We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, attractive and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
france
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Friendly, attractive and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just a couple of minutes walk from the university and the botanic gardens, about 10 minutes walk from the Europa station where the airport shuttle bus arrives and well placed for bars and restaurants. Staff went out of their way to help and were all extremely pleasant. I had a large light room at the front of the building, which was quiet, clean and attractive. Tara Lodge is not fancy or pretentious but hard to fault - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vigonose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,892
    412
    68
    15
    16
See reviews for
287
1,336
139
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
389 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Do not be put off when you arrive at Tara Lodge....a gem in amongst the rough! The area is the university sector and many of the buildings around would appear to be up for rent or sale, giving the place a somewhat down at heel look. Having said that I never felt unsafe even walking home in the evening. The location is about a 15/20 minute walk into the centre of Belfast and pleasant enough at that at any (reasonable) time
However this accommodation is first class on all counts, bar one.
A bedroom at the back of the hotel will give you a quieter night's sleep, except the soundproofing between rooms could be better! The back faces on to the railway line, but trains would appear to stop late in the evening.
The helpfulness and pleasantness of all staff was consistent throught our two periods of stay - nothing genuinely appeared to be any bother, regardless of what you needed.
It's really everything you'd need for a comfortable stay in the city at very reasonable pricing - and the acid test, would I stay there again - yes!

Room Tip: Back rooms I think would be quieter than the front ones, particularly at weekends - though some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights in Tara lodge, staff were v friendly, place was clean and well decorated. Location was v good . 15 mins leisurely stroll to city centre. Free car parking. Gorgeous breakfast with loads of choice. Travelled from Dublin and hotel was easily accessible from m1 side of city. Directions on hotel website are spot on. I couldn't really fault the Tara lodge for what it is, and I would definitely stay again or recommend it to a friend, however I do feel that it's place in the top 25 hotels in Britain is grossly misleading. For starters it's not really a hotel at all, it has no bar or restaurant , nor even a foyer to sit around and relax in, there was a small lounge on my floor with a tv in it , but it would've been v uncomfortable if some one I didn't know was present. The room was nice and big and that's where we spent our time while in hotel. To me this was a really really nice guest house but if I wanted a really top hotel I'd expect a bit more.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ak8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed to days as part of our tour of Ireland. The hotel is conveniently located, 15 min walk from the center of Belfast and there are plenty of restaurants nearby.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, providing information about the city and making bookings for activities. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice; pity the soda bread has so many calories, I could have eaten 3 baskets of it.
The room is spacious, clean and bright. There are enough power points to charge phones, cameras and use the computer. There is also a coffee maker and WiFi is provided free of charge.
There's free parking, though some of the spots are tight to get into.
Overall an excellent experience that I recommend to everyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed 4 nights, it was such pleasant accommodation to spend time in. The bed was firm with a luxurious pillow top. Spotlessly clean. Enjoyed the very fresh fruit salad for breakfast and especially liked the smoked salmon served alongside the scrambled eggs (not mixed in as a creamy mush). Great location. So many pubs, cafes and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed Belfast very much, first visit and knocked out with friendliness of so many people (taxi drivers, etc.). The Titanic exhibit worthwhile, extremely well done.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robynd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My friend and I could not have asked for a warmer welcome or more helpful tips and directions from all the staff at Tara Lodge. Great breakfasts, clean and more than comfortable rooms (if a little over warm) and only a 10 minute walk into town with loads of good restaurants nearby. We would go again in an instant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawni69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great location, some really good restaurants within a 2 minute walk, and 15 minute walk from city center.
Decent breakfast, good selection. Tried everything over the few days spent there and all was good except the scrambled eggs (v bland) and the accompanying smoked salmon was just rolled up on the side instead of soaked in cream and added to the eggs, the bread it was served with didn't work with it either very lazy and disappointing breakfast.
Rooms are immaculately clean, comfy bed, great shower.
Even though we were probably in the quietest area of the hotel (I had asked for a quiet room and think they did they're best) it was still too noisy in the morning, even with earplugs I was awoken by the cleaning staff in the corridor every morning from about 8 (lots of door banging) .
You cannot control the temperature in the room either, from 6am it was unbearably warm and in the evenings not warm enough. Came home exhausted from so many bad nights sleep!
One last complaint; Every hotel room should have a 'do not disturb' sign to put on the door, this one didn't.
The staff were helpfull and friendly (actually found this to be true of all of Belfast, really good service, and great food too, everywhere we tried), and again the location is great as is the price, very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing