We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tara Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Belfast(Belfast)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ten Square(Belfast)
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Belfast City Centre(Belfast)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,736)
Filter reviews
2,736 results
Traveller rating
2,171
460
74
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,171
460
74
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomcity centreporridgesmall hotelnespresso machinebotanic stationdvd playerstudent areabotanic gardensminute walkqueens universityexcellent breakfastoff street parkingrestaurants and barsulster museumblack cab tourcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,562 - 1,567 of 2,736 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Gorgeous place to stay. Rooms were of a great standard with bottled water in the room. Breakfasts were delicious too. Loads of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Would stay here again if I was booking a trip to Belfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Tara Lodge primarily due to the reviews and we were very disappointed. This hotel is a 3 star at best. The reasons: first, hotel has no a/c. Wouldn't be a problem in a quiet area, but it abuts the railroad tracks. With windows open there is continual noise of the train coming into and leaving the Botanic station. Second, Rooms are small - our signiture room had but one easy chair; closet was an Ikea-like shelving unit next to bed; small bathroom; Third - breakfast - mediocre. Buffet had dry cereal, juices and bowl of sad-looking cutup fruit. Ordered porridge - included only three slices of bananas; tried the berry option next day - a tiny 1/4 cup of berries accompanied the bowl. Last - an odd omission - no wash cloths in bathroom - not oversite, simply don't include.

We were baffled by the reviews. Is it that Belfast simply doesn't have good hotels? So we began asking our taxi drivers. They all said the the Merchants Hotel was the best in town; followed by the Europa.

The Tara Lodge is no luxury hotel. Compared to hotels in the states, its on par with a Holiday Inn - but without the air conditioning.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building; our building was accessed outside, through the parking lot.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havaneserule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear havaneserule

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings regarding your stay at Tara Lodge. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodation.

We do not purport to be a luxury property. Tara Lodge is graded as a four star Guest Accommodation provider not a five star hotel, as the Merchant Hotel is, and as such, we price our rooms accordingly. While I would agree that the Merchant Hotel is a fabulous property, the rooms there are at least twice the cost of our rooms.

The reviews written on this site were written by your follow guests. Therefore they are the people who rate us on this site. We are really delighted that, by and large, they continue to be delighted with our accommodation and in particular the breakfast. Just look at the previous positive comments about the porridge!

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here recently while at a conference. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern, pleasant, comfortable and clean. Breakfasts good with lots of choice. The location is close to bars and restaurants, Queens university and the botanical gardens

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Although under the heading Hotel this location is a B&B, a very good B&B but it does not have a few essential Hotel functions. The most important one is it has no Bar and there is no possibility for Lunch or Dinner. The Breakfast is very good and freshly made eggs or any of your other wishes. It's located close to the University and the Botanic Garden which is a very nice part of town with a variety of restaurants, bars and clubs nearby and only 15min walk to the City Hall.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building the lower the room number the better.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flateric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Tara Lodge is a great place to stay . Very friendly and helpful staff . Breakfasts very good always piping hot , tried the power porridge really lovely . Rooms very comfortable and modern and clean . Will stay there again when my friend and i return hopefully soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaineat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews