We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked Every Box”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed 4 nights, it was such pleasant accommodation to spend time in. The bed was firm with a luxurious pillow top. Spotlessly clean. Enjoyed the very fresh fruit salad for breakfast and especially liked the smoked salmon served alongside the scrambled eggs (not mixed in as a creamy mush). Great location. So many pubs, cafes and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed Belfast very much, first visit and knocked out with friendliness of so many people (taxi drivers, etc.). The Titanic exhibit worthwhile, extremely well done.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank robynd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,761 - 1,767 of 2,584 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

My friend and I could not have asked for a warmer welcome or more helpful tips and directions from all the staff at Tara Lodge. Great breakfasts, clean and more than comfortable rooms (if a little over warm) and only a 10 minute walk into town with loads of good restaurants nearby. We would go again in an instant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawni69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great location, some really good restaurants within a 2 minute walk, and 15 minute walk from city center.
Decent breakfast, good selection. Tried everything over the few days spent there and all was good except the scrambled eggs (v bland) and the accompanying smoked salmon was just rolled up on the side instead of soaked in cream and added to the eggs, the bread it was served with didn't work with it either very lazy and disappointing breakfast.
Rooms are immaculately clean, comfy bed, great shower.
Even though we were probably in the quietest area of the hotel (I had asked for a quiet room and think they did they're best) it was still too noisy in the morning, even with earplugs I was awoken by the cleaning staff in the corridor every morning from about 8 (lots of door banging) .
You cannot control the temperature in the room either, from 6am it was unbearably warm and in the evenings not warm enough. Came home exhausted from so many bad nights sleep!
One last complaint; Every hotel room should have a 'do not disturb' sign to put on the door, this one didn't.
The staff were helpfull and friendly (actually found this to be true of all of Belfast, really good service, and great food too, everywhere we tried), and again the location is great as is the price, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Me and my wife stayed here in June to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. The property was only a 10mins drive from the airport and in a good location for all the surrounding bars, shops and restaurants. The city centre is only a mere 15mins stroll away. The property is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and is run by some of the friendliest people I have ever met. The rooms lack for nothing and the breakfast is a very pleasant surprise. Well done Tara Lodge and a big thank you from my wife and I for a memorable stay in Ireland. Truly deserved of it's #1 rating on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking Cromwell Road got exposed to some traffic/passer-by noise at times but the doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeekShuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed in the Tara Lodge for one night. This is our second time to stay here. It is one of the very best Bed & Breakfast accommodation you will ever stay in. The bedrooms/bathrooms are very clean & comfortable. I would however made one suggestion to Management.... We were allocated Room 20 in the annex, it was a ground floor bedroom facing directly on to the carpark. In order to provide some privacy there should be a net curtain on the window as the bedroom curtains had to be kept closed all the time.
Excellent staff who were polite, friendly & helpful. Breakfast is superb & table served to you by waiter Colin among others who couldn't be more helpful. Safe parking at rear of hotel. Very friendly Marguerite at reception enquired if we enjoyed our stay which, in my opinion should always be asked when checking out of accommodation.
We will definately return & recommend the Tara Lodge.

Room Tip: Limited privacy in ground floor bedrooms 20 & 21 in the annex due to windows facing directly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _rgilgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Agree with all the other reviews of this hotel. A word of warning to people who have trouble with stairs. We stayed in the annex which is located next to the main lodge. We had 4 flights of narrow stairs to get to our room. Made for an interesting trip the first time with our bags. Didn't worry us but thought if some of our less mobile friends wish to come we would tell them to ask for a room in the main lodge. Once in the room - although small was very well appointed. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the Tar Lodge Hotel in Belfast for 5 days. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Okay, there is no bar or restuarant and so technically a guest house but it had the feel of a small family run hotel. Don't worry about the no restuarant because a hndred yards onto Botanic Avenue and you have an amazing choice of resturants. I would thoroughly recommend Carlitos especially the chicken and gorgonzola!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimdoug101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,252 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,553 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £84 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing