We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Belfast”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a great stay at the Tara Lodge. We vere welcomed in a nice way on the phone by Pauline, and was not disapointed when we arived the hotel. Very Nice room, and stay. Belfast has great pubs and we missed the breakfast unfortunately. Our fault. The NeXT day Pauline helped us far Beyond expected to hire a car. Very good service. You feel the do anything they can for you. Clean, Central, safe and cosy. Thanks Tara Lodge. Our best review.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,561)
There are newer reviews for Tara Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,173 - 1,179 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This positive experience was enhanced by wonderful staff. We are enquiring tourists and want to know more than most are prepared to give. Not here! Pauline and the staff were consistently patient in guiding us to the right outcomes on food choices, places to visit, music to hear and getting from A to B.
Room 17 was excellent and full of nice touches such as fresh coffee maker and bluetooth speakers. Breakfast was a delight, check out the porridge as it's a feast.
In all, I feel we made friends with the staff at a time when most places have forgotten how to give great customer service.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The only reason we are not giving this a full rating is based upon accessibility to the centre of Belfast, shopping and closeness to major restaurants. We visit Belfast ever year and love the city and the friendly people. However we had to take a taxi to our favourite restaurant and one night walked to another and took a taxi back. The car park at the hotel is small and only holds about 8 cars beyond that you have to find a space on a side street. Our hire car was small and we dropped lucky, I wouldn't have liked to squeeze a bigger car into the hotel car park.
On the plus side reasonable price, good level of room comfort, lovely staff and an outstanding breakfast menu cooked to perfection.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our experience here was awesome. We were a group of 20 and they were very accommodating to all of us. The rooms were very clean and the maids came in every day. The breakfast was awesome too. I would easily go back to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoneje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I absolutely loved my (short)stay at the Tara Lodge. The location was great, only a few minutes from city centre but not so close that it would be noisy. The room itself was quaint, cozy and well appointed. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I ever re-visit Belfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckeyeaz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The first think that we noticed was the warm and friendly welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well presented with fresh modern decor. The rooms are adequate although not over large. Beds are comfortable although I found my pillows to be over firm for my liking. I did ask reception if there were any others to be had and was told that this was not possible. The is no restaurant on site but there are plenty to choose from close by at the end of the road. Breakfast is served at the table and I was pleased with my large bowl of excellent porridge. However I would have preferred a buffet style breakfast offering. As the hotel is in a crowded residential area with parking could be a problem although we fortunate in finding a place near to the hotel. Although we would stay here again we chose, when visiting Belfast one week later, to stay in a nearby nationally branded establishment, whose rates were more advantageous and our overall experience there was no better or worse than the Tara.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 1 night here and really enjoyed it. The place was very nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were so helpful with restaurant recommendations and just generally friendly. The neighborhood is residential, surrounded by housing near the university. Breakfast was huge and delicious. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jimhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 44 in Belfast
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 44 in Belfast
2,535 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £81 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing