched 5 mins of TV so was no issue at all ;-)

Very friendly staff, free wifi / computer at reception area & the staff will do the best they can to help you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Tara Lodge is a high-level guesthouse, with modern rooms of 3/4-star hotel standard, decorated simply but with a lot of taste and offering excellent bathrooms. The location is ideal, quiet but also just a 10/15-minute walk from the city center and right in the lively and trendy university neighbourhood of Queen's Quarter, suitable for eating and going out at night. The private free parking is also a great advantage. Breakfast is a real plus: fresh ingredients, wide choice of hot plates, delicious porridge (not to miss!). The staff are wonderfully kind and very professional and eager to give you useful information on how to enjoy all the city has to offer. Overall, it's certainly the best you could possibly get from a guesthouse and at that price, although not having all the facilities a proper hotel could offer. If I am ever back in Belfast (interesting city, for sure... ), I'll certainly return and I'd definitely recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewmi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 47 in Belfast
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#4 of 47 in Belfast
1,631 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £83 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing