We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem of a hotel”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Tara Lodge is a smaller hotel (less than 40 rooms), tucked away in a housing area close to Botanic station and just two minutes walk from the restaurants and cafes of Botanic Avenue. It is the #1 rated hotel in Belfast on Trip Advisor and having stayed there for three nights this week I can certainly understand why!

I had asked for a quiet room when booking and on arrival the hotel manager (who was lovely) immediately offered me a room upgrade at no extra cost as the triple glazing 'may reduce any noise' (not that there really was any on this quiet street)! The room itself was spotlessly clean, comfortable and was well equipped including a DVD player in the room. The hotel also has a library of DVDs you can borrow during your stay if desired.

Two other very noticeable things about the hotel are the staff and the breakfast. I saw several different members of staff over the four days (three nights) I was there and ALL of them were cheerful and very willing to do anything in their power to make the stay enjoyable and comfortable. It comes across that they really care. Coming from a service industry background myself, this is important to me.

Then there was the breakfast. This is cooked to order and to a very high standard with an excellent and varied menu. The creamy porridge with a nip of Bushmill's whiskey really sets you up for the day! I would also recommend the pancakes with the honey and lemon sauce! The hotel does not offer evening meals but is just two minutes walk to Botanic Avenue with a plethora of good restaurants. Moghul Indian restaurant is excellent and is less than 100 yards from the hotel.

Whether on business or pleasure, this hotel is a superb base from which to explore this delightful and often misrepresented city. I would recommend this hotel over any of the named hotel chains in the area...just leave at least one room free for me to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneWolf153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,955
    424
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
295
1,385
141
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently. Room was lovely. Small but well equipped and very warm. Beds very comfortable and bathroom and shower excellent and clean. Great location for walking and public transport and plenty of great restaurants and cafes literally two minutes away. Breakfast was tasty but very brisk clean away giving us the feeling that they wanted us gone asap.We both had the fry up which again was nice but not wonderful. Pricewise it was good value compared to others. We had no trouble at all with noise outside on the street - good double glazing - though guests walking up and down the corridor did disturb us both nights. Reception was extremely helpful with directions, trips, etc. but unfortunately as we checked out they hadnt recorded that we had paid in full on arrival so that was again not a great thing! Good overall but those details I outline keep me from giving it the full thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the strength of TripAdvisor and I have to say its lovely b b, parking and wifi are included in price and breakfast was very good, city centre is a 15 min walk, botanic train station is a 5 min walk away and 2 stops from titantic , I recommend the black taxi tour aswell

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was "along for the ride" on this one and showed up at Tara Lodge on our first night in Belfast with no set expectations. We got parking in the courtyard (score!), excellent service and really enjoyed how close it was to the shops, attractions and night life.

The breakfast is outstanding - everything tasted great, the staff were attentive and I kept asking my wife if it was really included in the room.

The beds were among the most comfortable we had on our trip. We'd definitely stay at Tara Lodge again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street could be noisier - we were there for Halloween which was probably a bit high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here 2 nights last week with my boyfriend after seeing it was no. 1 on Tripadvisor. It was very nice and in a good location if you are visiting Queens. The staff were very helpful and Tara Lodge is a very comfortable place to stay. If you are on a shopping break then it is at least a 15minute walk to the main central shopping area in the city.

We had booked a deluxe room but when we checked in I don't think the room was delux. (rm 12) It was just a standard room, (no GHDs as other reviews said :( ). However, I didn't complain or mention it in reception as the room we were in was still nice and clean and warm and I was happy enough and we didn't get charged in the bill at the end I think... Still we weren't informed on booking that it was unavailable.

I still had a very nice stay, breakfast was delicious, I recommend the porridge with honey and banana or berry compote, very nourishing!

Room Tip: Room 12 has a nice view of a tree lined avenue with a church and steeple at the end, very pretty in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Nicola S

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Tara Lodge. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay; from the helpful staff to the nice view from your room. I can see that you have become a fan of our breakfast chef’s famous ‘Power Porridge’! It certainly is a healthy, filling start to the day as many of our guests have commented previously.

Our location just off Botanic is just 3 minutes away from plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants and as you say, only 15 minutes from the main city centre. At this of year the Christmas continental market comes to Belfast City Hall, just 10 minutes walk away – it’s always worth a visit.

Just to confirm you were allocated a Deluxe Double room with all the facilities you would need from tea and coffee facilities, to a DVD player, to an iron and ironing board. The GHDs, Nespresso coffee machine and IPod docking station are offered as extras in our Signature rooms only. I’m sorry you were disappointed but I’m delighted that you still found your Deluxe room comfortable, clean and warm.

Next time you can contact us directly to make sure you get the GHDs!

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Belfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Tara Lodge is on a quiet street off Botanic Avenue (which is one of the main studenty streets, full of pubs and restaurants) near Queen's University. The hotel is very close to Botanic railway station (which itself is a journey of just a few minutes from the central rail stations and from Sydenham station for BHD airport). The hotel seems quite plain and corporate, but what is really outstanding is the level of service - everybody I dealt with went out of their way to help me, including putting together an excellent continental breakfast at 5.45am, as I was leaving town on an early flight. The room was immaculate, with some nice touches - bath salts, biscuits, very large bed. My only quibbles were that I seemed to be unable to connect to WiFi in my room, but this wasn't a big deal for me as I was only in town for a few hours, and that I couldn't get a beer late at night in my room (although that's probably a good thing). The hotel arranged an early morning taxi for me and chased it up when it was 1 minute late. I'll definitely return to the hotel next time I'm on business in Belfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmnonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maghera, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After staying at Tara Lodge during my last visit to Belfast and was happy with it I decided to return.
Tara Lodge just goes from strength to strength. From Ciara at reception to the team at breakfast we where made to feel very welcome. Comfy, cosy, clean rooms and breakfast is just divine from their soda bread soldiers to their fry, pancakes, bread basket and coffee.
PERFECT LOCATION and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#4 of 44 in Belfast
1,515 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,179 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing