We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good neighbourhood”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed only one night, but was impressed by the inn. Reception was excellent, facilities and room was very nice, as was the breakfast the next morning. It's located on a side street in a very busy area - I didn't hear any street noise. I would recommend Tara Lodge, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitehorseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,560)
There are newer reviews for Tara Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We did an over night stay in Belfast arriving at about 1500 hrs, the staff were all obliging, warm and friendly , the bottled water on arrival a great idea. Car parking was at the rear and reasonably secure. The room was light and airy and very clean with an excellent en suite, good pressure on the shower. Breakfast was great,porridge with whiskey in the morning really starts your day. The toasted soda bread is to die for. As a footnote, we inadvertently left a cellphone at this hotel, the made contact with us and couriered it to our next destination. Excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel! We stayed here our first two nights in Belfast and it was everything I had hoped for. Very modern and clean, and really close to downtown Belfast in a nice neighborhood.
Our room was on the street side and was a bit noisy at night so I would recommend the back if you are a light sleeper, but other than that it was perfect. Ricky at the desk was a big help with planning where to have dinner and what to see. Breakfast was yummy, and the room was big and clean with a nice big bathroom.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eden716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for one night. Ideal if going to Queen's University, only minutes away. Hotel is small, tucked away at the end of a street. There is a car park beside it. The room we had, room 16, is a wheelchair accessible room and is really big with plenty of space and the bathroom is really spacious too, with a big low mirror and a separate lower sink. The room was really clean and bright and warm. The breakfast was lovely, the toasted soda bread was so good. Definitely going back soon...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinnysinsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We recently stayed 1 night at Tara Lodge and had the best night's sleep for over 2 weeks of touring Ireland. The location was great with the city centre an easy walk. The shower was great with terrific pressure and the bottled water was appreciated. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast menu was extensive and the food good. Off street parking was also a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janineor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

while planning a family vacation in Northern Ireland, we book rooms at Tara Lodge sight unseen....I must say we all loved this place to stay....the rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The staff could not had been any nicer. The food was some of the best I have ever had. The porridge certainly was the best I've ever had. I would certainly stay there the next time I am in Belfast.

Room Tip: all of our rooms were wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My self & my husband are just back from a lovely weekend in Belfast. The hotel was great I emailed them to let them know it was our birthday & if they could give us a nice room. When we arrived we were checked in by a lovely girl, very informative & even wished us a happy birthday & said she had a bottle of champagne Cooling for us.....what a nice touch.
Room were immaculate, lovely staff & a fantastic breakfast. I eat porridge every day & I can honestly say it was the nicest porridge I've ever had (maybe it was the nip of whiskey!) there is a small car park & plenty of off street parking. Highly recommend this hotel.....ill be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,535 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £81 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing