We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, tasty breakfast!”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was "along for the ride" on this one and showed up at Tara Lodge on our first night in Belfast with no set expectations. We got parking in the courtyard (score!), excellent service and really enjoyed how close it was to the shops, attractions and night life.

The breakfast is outstanding - everything tasted great, the staff were attentive and I kept asking my wife if it was really included in the room.

The beds were among the most comfortable we had on our trip. We'd definitely stay at Tara Lodge again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street could be noisier - we were there for Halloween which was probably a bit high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,340 - 1,346 of 2,584 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here 2 nights last week with my boyfriend after seeing it was no. 1 on Tripadvisor. It was very nice and in a good location if you are visiting Queens. The staff were very helpful and Tara Lodge is a very comfortable place to stay. If you are on a shopping break then it is at least a 15minute walk to the main central shopping area in the city.

We had booked a deluxe room but when we checked in I don't think the room was delux. (rm 12) It was just a standard room, (no GHDs as other reviews said :( ). However, I didn't complain or mention it in reception as the room we were in was still nice and clean and warm and I was happy enough and we didn't get charged in the bill at the end I think... Still we weren't informed on booking that it was unavailable.

I still had a very nice stay, breakfast was delicious, I recommend the porridge with honey and banana or berry compote, very nourishing!

Room Tip: Room 12 has a nice view of a tree lined avenue with a church and steeple at the end, very pretty in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Nicola S

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Tara Lodge. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay; from the helpful staff to the nice view from your room. I can see that you have become a fan of our breakfast chef’s famous ‘Power Porridge’! It certainly is a healthy, filling start to the day as many of our guests have commented previously.

Our location just off Botanic is just 3 minutes away from plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants and as you say, only 15 minutes from the main city centre. At this of year the Christmas continental market comes to Belfast City Hall, just 10 minutes walk away – it’s always worth a visit.

Just to confirm you were allocated a Deluxe Double room with all the facilities you would need from tea and coffee facilities, to a DVD player, to an iron and ironing board. The GHDs, Nespresso coffee machine and IPod docking station are offered as extras in our Signature rooms only. I’m sorry you were disappointed but I’m delighted that you still found your Deluxe room comfortable, clean and warm.

Next time you can contact us directly to make sure you get the GHDs!

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Tara Lodge is on a quiet street off Botanic Avenue (which is one of the main studenty streets, full of pubs and restaurants) near Queen's University. The hotel is very close to Botanic railway station (which itself is a journey of just a few minutes from the central rail stations and from Sydenham station for BHD airport). The hotel seems quite plain and corporate, but what is really outstanding is the level of service - everybody I dealt with went out of their way to help me, including putting together an excellent continental breakfast at 5.45am, as I was leaving town on an early flight. The room was immaculate, with some nice touches - bath salts, biscuits, very large bed. My only quibbles were that I seemed to be unable to connect to WiFi in my room, but this wasn't a big deal for me as I was only in town for a few hours, and that I couldn't get a beer late at night in my room (although that's probably a good thing). The hotel arranged an early morning taxi for me and chased it up when it was 1 minute late. I'll definitely return to the hotel next time I'm on business in Belfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmnonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After staying at Tara Lodge during my last visit to Belfast and was happy with it I decided to return.
Tara Lodge just goes from strength to strength. From Ciara at reception to the team at breakfast we where made to feel very welcome. Comfy, cosy, clean rooms and breakfast is just divine from their soda bread soldiers to their fry, pancakes, bread basket and coffee.
PERFECT LOCATION and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Tara Lodge this week and the experience was excellent. The staff are very friendly and efficient, the room was exceptionally spotless and well presented, the reception area and hallways were spotless. The breakfast is as good as I have experienced on any trip in the UK or worldwide, Colin who served breakfast was great, he knew when to turn up with fresh coffee when I needed it without been asked and was very friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Best service I've ever received at a Hotel. The staff was always available to make my stay more comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic. Located in a very nice area with plenty of restaurants and things to do. No better place to stay when in Belfast.

Room Tip: Though I didn't see all of the rooms, the area was quiet and I doubt there are any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleFreddyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

5 stars, not because it can compete with the Hilton, but because the facilities, food and staff were excellent. Stayed for one night in one of their better rooms. The room was well appointed, modern and very clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and advised us where to go in Belfast and booked a tour for us with no problems whatsoever. The breakfast the following morning is 5 star cook up! The location of Tara Lodge is about 10 minutes walk from the city centre, or a cheap cab ride. The train station is one minute away. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't be too concerned about whether to stay in the main or the annex - both look equally good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vintagecrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,252 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,553 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £84 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing