We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have it right!”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Everything you could need in a hotel this one takes care of for you; friendly, welcoming staff, great hot shower, comfortable bed, free parking, location close to pubs and restaurants, wonderful breakfast with great choices (kudos to the chef, I had the best poached eggs in Ireland), free fast internet, location close to train station, etc etc. After a disappointing stay in a more upscale 5* hotel the Tara Lodge for us was a breath of fresh air.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaliB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,770 - 1,776 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights during the weekend. First impressions were good. Car park is small however it is on a first come first served basis and is secured at night by gate and has security cameras. Is of a great peace of mind as there was a lot of drunken ppl walking past in the small hours.

The guy at the reception desk was very pleasant and checked us in without any problems. He also offered us information on things to do during our stay which was very much appreciated. Our room was very clean and fresh/updated. The bed was of a good size as was the bathroom.

Breakfast was of a great standard, freshly cooked from menu which there was quite a lot to choose from.

The only downfall for us was that on morning of departure at 9.45am the cleaner decided to come into the room without even knocking. Then when they came back about half an hour later they again tried to get in only this time we had bolted the door so they could not. Baring in mind that departure time is 12.00 so we were not overstaying our welcome. Didn't find the cleaning staff very friendly at all.

However all in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend Tara Lodge to anyone wanting to stay in central belfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear lainey2000

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Tara Lodge. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and would recommend Tara Lodge to anyone coming to Belfast.

There is no question – you should not have been disturbed by any member of my staff on the morning of departure. I am sorry that you were disturbed twice when trying to enjoy a lie in! I am sorry that you found the housekeeping staff to be unfriendly. I have already addressed these matters with my housekeepers and I appreciate that you took the time to highlighted the issue.

Thanks again for taking the time and we hope to welcome you back to Tara Lodge on your next visit to Belfast.

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My sister and I arrived early in the day and were able to check-in immediately to our twin room. The room was immaculate, and a comfortable size. Two things which were a bonus are the small safe and fold-down ironing board. The only small item of note was the condition of the drapes, which should be repaired or replaced as they were pretty frayed in spots.

The staff were excellent, assisting with airline check-in and printing off our boarding passes. They also arranged shuttle pickup for the Double-Decker Tour Bus and provided suggestions for restaurants in the near vicinity.

Breakfast was a highlight, with a range of options not normally found in a small guesthouse.

We would definitely highly recommend Tara Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echoisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel is situated in a street of terraced houses in the heart of Belfasts student area around 10-15 mins walk from the city centre ( though there are lots of pubs and restaurants nearby). Also Botanic railway station is a 5 minute walk and trains to Belfast City take 5 mins,

The actual street is a little run down with a sea of 'to let' signs and even a boarded up house. the hotel itself though is quite large, looking like its been converted from around 3 houses plus a new block built to the rear . It's modern, clean , well decorated and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Our room faced the rear so overlooked a quietish road and Botanic railway station. There is a small car park but on street parking seemed to be free.

The room was a good size, with nice decor and very clean. The bathroom was also an adequate size - one concern was that it had no external windows and as far as I could see had no extractor fan - the management need to keep an eye on condensation which can easily develop. The room had two large windows so was light and airy with views of the distant hills.

Ours was a corner room which seemed to overlook a small alleyway running alongside the hotel and we were woken one morning by a dawn chorus of street drinkers cracking open their first bottles of the day ( it was a weekend so I suppose I can let them off!). Apart from that we slept very well.

Breakfast was included in the room price and it was very tasty and of high quality, served in a nice brightly decorated dining room with 'middle of the road' music played at the right level- enough for some atmosphere but not intrusive.

The hotel takes pride in its Trip Advisor top rating and they encourage guests to report back on TA. This is a good sign to me- they're confident that they provide a quality stay and want guests to publicise that. Any hotel that encourages TA comments , to me, is always going to keep an eye on service, which is good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Superb location. Extraordinarily helpful, welcoming and knowledgeable staff. Our room was excellent. Access to the Botanic Train station is a plus. Easy walk to City Center. Lovely breakfasts. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

After reading other reviews, this seemed like it would be the best place for three colleagues and I to stay during a conference in Belfast. It did not disappoint. The rooms are clean and updated, with plenty of space. Breakfasts are incredible, with a wide selection for people with a variety of tastes and preferences. The best thing about our stay was the service, however. The people at the front desk were incredibly helpful, as they helped us sort out some issues with our courier (some of our conference materials were lost on the way to Belfast: ParcelForce = really bad). They also knew the area very well, making suggestions for dining, drinks, and other places of interest. If I need a place to stay in Belfast, this will be the first place I check.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,253 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,556 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £84 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing