We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our family took 2 rooms at Tara last weekend. The hotel is absolutely top notch. The rooms are well appointed, quiet and spotless. Breakfasts are good and hearty, and to order, not buffet. All of the staff are unfailingly polite and friendly. That is what really makes the difference. We were at the market on Saturday morning and wanted to go straight on to a black taxi tour. We had problems getting through to the taxi company so we called Tara reception. No problem, they arranged everything for us and the tour taxis were there 5 minutes later. Great all round service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,190 - 1,196 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was back visiting friends in Belfast and stayed here for 3 nights. It was excellent. Staff were very friendly, rooms were lovely and breakfast was great. The location worked well for me - it's very close to Queen's University and Botanic Gardens and not too far from city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at Tara Lodge. It's a small friendly hotel. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. The recently refurbished bathrooms are stylish. There is everything you need from a room safe to coffee-making facilities and complementary water. The breakfasts were delicious (cooked breakfast to order) and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were very helpful calling cabs en arranging excursions. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

If I ever go back to Belfast-I probably won't stay here. The location leaves a lot to be desired--it's on a bit of a sketchy street and the two parts of the hotel are not connected (the annex doesn't have a lift-so our large suitcases were a big problem) so you have to walk outside and down the road in order to reach the reception desk and breakfast room. Breakfast was delicious however! The rooms were small, yet up to date. Overall though, for the amount I paid, I believe there are better places to stay in Belfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoraDouds, General Manager at Tara Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Irie8

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your experience at Tara Lodge. I am sorry and most disappointed that you left Tara Lodge feeling that might not stay again. However there are indeed many good hotels, B&Bs and hostels in Belfast from which to choose should you come to Belfast again – my fellow managers in the industry all work very hard to ensure Belfast is a great place to stay.

I’m surprised that you were not aware that you were going to be accommodated in our Annex building, only five metres walk from our reception area. Our Annex rooms are sold at least 10% cheaper than our deluxe rooms just for that reason and to allow for the fact that there is no lift in the building. We make that fact clear on our website, on our confirmation emails and at check in. Upgrades to our Deluxe rooms with lift access are always available!

Our location is right beside Queens University and the bustling Botanic Ave and we are only 10-15 minutes’ walk from the historic Belfast city hall. Our street, Cromwell Road, is constantly being transformed as we work in partnership with Belfast city council to improve the area.

I’m delighted you enjoyed breakfast and your modern room equipped with 40inch TV with inbuilt DVD player, Nespresso coffee machine, Bluetooth speaker as well as all the standard in room facilities.

Thanks again

Nora Douds
Tara Lodge
General Manager
Tara Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Tara Lodge for 2 nights over the Easter weekend, celebrating my partner's 60th birthday We had the "Sweetheart" package which was excellent value for money. We received a warm welcome and shown to our room which was lovely. The staff at reception and at breakfast could not have been more attentive. Tara Lodge does not have a licence bar but don't let this stop you as the position of Tara Lodge is very central to city centre and eateries and pubs within 5min walk. We loved our stay and I would definitely book again. Thank you everyone at Tara Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I loved this hotel. The service was top notch - I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were so helpful with everything I needed. The breakfast was fabulous. The room was clean, comfortable and super quiet. The hotel is just a short bus or taxi ride away from all the attractions in Belfast, or even within walking distance to the city center if you're up for it. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, and if I ever get back to Belfast I know where I'm going to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texaskaren68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very nice place to stay. Convenient free parking on site. In walking distance of most sites if you like to walk. Very clean, comfortable and pleasant room with all the amenities. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Choice of hot breakfasts as well as continental items available and were very nicely served. Very accommodating of our 4 AM check out. Were even willing to provide us with a continental breakfast at that hour.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 and was on the street. We did hear some students out celebrating the end of the sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,258 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £84 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing