We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foursome”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Foursome”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We chose to stay at Tara Lodge after reading good reviews, and were not disappointed! The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable , and all the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast has a good choice and is cooked to order-with the best sausages ever! There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance for evening meals and the centre of town is only 10-15 minutes away. Can thoroughly recommend this place, it is very reasonably priced for such a high standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,956
    424
    71
    15
    16
See reviews for
295
1,386
141
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Tara Lodge is convenient for most places in Belfast. We found our room to be comfortable with all that you expect from a hotel room and more. The staff are very welcoming and friendly but what really makes this hotel outstanding is the breakfast. Each order is cooked individually and our waiter was helpful and charming. We had everything we could have wished for including fresh fruit and yoghurts. We loved the creamy porridge with bananas and honey! We have already planned our return visit!

Room Tip: We liked our room on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I'm not sure what the difference is beteen a hotel and a guesthouse, but Tara Lodge struck me as a nice guesthouse although with some flaws. It has no bar or restaurant and is quite small thus it didn't seem like a hotel to me. We paid for the highest spec room, around £90 for the night, it had extra things like a hair straightener and a nespresso machine. The room however was only heated by one small radiator so we never felt cosy in fact the room was a little cool in temperature. The radiator in the bathroom was only warm in the lower quarter - we reported this to reception staff who noted that this problem had already been reported. However there was no attempt to address it when we were there. The nespresso machine did not work but the helpful staff replaced it. The decor is very nice. The breakfast was good. Overall if this guesthouse was more reasonably priced for what we were getting I would award it a higher rating - there is better value to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear barcul

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tara Lodge. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. To add to my disappointment you had booked a Deluxe room but we actually upgraded you to our largest Signature room with all the added extras of the Nespresso coffee machine, GHD straighteners and an IPod docking station!

Indeed we do not have a bar or restaurant which we make clear on our website and on our partner booking websites. However Tara Lodge is just three minutes walk from a plethora of cafes, bars and restaurants on Botanic Ave and just ten minutes from the main city centre area.

I am sorry for the cool temperature of your room. I know my receptionist on duty on the evening of your stay did offer you a portable heater, as the maintenance personnel were not on duty until the following morning, but this was refused. Since your stay we have installed a larger radiator in the bedroom in which you stayed only yesterday. Of course this is of little benefit to you but we hope that all guests who stay with us in the future feel cosy and warm, especially during the cold Belfast winters.

At Tara Lodge we offer a fully, cooked al la carte breakfast, complimentary WiFi and access to our private car park (based on first come first served basis) at no extra cost. We strive to ensure that the service our staff offer and the quality of our bedrooms is reflected in the prices that we charge.

I can promise you however that we do not rate ourselves on Tripadvisor – thankfully it’s our valued guests who have rated us so highly on this website.

Thanks again for taking the time.

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Belfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed last night at this hotel and found it to be excellent. Room was beautiful, very luxurious, and warm. Staff were very polite and helpful. Its super close to all the best night life and restaurants so we couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Donegal, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just back from a one night stay in this lovely hotel. Room was fabulous and had everything you needed. Well worth the money. The staff were so nice and friendly and the breakfast was amazing would recommend the porrage with a nip of Bushmills whiskey to set you up for the day!!! It was great to get complimentary beauty products in the bathroom also there was tea and coffee if you needed it. Best nights sleep in a huge double bed.
There is no restaurant or bar at this hotel but you didn't need it as at the end of the road was plenty of eateries and a few pubs. Very central to Belfast city and also has free parking. Not far from lots of different attractions.

Room Tip: Go for the delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Tara Lodge is a smaller hotel (less than 40 rooms), tucked away in a housing area close to Botanic station and just two minutes walk from the restaurants and cafes of Botanic Avenue. It is the #1 rated hotel in Belfast on Trip Advisor and having stayed there for three nights this week I can certainly understand why!

I had asked for a quiet room when booking and on arrival the hotel manager (who was lovely) immediately offered me a room upgrade at no extra cost as the triple glazing 'may reduce any noise' (not that there really was any on this quiet street)! The room itself was spotlessly clean, comfortable and was well equipped including a DVD player in the room. The hotel also has a library of DVDs you can borrow during your stay if desired.

Two other very noticeable things about the hotel are the staff and the breakfast. I saw several different members of staff over the four days (three nights) I was there and ALL of them were cheerful and very willing to do anything in their power to make the stay enjoyable and comfortable. It comes across that they really care. Coming from a service industry background myself, this is important to me.

Then there was the breakfast. This is cooked to order and to a very high standard with an excellent and varied menu. The creamy porridge with a nip of Bushmill's whiskey really sets you up for the day! I would also recommend the pancakes with the honey and lemon sauce! The hotel does not offer evening meals but is just two minutes walk to Botanic Avenue with a plethora of good restaurants. Moghul Indian restaurant is excellent and is less than 100 yards from the hotel.

Whether on business or pleasure, this hotel is a superb base from which to explore this delightful and often misrepresented city. I would recommend this hotel over any of the named hotel chains in the area...just leave at least one room free for me to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneWolf153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently. Room was lovely. Small but well equipped and very warm. Beds very comfortable and bathroom and shower excellent and clean. Great location for walking and public transport and plenty of great restaurants and cafes literally two minutes away. Breakfast was tasty but very brisk clean away giving us the feeling that they wanted us gone asap.We both had the fry up which again was nice but not wonderful. Pricewise it was good value compared to others. We had no trouble at all with noise outside on the street - good double glazing - though guests walking up and down the corridor did disturb us both nights. Reception was extremely helpful with directions, trips, etc. but unfortunately as we checked out they hadnt recorded that we had paid in full on arrival so that was again not a great thing! Good overall but those details I outline keep me from giving it the full thumbs up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limericklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#4 of 44 in Belfast
1,515 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,179 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing