We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is a B&B so I wasn't expecting a lot but was very pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is quite expensive but it was comfortable, clean, warm and the breakfast choice was excellent - not the usual buffet but a la carte. Very helpful staff wherever you came across them.
I have been fortunate enough to do a lot of travelling and this ranks very high in the places I've stayed

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KentPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,871
    410
    66
    15
    16
See reviews for
282
1,317
139
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived when there was refurbishment going on so the room advertised was not the room we were put in initially, however this was soon rectified and our room was everything we hoped for.

From reception staff to the cleaner to the waiter at breakfast, the staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was well presented and well cooked, being served quite quickly despite being cooked to order.

Location was great. Less than £5 in a taxi to the city centre. A 5 minute walk to a great pub (Lavery's) and lovely restaurant (Benedicts), both on Bradbury place across the road from each other.

All in all a place we enjoyed staying in and would book again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Where do I start.
Peace of Mind: Was looking for a hotel in Belfast to stay and very few could offer me peace of mind when it came to parking my car.Lots of them said I could park outside the hotel but would still have to pay using the meters on the street.This not only added more cost to my stayover but I did not feel comfortable leaving my car in a city where it could be stolen(I can say this because I have had my car stolen while staying in Belfast before).Tara Lodge has a nice little car park and the gate is locked in the evening.

Location:Two minutes walk and your on Botanic avenue where it has plenty of restaurants and pubs to suit everyone.10 minute walk and your in the heart of the city.

Tara Lodge:This hotel was perfect.We stayed in the annexe building in a beautiful cosy room,immaculately clean and very warm.The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great.I would have no hesitation in recommending this place and the next time I am in Belfast I will definitely be staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wjbOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for only one night and would certainly go back. Clean, stylish and comfortable room, car park downstairs for the car, fantastic staff willing to help/offer advice on where to eat/drink/visit. Great breakfast the morning we left.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineJ640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a short three day stay at this hotel, room was good, shower good, breakfast great, staff friendly and helpful. About a ten minute walk to centre of town, situated in a student area, so good shops and eateries nearby,(at the top of the street). Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlasseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked here in advance for the first night of our 11 day stay in Ireland. We ended up staying a second night and had a great experience with this hotel. It is in a very nice location near the University and the arboretum. I was able to go for some nice runs through the arboretum. It also put us within walking distance of shops and restaurants and pubs. On Saturday morning, we walked to the King George Market, which a must-see experience while in Belfast. The rooms at the Tara were large and comfortable. The breakfast room was bright and comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. At 89 pounds per night, we thought this was one of the better values during our entire stay in Ireland

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkrontravelerAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Everyhting in this Hotel was excellent, the rooms were spacious and comfertable. The receptionist we had were both very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. The location of the hotel is perfect to explore Belfast, we will be back and will stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing