We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our first Giro D'Italia & trip to Belfast very special”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made our first Giro D'Italia & trip to Belfast very special”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Tara Lodge for three nights earlier this month whilst on our first trip to Belfast to watch the start of the Giro D'Italia cycle race. I'd read a few of the reviews on Trip Advisor so kinda guessed we were in for a lovely stay - and it totally lived up to our expectations. The staff were lovely and genuinely interested in what we were up to, they were very accomodating and smartly turned out - such a nice change from when we've stayed in other cities where you just feel like you're a room number. Everywhere was very clean (Shaun is very pernickerty about dust & dirt and even he was impressed - not a speck anywhere!), the room was a nice size, nicely decked out in browns & beiges, and modern looking. The bed was very comfy and the shower nice & strong. The tea, biscuits etc were topped up every day and we were also left two bottles of water every day which came in very handy. The breakfast was..... yum! We had to start out early on a couple of mornings so we asked if it was ok to come down early and help ourselves to the continental breakfast (juices, pastries, cereals, fruit, yoghurts) - no problem ! The staff took our order for hot food so it was with the chef as soon as he came in - freshly cooked traditional breakfast - delicious and filling.
We caught the train from Botanic station which was only a couple of minutes walk away and takes you to Belfast Central (next stop) & beyond. We caught the train to Titanic Quarter every day & it was only £2.20 return which I thought was a bargain. We also walked to City Hall which took about 20 mins and takes you through an area packed full of cafes and restaurants so there's definitley loads of places to eat & drink nearby. Tara Lodge is in the University Quarter of Belfast so the rest of the housing nearby is mostly student lets, I guess, so a bit grubby. But who cares when your hotel is so lovely??!!
The staff very kindly ordered a taxi for us when we needed to get back to the ferry port - the taxi driver was bang on time and a font of local knowledge, pointing out landmarks on our journey - what a lovely man !
We had a fab time at the Giro, the hotel was spot-on and the people of Belfast were lovely. Thank you Tara Lodge !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustyndirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,922
    418
    70
    15
    16
See reviews for
293
1,358
141
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for one night on our tour of Northern Ireland and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Belfast. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room and facilities were very nice. The location was also very good quite near the center of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lattestone77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It has a nice location near the center, the staff is very helpful and professional. Everything had a very high quality. The room was very quiet, although it was busy we did not hear any other guests. Nothing but good to say about Tara Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from a two night stay in Tara Lodge, and will definitely be staying there again. We had an annex room which was perfect for our needs. The breakfast on both mornings was great, with a lovely selection. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our first experience of reaching Tara Lodge was to meet 2 drunks blocking Cromwell Road having a fight. Once at the hotel and safely parked our receptionist assured us this was a safe area and nothing to worry about. He gave us lots of useful local information and advice on restaurants however we were still nervous about the area. The room (7) was OK but the window over looking the car park and the rear of the hotel was cracked and damaged with what appeared to be an airgun pellet impact. The service and help in the hotel was excellent, the room smaller than it appears on their website due to clever photography, sorry what lets this done is the rubbish strewn area it stands in. £337.00 for 3 nights seemed too much considering our experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irisbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear irisbus

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Tara Lodge. What a pity your first experience of Tara Lodge was what it was. Belfast is one of the safest cities in UK and Ireland. Tara Lodge is located in the Queens Quarter area which is quite residential and largely populated by students and young professionals. As my receptionist assured you on arrival this area is very safe and it is a real pity that his assurances did not put you completely at ease. I’m delighted that he was so helpful – my reception team take great pride in their local knowledge.

With regards to the crack in your window in your bedroom I can assure it was merely that – a small crack caused by the window cleaner on his recent visit. I’m certain that local businesses and residents alike would demand government action if they thought that there were people running about firing pellet guns!

If there is one thing that I have learned during my time managing Tara Lodge it is that a hotel should never try to make something appear better than what it is through ‘clever’ photography! That only serves to disappoint guests on arrival and I am certain that on the whole our photographs are honest while attractive.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay – namely the service and the help. We strive to ensure that our team make every guests stay extra memorable through our service delivery.

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
General Manager
Tara Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Good service, rooms, breakfast, 5GBP's for taxi to train station, safe neighbourhood to walk around in and lots of restaurants close by made Tara Lodge a very good find for a 2 night stay in Belfast. Staff were very helpful with maps and information and they provide secure luggage storage if ou need it on check-out day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, Lancs
Level Contributor
254 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a perfect base for our three day trip to Northern Ireland. As a native I was very anxious to impress my English colleagues on our trip to celebrate a retirement and I was not disappointed. I had undertaken extensive research and knew Tara Lodge would deliver on all fronts. We occupies six rooms and couldn't believe the value for money in what is no 123 of the top 25 hotels on Trip Advisor. Our double room was beautifully appointed in the annexe of the hotel. Both breakfasts were delicious (I had the traditional and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg) and the staff could not have been more helpful. It is only a few steps to plenty of bars and restaurants as well as to Botanic Station. This is an ideal base to take in all the attractions of the city. It is a joy to see the advancement of tourism since my youth in NI, but maybe a little sad to see the deterioration of the fine buildings in the university area of Belfast. Like so many other places victim of the economic recession. Our visit coincided with the run up to the Giro d'Italia,so the whole place was pink and cycling! When boomtime is back Belfast will be right up there. My travelling companions were totally delighted with everything but the weather! PS oops, struggling to amend the extra details and remove the fitness centre and swimming pool details. Neither is available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing