We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Tara Lodge is an excellent place to stay, clean, luxurious, quiet. The rooms are beautiful. The breakfast is very good. Central location, with a short walk to the city centre. The staff are very friendly, the only down side was trying to find a parking space close by.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex and the rooms were lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountyDownRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,584 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and was very satisfied with the hotel .It is located in an area full of one bed apartment flats in old victorian houses which spoils your first impression of the place but don't let it put you off.
Our room looked onto the street and on one night we had some noise from late night revellers/students .The room was good,clean,small but a decent size with a really comfortable bed ,good bathroom ,iron ,coffeee and tea etc.There are rooms at the back which overlook a small railway station.
Only breakfast is served and it was a very good menu with table service .The waiters were excellent ,friendly and attentive.All the staff were like this. There is no bar but each floor had a small lounge area if you wanted to escape the room
The location is just right as you can get a bus to the city centre at the end of the road ,£1.40. There are plenty of shops,cafes,take aways and restaurants on Botanic avenue or a short 10 minute walk takes you to the city centre.The local railway station ,Botanic avenue ,is at the end of the road very convient for the hotel.
There is limited parking in the hotel but free on street parking around the hotel .This fills up early in the morning but starts to clear after 6 pm.
Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the de luxe rooms as they are slightly bigger ,not sure if a room at the back migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The breakfast (power porridge!) in the lovely dining room was a really terrific and filling start to our day. All of the staff is very friendly and helpful so top marks there.

The room was small but comfortable with nice toiletries and a good TV with channel selection. We didn't spend much time in the room since the central city is an easy walk away and was buzzing with activity on a Saturday night. Lots of places to eat and shop all very close by (walking distance).

Good WiFi, great shower with very hot water and good pressure and enjoyed the nice quality toiletries and very cozy towels and bed linens. Overall the room was very clean and comfortable.

A couple of disappointments were the off street parking - we arrived around 3 p.m. and already the small lot was completely full. On street parking was easy and close, but not what we had expected. Also, we booked the room about 6 months in advance, and then one week before received an email that the hotel was fully booked and that our room would be in the annex (which I gather from other reviews are inferior rooms, though I have no basis for comparison). So perhaps this is because so many people had arrived on Friday and we arrived Saturday, but I would have thought that the early booking would have helped to secure a better room. We don't have a lot of luggage and are young and healthy, so the annex stairs were not a problem but I can see how it might not be suitable for others (I think we were also very lucky that our fellow annex guests were quiet and respectful, but I can see how noise could be a factor at times).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

To say I'm in shock is an understatement!
I booked this hotel through booking.com as I have been booking hotels through them for years.
As always I chose the more expensive option of book now, pay later. I chose the field on booking.com to pay with cash on arrival of hotel as my credit card is merely a payzone top up card.
Less than 10 minutes later I got an email stating "Dear Ms. Ryan,

Thank you for booking with Tara Lodge.

Unfortunately the card details used to secure your booking have been declined. This may because the details provided are incorrect. would appreciate if you would provide alternative details or contact me to confirm credit card details given. "
After emailing my phone number I got no call & had to ring where I spoke to Sharon, this was the lady that also sent the email!
She assured me that since I didn't have a credit card that cash on arrival should be ok. She would have to clear this with management first. They contacted me this morning and stated to secure the booking I needed to pay first.
I have traveled to Belfast many times before and have never experienced this before!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank sarahr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Ms. Ryan

I am honestly completely bewildered by your review. At each and every interaction with you, both my receptionist and I were polite, professional and as helpful as we were allowed to be. I am puzzled by your outrage – surely we should be allowed to safeguard our livelihood through our policies, none of which are unreasonable.

All of us at Tara Lodge hope to ensure that our each and every one of our customers receive excellent customer service from the point of booking to departure with all of our current policies unchanged.

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Belfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, the check in was fast and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and pleasant, we got exactly what we paid for. Breakfast was lovely, although a little busy. We stayed in the annex which was noisy so didn't get much sleep, would definitely return, but would pay extra and stat in main building.

Excellent location, easy walking distant into city centre shops etc. close to botanic train station. Highly recommended. Thanks for a fab stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Just back from a relaxing stay at Tara lodge, we went for the sweet heart package for a £150 which I felt was overpriced.
When we arrived we were warmly welcomed, room was nice and cosy a perfect size, the only problem with the room's is you can hear people outside or across the corridor and even the bathroom above us, also the shower isn't great but these are are small faults and didn't ruin our stay.
The lodge is perfectly located to explore the city either by foot or catch a taxi which will cost about £4.
There are a number of nice restaurant's and bars within 5 minutes walk from the lodge.
The breakfast menu is brilliant and delicious, would we stay here again? Absolutely!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kingdingruairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Two nights. It was a very large room (#35) in the Annex. Although no elevator, Dave (night manager) took our bags up. The beds were so comfortable. A separate desk (for laptop) as well as another table with 2 chairs were welcome. Lots of space for luggage. Breakfast was wonderful. The staff was most helpful with transportation suggestions. Belfast is a wonderful place to visit -- so much history and culture -- great traditional Irish music. As we like to walk, we did to the centre. Lots of local restaurants nearby and in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan172013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,252 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,553 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £84 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing