We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in Belfast for a concert so only had the one night stay , but it was excellent. The room we stayed in was in the Annex part of the hotel not the main building , but it was lovely. Very clean , nice decor and coffee and tea making facilities which was good , even an iron and board .
Staff were very helpful, showed us to the room, explained about the Wi-Fi, and directed us to a lovely restaurant , nothing was too much trouble.the breakfast in the morning was superb , so much choice, a vast amount of different juices, cereals and fresh fruit , followed by a choice of cooked breakfast yum yum!! All in all everything excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie_lindsay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,563)
There are newer reviews for Tara Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,563 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Belfast was the highlight of our trip and that was largely due to staying at the Tara Inn. It is a fabulous hotel, with a great staff, great accommodation, delicious breakfast and great location. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a good place to stay - location, breakfast was great, service was great and room nice. The only issue was for some reason our room was so hot! We had the heater off the whole time and window open, but didn't seem to help. I think because our one window faced back onto a roof and didn't really get any air through. Note we were in the annex next door, first floor. Anyway, aside from that it was great. Close to train station, lots of restaurants and grocery stores. Staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window perhaps out on the street?
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia3196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here recently and could not have been happier with my stay. Coming from someone who stays in hotels almost every week, Tara Lodge went above and beyond. The staff were impeccable and could not have been more helpful. From tips about local restaurants to information about many of the local tourist attractions, they were simply faultless. The standard of food and the quality of the room made this a wonderful trip. The room was spacious, well kept and came with everything you would expect. The breakfast was superb and cooked to order. Secure parking included. Staff went above and beyond and this is now the only hotel I would stay in, when returning to Belfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel which was chosen through Tripadvisor reviews. It has friendly helpful staff, very good breakfast and is well situated ,in a quiet location a 10 minute walk from the City centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david18747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My stay in Tara lodge was second to none. On arrival I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist, this made me feel very comfortable as I was staying on my own.
The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable with a good quality linen. Tea, coffee & biscuits in the room. The bathroom also had nice shampoo, gel etc.
I also thought the complimentary bottles of water added a nice touch.
Breakfast was the best ever, fresh good selection and the presentation was excellent, nothing was to much bother.
Tara lodge is located in a nice quite area and is convenient to restaurants, pubs and botanic station. It is also a 10/15 minute walk from the city centre.
I have stayed in a lot of hotels in the Belfast area and this is by far the most friendly,and superb breakfast.

I enjoyed my stay so much I'm returning in a few weeks to stay for another weekend with my sister.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annemclarnon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked the hotel on the strength of the good reviews.

We found the staff helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was a deluxe double (king bed) with the GHDs in the draw, nespresso machine and flatscreen TV. It was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The decoration was luxurious.

The breakfasts were great and the hot choices fresh and cooked to order, with requests for egg-cooking fulfilled perfectly.

Set back from the main road in a residential street, its a nice easy walk of about 15 minutes to the City Hall and there are plenty of restaurants and bars in the Botanic area.

We would definitely return if staying in Belfast again and would recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had room 9 - on the first floor next to the laundry cupboard which was next to the stairs. We ove...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreySuperted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,535 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £81 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing